Switch Theme:

ork boarding plank query  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





so i ram a another vehicle say a land raider. Travel max distance to get there lets say 12.5 inches. (red paint and all) with my Battle wagon with a deff rolla.

inside the wagon is a nob with a pk

so i ram immobilize the LR and am parked next too it.

my assault phase i use my boarding plank and swing and whiff lets say. (i can still due this since neither vehicle has moved more than 12") (red paint notwithstanding)

now opponents assault phase my truck is still sitting in boarding plank range. what is stopping me from assaulting from my plank again?

as far as i can tell i can still in their assault phase use my plank and maybe finally destroy what i am hitting.

3000
3000
2500

on the other hand Nobz they decided it was in the best interest of ork society that they "Go Green" as such they specifically modified their warbikes to not make giant smoke, dust, grit, clouds. Instead they are all about driving with clean air, one might say their bikes Gak out rainbows.

 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

The problem, is the wording of the boarding plank, "as if the ork were disembarked and charging". Since you cannot charge on your opponents turn...

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






Gonna say 'no' to opponents turn as you are not engaged or BtB and the plank doesn;t give you explicit permission to do so on your opponent's turn. Hell it doesn't even say what phase and implies the ork players assault phase which means the rule needs a bit of RAI to work... which means no RAI for hitting on opponent's turn.

My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." 
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





for the plank can be with in 2 inchs for it to work

at HJ i see that.

but it also says makes it close combat attacks

on a side note what restriction does charging have to do with an opponents turn?

3000
3000
2500

on the other hand Nobz they decided it was in the best interest of ork society that they "Go Green" as such they specifically modified their warbikes to not make giant smoke, dust, grit, clouds. Instead they are all about driving with clean air, one might say their bikes Gak out rainbows.

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

The fact that you can not charge in your opponents turn.

That is why the restriction is important.

"as if the ork were disembarked and charging"

And since you can not charge on your opponents turn, you can not use the plank on your opponents turn.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





jsut to press the point. where does it say i cant in the brb?


on the plank issue.

i satisfy the requirements to use it it i am within two inches

so it is if i am in b2b with said vehicle for purposes of CC and i get my furious charge bonus since i count as charging

3000
3000
2500

on the other hand Nobz they decided it was in the best interest of ork society that they "Go Green" as such they specifically modified their warbikes to not make giant smoke, dust, grit, clouds. Instead they are all about driving with clean air, one might say their bikes Gak out rainbows.

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

It says it where it says you can not charge during your opponents turn. (P.33 you can only assault in your turn).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/06 04:05:01


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





ok death reaper, where does it say i am assaulting ? it says i make my Close Combat attacks as if i was disembarked and charging?

no where do i make an assault.




Automatically Appended Next Post:
(though technically i am assaulting ie punching something is assaulting it, try it on a person see where that gets you lol) (has no in game effect)

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/04/06 04:48:30


3000
3000
2500

on the other hand Nobz they decided it was in the best interest of ork society that they "Go Green" as such they specifically modified their warbikes to not make giant smoke, dust, grit, clouds. Instead they are all about driving with clean air, one might say their bikes Gak out rainbows.

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Charging = assault.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




The ork that did the Boarding Plank attacks is not base-to-base with the enemy vehicle if he stays in his Trukk, no attacks on the enemy turn.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/06 05:04:21


 
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





nothing on page 33 disallows an assault on an opponents turn, the only thing forbidding you to do so is well simply its not your turn.

and assaulting=/=charging

edit

assaulting = charging. the rule book does not have the word charge in the assault phase section, its implied.

still has no bearing on the current situation though

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/06 05:28:29


3000
3000
2500

on the other hand Nobz they decided it was in the best interest of ork society that they "Go Green" as such they specifically modified their warbikes to not make giant smoke, dust, grit, clouds. Instead they are all about driving with clean air, one might say their bikes Gak out rainbows.

 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




The only things that give your models permission to make attacks in the enemy turn is being engaged in CC or being b2b with a vehicle you assaulted.

This is a permissive ruleset - it gives you permission to do something, not permission to do anything that isn't forbidden. Nothing prevents you from issuing orders to IG squads on the enemy turn either, except for it not being your turn.
   
Made in us
Feldwebel





I'd say it makes sense fluff wise: Orky the Ork ain't gonna sit around in his big bad battlewagon while there's things to chop up

Especially if there's a nice juicy immobile land raider parked next to him hehe

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/06 05:17:19


 
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





permission granted.

am i with in 2" of an enemy vehicle yes

did neither vehicle move more than 12. yes

and embarked ork can now make CC attacks as if he was charging.

that right there is pretty permissive to me?

does it say can only do it in the controlling players assault phase. No

does it mention any thing about phases at all. No.

tell me where i dont have permission to use this piece of wargear.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/06 05:24:37


3000
3000
2500

on the other hand Nobz they decided it was in the best interest of ork society that they "Go Green" as such they specifically modified their warbikes to not make giant smoke, dust, grit, clouds. Instead they are all about driving with clean air, one might say their bikes Gak out rainbows.

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

THE_GODLYNESS wrote:and assaulting=/=charging

If that is true, then you do not gain the benefits of Furious charge when using the boarding plank.

So Charging either refers to Assaulting, or Charging refers to nothing, as charging is not really defined in the BRB.

and you can not charge in your opponents turn, as you do not have permission to do so.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/06 05:26:08


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Feldwebel





Well: intead of going through all that reasoning, you could have just made the conclusion

BECAUSE - ORKS

   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





DeathReaper wrote:
THE_GODLYNESS wrote:and assaulting=/=charging

If that is true, then you do not gain the benefits of Furious charge when using the boarding plank.

So Charging either refers to Assaulting, or Charging refers to nothing, as charging is not really defined in the BRB.

and you can not charge in your opponents turn, as you do not have permission to do so.


i did edit that statment, and you could argue that, cause charging is not defined as you said



the boarding plank gives permission?.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/06 05:33:23


3000
3000
2500

on the other hand Nobz they decided it was in the best interest of ork society that they "Go Green" as such they specifically modified their warbikes to not make giant smoke, dust, grit, clouds. Instead they are all about driving with clean air, one might say their bikes Gak out rainbows.

 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Charging must be read to mean "as if you are assaulting", to mean anything.

You cannot launch an assault in your opponent's turn.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

No the boarding plank does not give permission to assault in your opponents phase. It says "as if the ork were disembarked and charging" and you can not be charging in your opponents turn.

So Charging = Assaulting, or Charging means nothing, and you do not have permission to swing because it does not say (as if the ork were disembarked and assaulting) since you can only make CC attacks if you have assaulted something.

In 4th ed Charging = Assaulting (As far as I remember), so that is possibly why it is written that way.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





time for some verbatim

Boarding Plank

"Orks often employ hinged planks that allow them to make daring assaults on nearby vehicles. A boarding plank allows a single embarked Ork to make its close combat attacks against an enemy vehicle within 2" exactly as the Ork was disembarked and charging provided neither vehicle has moved more than 12" "


I am Making my CC attacks as if I charged. but i am not Moving my model and charging or doing any thing of the assault.

the way it is worded i hit i CC like i am Actually in CC but at no time is my ork in CC

3000
3000
2500

on the other hand Nobz they decided it was in the best interest of ork society that they "Go Green" as such they specifically modified their warbikes to not make giant smoke, dust, grit, clouds. Instead they are all about driving with clean air, one might say their bikes Gak out rainbows.

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

"exactly as the Ork was disembarked and charging"

Means for the purposes of the rule, you are charging.

Which you are not allowed to do in your opponents assault phase.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Feldwebel





Just place the Ork model on the battlewagon somewhere, but within BtB with the enemies vehicle. He is still embarked, and can "make its close combat attacks against an enemy vehicle within 2" exactly as the Ork was disembarked and charging"
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

TheMostSlyFox wrote:Just place the Ork model on the battlewagon somewhere, but within BtB with the enemies vehicle. He is still embarked, and can "make its close combat attacks against an enemy vehicle within 2" exactly as the Ork was disembarked and charging"

Actually no, you can not do that, as you are not allowed to "place the Ork model on the battlewagon somewhere" because when they embark you remove them from the table.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





DeathReaper wrote:"exactly as the Ork was disembarked and charging"

Means for the purposes of the rule, you are charging.

