Switch Theme:

I play Dark Eldar.. I am told various things about my skimmers.. please help  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Gargantuan Grotesque With Gnarskin



Woodbridge, Ontario

I am of the understanding that all measurements related to my Dedicated Transports (Raiders), which are skimmers, are made from the hull. Even when my skimmer is assaulted, it is done so at the hull. However, I recently performed a tank shock maneuver in order to bring my hull within 3 inches of an objective, to contest, but was later told that it did not count because I have to get my base within 3 inches of the objective. Is this true? I can't seem to find this in the rules anywhere, specifically. It is interesting, and important, because my vehicle actually skims close the ground on it's base, which means that the hull would actually remove about 1-1.5 inches from my ability to get within 3 inches of my base (the base is smaller than the hull for the most part). Also, this means I would have to try to get the side of my vehicle close to the objective, because the front (where I have my shock prow and where I would be tank shocking) is far from the edge of my base (probably couldn't get the front edge of my base within 3 inches of anything because of the length of my hull).

Thanks for your thoughts on this.

2015 Stats:
DE: WLD- 1/1/0
DE/Imp Knight: WLD - 2/0/0
Space Wolves: WLD - 0/0/0
Imp Knights: WLD - 0/0/0
Tyranids: WLD - 0/0/0 
   
Made in gb
Mighty Brass Scorpion of Khorne






Dorset, UK

You ignore the base completely. Everything (except when you are shooting) is all measured from the hull on a vehicle.

Whoever told you that you weren't contesting was wrong, hopefully it didn't cost you the game!

   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

Gorechild wrote:You ignore the base completely. Everything (except when you are shooting) is all measured from the hull on a vehicle.

Whoever told you that you weren't contesting was wrong, hopefully it didn't cost you the game!

Not entirely true. If someone is assaulting you and isn't tall enough to reach the hull, they can assault the base.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





As listed above, the rule is listed on page 71 of the main book (at least the mini rule book)

 
   
Made in ca
Gargantuan Grotesque With Gnarskin



Woodbridge, Ontario

Thanks for the help. Yes, I read the appropriate page in the Rule Book and it seemed clear to me, given that no alterations appeared in relation to Objectives. However, the Imperial Guard player I played seemed adamant that this was specified somewhere... maybe in a FAQ. Anyway, this rule change did cost me the win (I ended up with a tie because it was determined that I was not contesting his objective as my base was not within 3 inches, despite the fact that my hull was). Are you aware of any new FAQ that would perhaps apply to this situation?

2015 Stats:
DE: WLD- 1/1/0
DE/Imp Knight: WLD - 2/0/0
Space Wolves: WLD - 0/0/0
Imp Knights: WLD - 0/0/0
Tyranids: WLD - 0/0/0 
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Devastator





South South South Texas

Could they be confusing the faq for valk and storm raven where it says you measure from base for disembark, embark, and obj?

Look at the IG faq about the valk and measurements. I'm pretty sure thats what's confusing him, but I'm also pretty sure that the faq is for things on a large oval base only.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/29 15:17:12


"Give us prey, and we shall hunt" -Battle cry of the Purgation Hounds. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Dallas Texas

your hull contests, whoever told you that lied so they could win.

5000+ pts. Eldar 2500pts
"The only thing that match's the Eldar's firepower, is their arrogance".
8th General at Alamo GT 2011.
Tied 2nd General Alamo GT 2012
Top General Lower Bracket Railhead 2011
Top General Railhead 2012
# of Local Tournaments Won: 4
28-9-1 In Tournaments As Eldar.
Maintained a 75% Win Ratio As Eldar in 5th Edition GT's.



 
   
Made in us
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot





thecapn226 wrote:Could they be confusing the faq for valk and storm raven where it says you measure from base for disembark, embark, and obj?

Look at the IG faq about the valk and measurements. I'm pretty sure thats what's confusing him, but I'm also pretty sure that the faq is for things on a large oval base only.


You are correct right here. Flyers (storm ravens and valks) measure from the base for everything, but skimmers are not ruled as fliers but as a type of tank and therefore measure from the hull.
   
Made in ca
Gargantuan Grotesque With Gnarskin



Woodbridge, Ontario

Awesome. I have posted a reply on his Battle Report forum and have openly called him out. It is often the case that history is remembered through the bias of those who tell the stories.. If the Imperial Guard have any honor, they will amend the falsifications being written in the journal of their stunned and weak minded foot soldiers!

Thanks again for the help.

2015 Stats:
DE: WLD- 1/1/0
DE/Imp Knight: WLD - 2/0/0
Space Wolves: WLD - 0/0/0
Imp Knights: WLD - 0/0/0
Tyranids: WLD - 0/0/0 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Dark eldar elite wrote:Are you aware of any new FAQ that would perhaps apply to this situation?


Your IG player may be confused about this from the main rules FAQ:

Q: What part of a skimmer on a large oval flying base
is used to determine if it is in/on terrain or if it is on
friendly or enemy models? (p71)
A: Just the base itself.

There are a few more FAQs after this as well that refer to the large oval bases.

Point out to him that the raider is indeed a skimmer, but is not on a large oval base, so this and other FAQs that refer to oval bases do not apply to the raider.

The rules for vehicles, as posted above and defined on page 56 of the rules, tell you to measure distances to and from the hull.

And the rules for skimmers on page 71 say to measure distnaces to and from the skimmer's hull, as normal for vehicles, with the exceptions noted in that same paragraph.

Then tell the IG player that you should either be given the draw (or win) due to the rule error on his part, or at the least a re-match would be in order.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




West Midlands (UK)

That "base" rule would likely apply to your Razorwing, if you have one, which is also one of those "flyer" units (with one of those "high" bases that go above most normal minis), in contrast to the Raiders, Ravagers, Reavers, etc.. .

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/29 15:30:12


   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

Smitty0305 wrote:your hull contests, whoever told you that lied so they could win.

I'd hesitate to use the word "lied" here. The rules can be rather confusing, and there's lots of issues with skimmers (especially if you're an IG player and your skimmer rules are different from other peoples due to the Valk/Vendetta behaving differently).

He was definitely incorrect, but he may have been honestly mistaken. Malice is not required.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in ca
Gargantuan Grotesque With Gnarskin



Woodbridge, Ontario

Oh.. I know for a fact that the player was NOT INTENTIONALLY deceiving. He is a really great guy and a super gaming partner. I understand that rules can be overwhelming and confusing. I know he would never LIE about a rule or put a rule in place of just having good fun!

2015 Stats:
DE: WLD- 1/1/0
DE/Imp Knight: WLD - 2/0/0
Space Wolves: WLD - 0/0/0
Imp Knights: WLD - 0/0/0
Tyranids: WLD - 0/0/0 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight





Lied is a strong word. It may be he was just trying to win or he might have truly believed he was right. Hes only really a cheat if he keeps playing it that way after being informed otherwise.

3200 points > 5400 points
2500 points 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: