Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/09 18:48:40
Subject: ork boarding plank query
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Icemyn wrote:There is a Universal Special rule that shows up in Codex:Space Wolves quite a bit. Its called Counter-Attack and it most certainly allows you to be "as if assaulting" in the opponents turn.
In fact, it has specific allowance to do so because Counter Attack can only be used when you're assaulting. Your statement, while true, is irrelevant - in fact it reinforces the fact that you need permission to assault in your opponents turn.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/09 18:59:29
Subject: ork boarding plank query
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
rigeld2 wrote:Icemyn wrote:There is a Universal Special rule that shows up in Codex:Space Wolves quite a bit. Its called Counter-Attack and it most certainly allows you to be "as if assaulting" in the opponents turn.
In fact, it has specific allowance to do so because Counter Attack can only be used when you're assaulting. Your statement, while true, is irrelevant - in fact it reinforces the fact that you need permission to assault in your opponents turn.
Just so we are clear are you saying that Space Wolves being charged and resolving Counter-Attack are assaulting?
If not then the Boarding Plank is the permission that is required same as the USR Counter-Attack.
Boarding Plank allows CC attacks as if assaulting. (Only serves to indicate number of attacks)
Counter Attack allows the Space Wolves another attack. Note that SW don't get Furious charge while using Counter-Attack, so again reinforcing that they are not assaulting and the wording only imparts a number of attacks.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/09 19:04:43
Subject: ork boarding plank query
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Icemyn wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Icemyn wrote:There is a Universal Special rule that shows up in Codex:Space Wolves quite a bit. Its called Counter-Attack and it most certainly allows you to be "as if assaulting" in the opponents turn.
In fact, it has specific allowance to do so because Counter Attack can only be used when you're assaulting. Your statement, while true, is irrelevant - in fact it reinforces the fact that you need permission to assault in your opponents turn.
Just so we are clear are you saying that Space Wolves being charged and resolving Counter-Attack are assaulting?
If not then the Boarding Plank is the permission that is required same as the USR Counter-Attack.
Boarding Plank allows CC attacks as if assaulting. (Only serves to indicate number of attacks)
Counter Attack allows the Space Wolves another attack. Note that SW don't get Furious charge while using Counter-Attack, so again reinforcing that they are not assaulting and the wording only imparts a number of attacks.
I see a typo I made - it should read "In fact, it has specific allowance to do so because Counter Attack can only be used when you're assaulted."
And I misremembered the wording of Counter Attack - I'll edit and remove my statements if you do as well (just so it's not confusing).
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/09 19:18:34
Subject: ork boarding plank query
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Icemyn wrote: Its called Counter-Attack and it most certainly allows you to be "as if assaulting" in the opponents turn.
Counter-Attack most certainly does not allow you to be "as if assaulting". They get +1 assault bonus to their attacks (the same as assaulting). The USR states that it's only the bonus attack that is 'as if they too had assaulted'. It's a big difference otherwise things like Furious Charge could be used with it (this is addessed in the SW FAQ).
Even if you completely ignore the 'as if' disembarked and charching[assaulting] can only happen in your own turn (unless specified otherwise).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/09 23:12:35
Subject: ork boarding plank query
|
 |
Waaagh! Warbiker
wales
|
rules as writen id say no
but as intended id say yes
|
currently playing dropzone commander, battlegroup and gorkamorka |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/10 07:44:40
Subject: ork boarding plank query
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
Mannahnin wrote:Jidmah wrote:All the plank does is what it says. Allows the model to attack. The plank does not specify WHEN it allows the model to attack. This leaves us two options:
That's not what it says. The boarding plank does not allow the model to attack, it allows the model to attack in a special way.
It allows the model to attack in a circumstance under which it would not not normally be able to attack.
It allows a model that would be able to attack anyways to attack in a special way. If the model wouldn't be able to make attacks for whatever reason, it couldn't do so utilizing the boarding plank either.
Thus, the boarding plank does not allow models to attack, it just changes the requirements to be able to attack for one model.
Jidmah wrote:1. If we take "as if disembarked and charging" to be indicative, then the ork is able to make these attacks in his own assault phase, as that is when models are able to charge
"As if" can never indicate a condition. So this is irrelevant.
What? I dispute this. "As if" can easily be used to tell us HOW a unit performs an action.
Exactly. If you'd like to bark as if you were a dog, you are fine to do that. By your logic, no one could ever bark as if they were dogs, as they are obviously humans.
Telling us that the attacks are made "as if" charging is the basis of the model getting +1A for charging, and being eligible to use its +1S for Furious Assault. If the model can benefit from the benefits of launching an assault, it is only logical and intuitive for it also to be subject to the restriction of charging- that it's something you can only do in your own turn.
Boarding plank explicitly tells you to do attacks as if charging. Please quote a rule that prevents a model from making attacks as if charging(assaulting) if it is explicitly told to do so.
It is also logical and intuitive that models may only shoot during their players turn and only once per turn, Coteaz manages to get around that, too.
Besides "logical and intuitive" has no bearing on RAW. Personally I simply don't use the charge bonuses on the opponents turn (you know, because you don't get them if you actually charged the vehicle). I see no reason why the boarding plank should not work on my opponents turn though. If the vehicle doesn't move and has a plank attached to it, both logic and intuition tell you that the orks are damn well going to jump onto that plank and break that tank open with a powerklaw.
Jidmah wrote:2. If we assume that phrase is NOT meaningful as regards to timing, then we have no guidance whatsoever. You could as easily argue that the attacks are made in the movement phase or shooting phase as claiming that they are made in both assault phases.
So how about the timing on stubborn and force weapons? Boarding plank is no different than either of those rules. It is not an ability that is used or triggerd, it is simply a static effect that changes how embarked orks do their close combat attacks. No timing required.
You're incorrect on both counts. Both Stubborn and Force Weapons are used at clear and specific times. Stubborn kicks in when the unit takes a Morale test. Force Weapons can be triggered when the model successfully deals a wound. Each has a clear and specific time when it is used.
So, for stubborn and force weapons you are allowed to assume a time when you may use the special rules, but for boarding plank you are not?
There is no phase given when you are allowed to use either. Neither is specified whether they work on both turns or just your turn.
How come that boarding planks need to have a timing specified, but two other rules with implicit timing don't?
Boarding planks are used whenever a model would be able to make attacks, that's just as much timing as "whenever units take a moral test" or "when the model successfully deals a wound".
The Boarding Plank is rule which gives the Ork player the option of having one embarked model attack "as if disembarked and charging". There is no instruction as to when this ability can be used. If it is not when the model could normally charge, then when is it? What is your basis for claiming it is at any other time?
My basis is, surprisingly, the actually rules.
A boarding plank allows a single embarked Ork to make its close combat attacks against an enemy vehicle within 2" [in a special way]
If, at any time, orks embarked on the upgraded vehicle would be allowed to make close combat attacks, one of them may use the boarding plank's rule to figure out whether it can fight.
You know, just like Stubborn works whenever you are forced to take a moral check with a modifier, independent from whose turn or what phase it is. Same for force weapons. If that IA:8 biker warboss was going to tank-shock your librarian, you could use the force weapon to instant-death him during your opponents movement phase, even though the rules imply that you would only be using that activation during assaults.
I also just realized that gretchin can't use the plank
grendel083 wrote:It can't be ignored either. If this piece of wargear allowed a true assault it would say "allows a model to assault", but the wording clearly shows this isn't a true assault.
Of course it's not a true assault. A true assault would require the model to leave the vehicle and move into base contact with the vehicle it charges. The intention of this part of the rule is obviously allowing furious charge and the extra attack during your turn. Phil Kelly most likely didn't think about the possibility of striking vehicles during your opponents turn, if the rule even existed at that time. I don't blame him, many people don't know that rule, even for disembarked models. Automatically Appended Next Post: grendel083 wrote:Icemyn wrote: Its called Counter-Attack and it most certainly allows you to be "as if assaulting" in the opponents turn.
Counter-Attack most certainly does not allow you to be "as if assaulting". They get +1 assault bonus to their attacks (the same as assaulting). The USR states that it's only the bonus attack that is 'as if they too had assaulted'. It's a big difference otherwise things like Furious Charge could be used with it (this is addessed in the SW FAQ).
Even if you completely ignore the 'as if' disembarked and charching[assaulting] can only happen in your own turn (unless specified otherwise).
By that logic a winged daemon prince or teleporting dreadnight may not move as if they were jump infantry, because they are not jump infantry. Boarding plank does specify otherwise, because orks can make attacks in both assault phases, which is the only requirement for the plank to be used.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/10 07:49:16
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/10 12:21:36
Subject: ork boarding plank query
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Jidmah wrote:grendel083 wrote:Icemyn wrote: Its called Counter-Attack and it most certainly allows you to be "as if assaulting" in the opponents turn.
Counter-Attack most certainly does not allow you to be "as if assaulting". They get +1 assault bonus to their attacks (the same as assaulting). The USR states that it's only the bonus attack that is 'as if they too had assaulted'. It's a big difference otherwise things like Furious Charge could be used with it (this is addessed in the SW FAQ).
Even if you completely ignore the 'as if' disembarked and charching[assaulting] can only happen in your own turn (unless specified otherwise).
By that logic a winged daemon prince or teleporting dreadnight may not move as if they were jump infantry, because they are not jump infantry. Boarding plank does specify otherwise, because orks can make attacks in both assault phases, which is the only requirement for the plank to be used.
Actually by that logic they would move just like jump infantry. Which they do.
And I'm sorry the rest of the post was more wishful thinking than anything solid rules-wise.
You say it's not a true assault, but then you treat is as a true assault, leaving an Ork locked in combat. We're not told when we can use this piece of wargear, so assuming it can be used at all we have to look at the 'as if disembarked and charging' not just as how we can attack, but when. We can't use that as justification to allow its use in Orks turn, then ignore it in order to use it in an opponents. It's a broken piece of wargear that by RAW does nothing, it takes a little bit of rules-abuse to use it at all, using it in an opponents turn is beyond abuse.
To me it's intent is clearly for the Orks turn only. In 4th edition (when the codex was written) the intent was clearer still.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/10 13:22:08
Subject: ork boarding plank query
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
|
Icemyn wrote:beigeknight wrote:
You can't say that it is an assault and it isn't an assault to your liking. If it's "as if assaulting" the Ork attacking would get the furious charge bonus as if it was assaulting. You can't get this in the opponents assault phase. Seems to me that you can't be "as if assaulting" in your opponents assault phase. Besides, you're not locked in combat with a vehicle during your opponents assault phase, so you wouldn't be able to make attacks against it in their assault phase(excluding walkers, which even have a FAQ indicating that I feel is indictive of this case), as that's something that happens in CC. There is no base contact since the model isn't technically on the board.
As an Ork player I wish this could happen as it's pretty Orky. The rules are kinda fuzzy but there's enough there to say that you can't be "as if assaulting" in your opponents assault phase.
There is a Universal Special rule that shows up in Codex:Space Wolves quite a bit. Its called Counter-Attack and it most certainly allows you to be "as if assaulting" in the opponents turn.
Again as I have said a couple of times before the "as if" line is only there to tell you how many attacks you get not to impart timing restrictions.
Counter-Attack is triggered when a unit with the Counter-Attack USR is assaulted. The rules for Counter-Attack are pretty specific when this happens and gives permission to do so. For the Boarding Plank, there is no such permission to make attacks in the opponents assault phase. So I stand corrected above but I still think the rules are pretty clear regarding the Boarding Plank.
|
I'll show ye..... - Phillip J. Fry
Those are brave men knocking on our door! Let's go kill them! - Tyrion Lannister |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/10 14:31:20
Subject: ork boarding plank query
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
grendel083 wrote:Actually by that logic they would move just like jump infantry. Which they do.
And I'm sorry the rest of the post was more wishful thinking than anything solid rules-wise.
You say it's not a true assault, but then you treat is as a true assault, leaving an Ork locked in combat. We're not told when we can use this piece of wargear, so assuming it can be used at all we have to look at the 'as if disembarked and charging' not just as how we can attack, but when. We can't use that as justification to allow its use in Orks turn, then ignore it in order to use it in an opponents. It's a broken piece of wargear that by RAW does nothing, it takes a little bit of rules-abuse to use it at all, using it in an opponents turn is beyond abuse.
To me it's intent is clearly for the Orks turn only. In 4th edition (when the codex was written) the intent was clearer still.
So your counter-argument is "sorry that's wishful thinking" and "it's clear to me"?
You have not posted a single argument or rule, just statements without backup and opinion. You entire post is a violation of the Tenets of YMDC and thus worthless to the discussion.
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/10 14:42:30
Subject: ork boarding plank query
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Jidmah wrote:So your counter-argument is "sorry that's wishful thinking" and "it's clear to me"?
You have not posted a single argument or rule, just statements without backup and opinion. You entire post is a violation of the Tenets of YMDC and thus worthless to the discussion.
There wasn't a single rule in your arguement either. What rule would you like that hasn't already been posted?
The rules that says a boarding plank can be used in your opponents turn? It doesn't exist.
Or maybe the rules that show the Boarding Plank can't be used at all? They're in the book and have been posted before.
You can't post rules on a broken piece of wargear that requires loose interpritation to even be used. Your opponent is being generous if they let you use it at all.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/10 14:46:15
Subject: ork boarding plank query
|
 |
Lurking Gaunt
|
O.o why is this being argued?
Can I attack your stuff in on my turn...no
Just no, you cannot make your attacks on your opponents turn because you are not allowed to do anything on your opponents turn.
The only time you can do anything is in response, as in CC you make a response to being charged or locked in combat.
Else you would be able to make your attacks during your movement phase or your shooting phase, which you can't. Also you cannot make attacks in an opponents assault phase. In your assault phase you may declare assaults same as their assault phase after combat is resolved. You are not in close combat with the tank you cannot activate your boarding plank war gear and you may not make attacks.
This shouldn't even be argued... at all.
Can you use it in your movement phase NO, because you're only allowed to move
Can you use it during your shooting phase NO, because you are only allowed to shoot.
Can you use it during your assault phase YES because you may declare charges and the boarding plank allows you to make the attack as a charge.
Can you use it during any of your opponents phases NO, because you aren't allowed to activate anything or very few specifically stated things.
their assault phase? NO, why because they can only declare assaults not you, when combat is resolved your units are not in combat they are embarked.
grrr.... >_<
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/10 14:46:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/10 14:56:51
Subject: ork boarding plank query
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
Trance_Phoenix wrote:O.o why is this being argued?
Can I attack your stuff in on my turn...no
Just no, you cannot make your attacks on your opponents turn because you are not allowed to do anything on your opponents turn.
The only time you can do anything is in response, as in CC you make a response to being charged or locked in combat.
Else you would be able to make your attacks during your movement phase or your shooting phase, which you can't. Also you cannot make attacks in an opponents assault phase. In your assault phase you may declare assaults same as their assault phase after combat is resolved. You are not in close combat with the tank you cannot activate your boarding plank war gear and you may not make attacks.
This shouldn't even be argued... at all.
Can you use it in your movement phase NO, because you're only allowed to move
Can you use it during your shooting phase NO, because you are only allowed to shoot.
Can you use it during your assault phase YES because you may declare charges and the boarding plank allows you to make the attack as a charge.