Which you are not allowed to do in your opponents assault phase.


the Attacks are made as if i am Charging but at no point am i charging

i get the +str but i don't charge you

3000
3000
2500

on the other hand Nobz they decided it was in the best interest of ork society that they "Go Green" as such they specifically modified their warbikes to not make giant smoke, dust, grit, clouds. Instead they are all about driving with clean air, one might say their bikes Gak out rainbows.

 
   
Made in nl
Food for a Giant Fenrisian Wolf




Apeldoorn, The Netherlands

There are two mentions of the boarding plank in the FAQ, one of them being:

Q: Can an Ork that is attacking an enemy vehicle by
using a boarding plank do so even if his unit fired at a
different target in the Shooting phase? (p93)
A: Yes.

The wording of the Q assumes that the attack takes place in the Ork's attack phase (because of the reference to the previous Ork shooting phase).

Maybe this helps?

- May the Allfather protect you and show you the way... 
   
Made in us
Feldwebel





Well then, have I got a bone to pick with all the SM and subsidaries, IG, and other Ork players that place models on their tanks
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





It does slightly due to the fact i am not Assaulting in the either players assault phase. so who i shoot at before hand is irrelevant

the wording also says Attacking, not assaulting.

Second part that mentions the Boarding plank

Q: Can a Walker attack back against an Ork attacking
him from a boarding plank? (p93)
A: No.



This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/06 06:08:33


3000
3000
2500

on the other hand Nobz they decided it was in the best interest of ork society that they "Go Green" as such they specifically modified their warbikes to not make giant smoke, dust, grit, clouds. Instead they are all about driving with clean air, one might say their bikes Gak out rainbows.

 
   
Made in za
Mutilatin' Mad Dok





THE_GODLYNESS wrote:so i ram a another vehicle say a land raider. Travel max distance to get there lets say 12.5 inches. (red paint and all) with my Battle wagon with a deff rolla.

inside the wagon is a nob with a pk

so i ram immobilize the LR and am parked next too it.

my assault phase i use my boarding plank and swing and whiff lets say. (i can still due this since neither vehicle has moved more than 12" (red paint notwithstanding)

now opponents assault phase my truck is still sitting in boarding plank range. what is stopping me from assaulting from my plank again?

as far as i can tell i can still in their assault phase use my plank and maybe finally destroy what i am hitting.


Now I'm confused here. You say you move more than twelve?, but then you say you didn't move more than 12"?

Anyway, assuming you didn't move more than 12 - you're asking for permission to use wargear within your opponents phase. The owning player is actively "activating" his model inside the trukk to use the boarding planks. Since you can't activate your units in the opponent's turn, unless specifically stated otherwise, I'd say you could not use Boarding Planks.

And I'm an Ork player, btw
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

The Ork is not in combat with the Land Raider.

What you are doing is using a bit of vehicle wargear to make an attack.

You can't use wargear in an opponents turn unless the wargear itself gives permission.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

TheMostSlyFox wrote:Well then, have I got a bone to pick with all the SM and subsidaries, IG, and other Ork players that place models on their tanks
As long as they are only doing it to denote what transport is holding which squad, then it is okay, but it has no game effect beyond letting everyone know what unit is in what transport.

Having the model there on the vehicle and trying to have him make attacks from the back of a Land Raider is not allowed...

THE_GODLYNESS wrote:
DeathReaper wrote:"exactly as the Ork was disembarked and charging"

Means for the purposes of the rule, you are charging.

Which you are not allowed to do in your opponents assault phase.


the Attacks are made as if i am Charging but at no point am i charging

i get the +str but i don't charge you

You are making attacks "exactly as the Ork was disembarked and charging" So it is treated exactly as if you were charging...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/06 07:44:46


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: