| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/11 01:49:15
Subject: BA Transport Vehicle Questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Ok so I read the rule book section for Transport Vehicles and I can't seem to get this question answered. Some guys at my shop tried to help me with it but they all had different answers...
So Blood Angels Rhino/Razors are Fast Vehicles. Let me make this simple and put my questions in a list...
1) I read in the Rulebook that you can disembark after a vehicle has moved p.67. I was told by someone at my shop that after the vehicle has moved you cannot disembark anymore... is there a reason he would say this? Is there a distance limit to how far my Rhino can move before disembarking? Can I move Flat Out 18" (This is the max a Fast Rhino/Razor can move, correct me if I'm wrong please) then disembark and shoot? Is it even possible to disembark if you have moved flat out?
2) If the Rhino/RB does not move can I move any distance at all and still assault? Or must I disembark without any movement of the Rhino/RB whatsoever to be able to assault?
3) Regarding questions #2 this is what get's me confused. I also have a Storm Raven. I was told that I can move 12" (Which is not Flat Out) and then disembark, move my guys, shoot AND assault with them. I'm assuming that this is possible only because of the "assault vehicle" special rule that Storm Ravens have.
|
Easy Stable Flying base tutorial here on Dakka:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/356483.page
Check out my Tyrannofex Conversion tutorial here on Dakka:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/334523.page
Check out my Librarian holding fire tutorial here on Dakka:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/314801.page |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/11 01:58:07
Subject: BA Transport Vehicle Questions
|
 |
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine
|
So to anwser
1, You can disembark as long as you do not go farther then 12 inches. If you move all out then you cannot disembark at all.
2. You can disembark, and still assault as long as the RB or Rhino has not moved before the unit disembarks. Not after either the RB or rhino's movement.
3. You cannot move further after the vehicle has moved. However you can disembark, shoot and assault.
Assault vehicle only allows you to assault out of the vehicle that has moved.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/08/11 02:03:54
8000+points of |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/11 02:11:10
Subject: BA Transport Vehicle Questions
|
 |
The New Miss Macross!
|
syypher wrote:Ok so I read the rule book section for Transport Vehicles and I can't seem to get this question answered. Some guys at my shop tried to help me with it but they all had different answers...
So Blood Angels Rhino/Razors are Fast Vehicles. Let me make this simple and put my questions in a list...
1) I read in the Rulebook that you can disembark after a vehicle has moved p.67. I was told by someone at my shop that after the vehicle has moved you cannot disembark anymore... is there a reason he would say this? Is there a distance limit to how far my Rhino can move before disembarking? Can I move Flat Out 18" (This is the max a Fast Rhino/Razor can move, correct me if I'm wrong please) then disembark and shoot? Is it even possible to disembark if you have moved flat out?
2) If the Rhino/RB does not move can I move any distance at all and still assault? Or must I disembark without any movement of the Rhino/RB whatsoever to be able to assault?
3) Regarding questions #2 this is what get's me confused. I also have a Storm Raven. I was told that I can move 12" (Which is not Flat Out) and then disembark, move my guys, shoot AND assault with them. I'm assuming that this is possible only because of the "assault vehicle" special rule that Storm Ravens have.
1) you can move up to 12" and still get out. anything faster than that and you need a special rule to disembark (which the storm raven has, as does the valkyrie/vendetta)
2) what matters is the *order* in which you move the units. lets say you have a tactical squad in a rhino. you activate the tac squad, disembark within 2", move up to 6" as normal. you may now activate the rhino and move it normally however you want. if you choose the rhino first, the squad can disembark but not assault. it's all in the order you do the stuff.
3) as stated above by pig, assault vehicle just lets you assault. lets say the above squad in #2 was in a storm raven instead. if they activate before the stormraven, then they do exactly as above. if they activate after the storm raven moves, they still disembark within 2" but can't move any further. the CAN assault due to the assault vehicle rule (the big difference there)
hope that helps
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/11 02:33:46
Subject: BA Transport Vehicle Questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Ah thanks War and Pig! That clears up a lot for me.
So tactica wise if I go 1st and want to assault asap it would probably be best to move flatout 24" with a Storm Raven. If I do that with a fast vehicle they have to roll a 6 just to hit right? Then next turn move Storm Raven 12", disembark 2", I can't move my unit since the Storm Raven moved, I can shoot, and finally assault 6". Correct me if I'm wrong.
|
Easy Stable Flying base tutorial here on Dakka:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/356483.page
Check out my Tyrannofex Conversion tutorial here on Dakka:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/334523.page
Check out my Librarian holding fire tutorial here on Dakka:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/314801.page |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/11 08:26:31
Subject: BA Transport Vehicle Questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
To need a "6" you only need to move over 6 inches...
That is all good. Remember that only the back edge of your models base needs to be within 2", meaning with terminators you get another 40mm range on that disembark, about 25mm on nomal sized models, and the dreadnought gets a huge boost...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/11 09:22:45
Subject: BA Transport Vehicle Questions
|
 |
Mighty Brass Scorpion of Khorne
|
Another thing to keep in mind is, even though pivoting doesn't normally count as moving, you cannot assault out of a vehicle if it has pivoted before you disembark.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/11 09:31:41
Subject: BA Transport Vehicle Questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
@ Gore and Nosferatu: Thanks for the tips! I didn't know that it was the back of the model base within 2". That gives roughly 3" then  Stinks about the pivoting but I guess setting it planned for departure for the next turn is what I'll have to do then.
New question to you BA that run Storm Ravens in your list:
What do you put in it? Death Co.? Sang Guard? I'm planning on putting either 10 Death Co + Reclusiarch or 5 Sang Guard + Priest. Not 100% on it yet. Plus a Furioso Lib.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/11 09:36:58
Easy Stable Flying base tutorial here on Dakka:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/356483.page
Check out my Tyrannofex Conversion tutorial here on Dakka:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/334523.page
Check out my Librarian holding fire tutorial here on Dakka:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/314801.page |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/11 10:03:58
Subject: BA Transport Vehicle Questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I would go for bodies personally, and deliver a troops choice that can score right to the opponent.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/11 14:21:45
Subject: BA Transport Vehicle Questions
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
syypher wrote:What do you put in it? Death Co.? Sang Guard? I'm planning on putting either 10 Death Co + Reclusiarch or 5 Sang Guard + Priest. Not 100% on it yet. Plus a Furioso Lib.
Put in a Librarian with jump pack, and whatever else you feel like. Kick him out of the back when you move flat out past somebody's tank park, and Blood Lance as many as possible.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/12 16:25:35
Subject: BA Transport Vehicle Questions
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
syypher wrote:Ah thanks War and Pig! That clears up a lot for me.
So tactica wise if I go 1st and want to assault asap it would probably be best to move flatout 24" with a Storm Raven. If I do that with a fast vehicle they have to roll a 6 just to hit right?
For assault, yes. Shooting still works as normal, altho you would get a cover save for moving flat out.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|