Can you use it during any of your opponents phases NO, because you aren't allowed to activate anything or very few specifically stated things.
their assault phase? NO, why because they can only declare assaults not you, when combat is resolved your units are not in combat they are embarked.
grrr.... >_<
I think you are upset because you think this is how we would play it. Which isn't the case this is strictly a rules forum where we argue the rules. Your post while it shows how you would play it and feel about the situation has no basis in the rules.
Please feel free to post again with relevant rules quotes to support your argument.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/10 14:57:33
Subject: ork boarding plank query
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Trance_Phoenix wrote:Can I attack your stuff in on my turn...no Just no, you cannot make your attacks on your opponents turn because you are not allowed to do anything on your opponents turn.
Yes you can, but that does not matter. You can not be assaulting on your opponent's turn. You regularly attack enemy models in base contact even if not assaulting though. editing to add: The easiest way to think of it, I have found, is to consider it the enemey fighting a battle with you though. Which is to say there is never a time for the boarding plank, in this instance to apply. If an ork is in base with an immobilized vehicle on the vehicles turn, the ork can attack in the assault phase because the vehicle's player has to deal with that combat in the assault phase. The ork is NOT assaulting, regardless. If an ork is not in base with anything, it never is involved in a CC to get a turn to swing regardless. From what I have seen, rules that let you act in your opponent's phase actually say so.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/10 15:03:25
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/10 15:04:22
Subject: ork boarding plank query
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
kirsanth wrote:Trance_Phoenix wrote:Can I attack your stuff in on my turn...no Just no, you cannot make your attacks on your opponents turn because you are not allowed to do anything on your opponents turn.
Yes you can, but that does not matter. You can not be assaulting on your opponent's turn. You regularly attack enemy models in base contact even if not assaulting though. As shown by Counter-Attack you can most certainly be "as if assaulting" on your opponents turn. Which is all the Boarding plank requires, once you get past the whole not working at all bit. Edit: To your edit:From what I have seen, rules that let you act in your opponent's phase actually say so. I certainly agree with this statement as a generalization, but don't know that it is completely true for all cases.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/04/10 15:07:59
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/10 15:08:14
Subject: ork boarding plank query
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Icemyn wrote:kirsanth wrote:Trance_Phoenix wrote:Can I attack your stuff in on my turn...no
Just no, you cannot make your attacks on your opponents turn because you are not allowed to do anything on your opponents turn.
Yes you can, but that does not matter. You can not be assaulting on your opponent's turn. You regularly attack enemy models in base contact even if not assaulting though.
As shown by Counter-Attack you can most certainly be "as if assaulting" on your opponents turn. Which is all the Boarding plank requires, once you get past the whole not working at all bit.
No no no
Counter attack give you a bonus attack the same 'as if assaulting'. The 'as if assaulting' applies to the bonus attack only, and in no other way. You are most definatly not assaulting. It's been taken out of context many times, and cleared up in many FAQ's.
But as an edit to the edit of the edit, yes i agree you need permission to act in an opponents turn.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/04/10 15:10:57
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/10 15:12:23
Subject: ork boarding plank query
|
 |
Lurking Gaunt
|
Alright a relevant rule, each phase decides what actions you can take. On a movement phase you move, shooting phase you attack, assault phase you assault. This is a rule.
Unless stated otherwise you do not take actions outside of the phase they are allowed in. ----rule----
During your opponents turn you may not take actions. Unless once again a rule states specifically you may take that action outside of it's phase. ---another one----
When you have a boarding plank you cannot make the attack on your movement phase because you can only move ----This is an example of a rule----
When you have a boarding plank on your opponents assault phase you cannot declare assaults ----this is a rule you cannot declare an assault on your opponents turn----
Combat is then resolved however your unit is embarked and cannot make his close combat attacks as you may not activate war gear, declare shooting, assault, ect. on your opponents turn unless specifically stated.
You do not get the attacks because you (as stated in the rules) cannot activate any options allowing you to use the boarding plank rule in your opponents turn.
yes you are within 2" and yes they have not moved
BUT ----rule coming up----
You cannot declare using it, so no dice.
I hope i had enough rules to post in the rules section.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/10 15:19:18
Subject: ork boarding plank query
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
grendel083 wrote:Icemyn wrote:kirsanth wrote:Trance_Phoenix wrote:Can I attack your stuff in on my turn...no Just no, you cannot make your attacks on your opponents turn because you are not allowed to do anything on your opponents turn.
Yes you can, but that does not matter. You can not be assaulting on your opponent's turn. You regularly attack enemy models in base contact even if not assaulting though. As shown by Counter-Attack you can most certainly be "as if assaulting" on your opponents turn. Which is all the Boarding plank requires, once you get past the whole not working at all bit. No no no Counter attack give you a bonus attack the same 'as if assaulting'. The 'as if assaulting' applies to the bonus attack only, and in no other way. You are most definatly not assaulting. It's been taken out of context many times, and cleared up in many FAQ's. But as an edit to the edit of the edit, yes i agree you need permission to act in an opponents turn. I dont know why you state "no no no" it seems to me that we agree  . @Trance Phoenix: If you could read the whole thread that would be ideal so we don't rehash arguments already made. Boarding Plank does not allow you to assault on the opponents phase it allows you to make attacks "as if" you are disembarked and "assaulting"(charging *cough*cough*). Note that at no time are you actually disembarking or launching an assault.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/10 15:22:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/10 15:27:58
Subject: ork boarding plank query
|
 |
Lurking Gaunt
|
I actually did thank you, i was stating it for example purposes.
You cannot declare the attack, the form of turns and phases I believe make the ruling of no you cannot use the boarding plank on their turn.
You may meet all requirements and ignoring all as if's or as debates there is simply no option for activating this on your opponents turn as you are bound to the rules of their phase and the turn structure.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/10 15:40:45
Subject: ork boarding plank query
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
Trance_Phoenix wrote:I actually did thank you, i was stating it for example purposes.
You cannot declare the attack, the form of turns and phases I believe make the ruling of no you cannot use the boarding plank on their turn.
You may meet all requirements and ignoring all as if's or as debates there is simply no option for activating this on your opponents turn as you are bound to the rules of their phase and the turn structure.
Unfortunately you are creating restrictions that do not exist there is no rule that states that you cannot activate wargear during your opponents turn. If you think I'm wrong find a quote in the BRB and reference it here, I'll wait.
The Boarding plank only asks if you are able to make CC attacks. If you are it describes how you make them "as if disembarked and charging".
The BP is the only permission you need to be able to use it during your opponents turn, assuming that you believe that it works at all.
This is akin to Flickerfields where it is obvious how they are intended to work, but RAW without the latest FAQ they did nothing. Note that you didn't see people saying you could never use them, everyone just understood the intention.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/10 15:43:14
Subject: ork boarding plank query
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Icemyn wrote:Unfortunately you are creating restrictions that do not exist there is no rule that states that you cannot activate wargear during your opponents turn. If you think I'm wrong find a quote in the BRB and reference it here, I'll wait.
The permissive ruleset tells us that you need permission to do something. (It doesn't say I can't does not work). Boarding planks do not give any allowance to be used in your opponents turn.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/10 15:43:47
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/10 15:44:48
Subject: ork boarding plank query
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Icemyn wrote:Unfortunately you are creating restrictions that do not exist there is no rule that states that you cannot activate wargear during your opponents turn. If you think I'm wrong find a quote in the BRB and reference it here, I'll wait.
While you are waiting, can you please post a rule that says you ARE allowed to activate wargear?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/10 15:46:08
Subject: Re:ork boarding plank query
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
THE_GODLYNESS wrote: Boarding Plank "Orks often employ hinged planks that allow them to make daring assaults on nearby vehicles. A boarding plank allows a single embarked Ork to make its close combat attacks against an enemy vehicle within 2" exactly as the Ork was disembarked and charging provided neither vehicle has moved more than 12" " Again here is the BP's actual rules. Can you make CC attacks on your opponents turn? Yes. Permission granted. If you believe that it can be used on your own turn there is no restriction prevention use on your opponents turn. Automatically Appended Next Post: Happyjew wrote:Icemyn wrote:Unfortunately you are creating restrictions that do not exist there is no rule that states that you cannot activate wargear during your opponents turn. If you think I'm wrong find a quote in the BRB and reference it here, I'll wait. While you are waiting, can you please post a rule that says you ARE allowed to activate wargear? Any Armor, CC Weapon, Force Weapons particularly. I could go on, but I would rather not.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/04/10 15:47:20
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/10 15:48:14
Subject: ork boarding plank query
|
 |
Lurking Gaunt
|
Were does it say in the rule book that you can activate war gear outside of your turn?
most war gear that I know of falls into CC anyway which has it's own rules allowing for you to activate what you want, or the war gear is always active. But in this instance it is not, and with it being the players turn to declare his actions you may not declare your own unless specifically stated otherwise.
The restrictions exist within the structure of the game itself limiting you to the game turns and phases unless another rule trumps it. Since there is nothing stating you may declare actions on their turn you are restricted to not being able to take said action. I don't know of any rules to break this unless they state to break this, even psychic powers specifically state that they may be used on any turn, (but shooting powers are restricted to the shooting phase)
(and I do not advise waiting lol at work lol)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/10 15:48:42
Subject: Re:ork boarding plank query
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Icemyn wrote:THE_GODLYNESS wrote:
Boarding Plank
"Orks often employ hinged planks that allow them to make daring assaults on nearby vehicles. A boarding plank allows a single embarked Ork to make its close combat attacks against an enemy vehicle within 2" exactly as the Ork was disembarked and charging provided neither vehicle has moved more than 12" "
Again here is the BP's actual rules.
Can you make CC attacks on your opponents turn? Yes. Permission granted.
If you believe that it can be used on your own turn there is no restriction prevention use on your opponents turn.
It doesn't say you can make CC attacks on your opponents turn. Doesn't say it anywhere in what you quoted. No permission was granted.
|
My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/10 15:50:45
Subject: Re:ork boarding plank query
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
nkelsch wrote:Icemyn wrote:THE_GODLYNESS wrote: Boarding Plank "Orks often employ hinged planks that allow them to make daring assaults on nearby vehicles. A boarding plank allows a single embarked Ork to make its close combat attacks against an enemy vehicle within 2" exactly as the Ork was disembarked and charging provided neither vehicle has moved more than 12" " Again here is the BP's actual rules. Can you make CC attacks on your opponents turn? Yes. Permission granted. If you believe that it can be used on your own turn there is no restriction prevention use on your opponents turn. It doesn't say you can make CC attacks on your opponents turn. Doesn't say it anywhere in what you quoted. No permission was granted. I dont know if we are reading the same quote. Allows a single ork to make CC attacks, allows is literally right there. The only question is whether or not you believe that you can make CC attacks on your opponents turn.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/10 15:51:51
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/10 15:51:22
Subject: Re:ork boarding plank query
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Icemyn wrote:Happyjew wrote:Icemyn wrote:Unfortunately you are creating restrictions that do not exist there is no rule that states that you cannot activate wargear during your opponents turn. If you think I'm wrong find a quote in the BRB and reference it here, I'll wait.
While you are waiting, can you please post a rule that says you ARE allowed to activate wargear?
Any Armor, CC Weapon, Force Weapons particularly.
I could go on, but I would rather not.
Those examples have been given specific permission to be used (which is what we're looking for), but again the boarding plank hasn't. A force weapons specific permission doesn't grant general permission to all wargear.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/10 15:53:03
Subject: Re:ork boarding plank query
|
 |
Lurking Gaunt
|
Icemyn wrote:nkelsch wrote:Icemyn wrote:THE_GODLYNESS wrote:
Boarding Plank
"Orks often employ hinged planks that allow them to make daring assaults on nearby vehicles. A boarding plank allows a single embarked Ork to make its close combat attacks against an enemy vehicle within 2" exactly as the Ork was disembarked and charging provided neither vehicle has moved more than 12" "
Again here is the BP's actual rules.
Can you make CC attacks on your opponents turn? Yes. Permission granted.
If you believe that it can be used on your own turn there is no restriction prevention use on your opponents turn.
It doesn't say you can make CC attacks on your opponents turn. Doesn't say it anywhere in what you quoted. No permission was granted.
I dont know if we are reading the same quote. Allows a single ork to make CC attacks, allows is literally right there.
But you cannot declare that during your opponents turn, you may make the attacks but not outside the regular structure of the game.
Can you make your attacks yes
can you declare those attacks on another players turn No, because that is the structure of the game.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/10 15:53:23
Subject: Re:ork boarding plank query
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
grendel083 wrote:Icemyn wrote:Happyjew wrote:Icemyn wrote:Unfortunately you are creating restrictions that do not exist there is no rule that states that you cannot activate wargear during your opponents turn. If you think I'm wrong find a quote in the BRB and reference it here, I'll wait.
While you are waiting, can you please post a rule that says you ARE allowed to activate wargear?
Any Armor, CC Weapon, Force Weapons particularly.
I could go on, but I would rather not.
Those examples have been given specific permission to be used (which is what we're looking for), but again the boarding plank hasn't. A force weapons specific permission doesn't grant general permission to all wargear.
And again the BP isnt even given permission to be used during its owners turn. So once you say that you can use it in your own turn what stops you from being allowed to be used in the other players turn?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/10 15:53:51
Subject: ork boarding plank query
|
 |
Enginseer with a Wrench
|
Trance_Phoenix wrote:Were does it say in the rule book that you can activate war gear outside of your turn?
most war gear that I know of falls into CC anyway which has it's own rules allowing for you to activate what you want, or the war gear is always active. But in this instance it is not, and with it being the players turn to declare his actions you may not declare your own unless specifically stated otherwise.
The restrictions exist within the structure of the game itself limiting you to the game turns and phases unless another rule trumps it. Since there is nothing stating you may declare actions on their turn you are restricted to not being able to take said action. I don't know of any rules to break this unless they state to break this, even psychic powers specifically state that they may be used on any turn, (but shooting powers are restricted to the shooting phase)
(and I do not advise waiting lol at work lol)
Iron halo, is war gear. are you saying that if i shoot a lascannon at a model with the iron halo that the opponent can not use his war gear to make a save?
huh i have been playing 40k wrong all this time
|
3000
3000
2500
on the other hand Nobz they decided it was in the best interest of ork society that they "Go Green" as such they specifically modified their warbikes to not make giant smoke, dust, grit, clouds. Instead they are all about driving with clean air, one might say their bikes Gak out rainbows.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/10 15:54:16
Subject: Re:ork boarding plank query
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
Trance_Phoenix wrote:Icemyn wrote:nkelsch wrote:Icemyn wrote:THE_GODLYNESS wrote:
Boarding Plank
"Orks often employ hinged planks that allow them to make daring assaults on nearby vehicles. A boarding plank allows a single embarked Ork to make its close combat attacks against an enemy vehicle within 2" exactly as the Ork was disembarked and charging provided neither vehicle has moved more than 12" "
Again here is the BP's actual rules.
Can you make CC attacks on your opponents turn? Yes. Permission granted.
If you believe that it can be used on your own turn there is no restriction prevention use on your opponents turn.
It doesn't say you can make CC attacks on your opponents turn. Doesn't say it anywhere in what you quoted. No permission was granted.
I dont know if we are reading the same quote. Allows a single ork to make CC attacks, allows is literally right there.
But you cannot declare that during your opponents turn, you may make the attacks but not outside the regular structure of the game.
Can you make your attacks yes
can you declare those attacks on another players turn No, because that is the structure of the game.
Actual Rules quote please. Because you are literally saying you cannot fight back in CC during another players turn.
|
|
 |
 |
|