Switch Theme:

Fun List of RAW Fun  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Vanguard27 wrote:
Valkyrie wrote:Page 30 of the Tau Codex: Decoy Launchers are useless as there is no "Glancing Hit Vehicle Damage Table", there is only a "Vehicle Damage Table" which you apply respective modifiers to.

Valk


This was changed in the FAQ

Page 30 - Decoy Launchers

The second sentence should be changed to:

Whenever a glancing hit causes an Immobilized result onto a vehicle, the Tau player may force his opponent to re-roll the dice, and the second result applies.
Actually, the ERRATA changed it.

Big difference!

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone





Gwar! wrote:
Vanguard27 wrote:
Valkyrie wrote:Page 30 of the Tau Codex: Decoy Launchers are useless as there is no "Glancing Hit Vehicle Damage Table", there is only a "Vehicle Damage Table" which you apply respective modifiers to.

Valk


This was changed in the FAQ

Page 30 - Decoy Launchers

The second sentence should be changed to:

Whenever a glancing hit causes an Immobilized result onto a vehicle, the Tau player may force his opponent to re-roll the dice, and the second result applies.
Actually, the ERRATA changed it.

Big difference!


umm, yeah, you and your logic!..

Gotta QFT me to, ehh, no ninja edits for me..


And umm, its 540 AM, I have been up all night... give me a break..

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/15 11:40:05




 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Howling Banshee




Strictly by RAW wrecked vehicles can still move around and shoot. They effectively become terrain but they don't stop being vehicles. You can even embark back into your now wrecked TerrainTank though you will have to take difficult and dangerous terrain checks to get in. Your vehicle is destroyed and is a wreck but it's still a vehicle by the description of what a wreck is.

Aramoro

Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose.  
   
Made in gb
Stealthy Kroot Stalker





Does that mean that it can take further damage? Make a wrecked vehicle explode a turn later. lol

Oshova

3000pts 3500pts Sold =[ 500pts WIP



DS:90S++G++M-B+IPw40k00#+D++A++/fWD-R+++T(S)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Howling Banshee




I would guess so, I mean if you get Exploded you remove the vehicle from the table, but Wrecked leaves it there. Every time you get wrecked your passengers fall out though so they may not like it that much.

Aramoro

Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose.  
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

You want to transport 10 Terminators in safety? Take a Land Raider Prometheus from Imperial Armour Apocalypse II.

The datasheet for the Prometheus states that it may transport "10 models". There is no rule limiting the number of Terminators it may carry, therefore it may carry 10, as this would fulfill the circumstances for "10 models"
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Valkyrie wrote:You want to transport 10 Terminators in safety? Take a Land Raider Prometheus from Imperial Armour Apocalypse II.

The datasheet for the Prometheus states that it may transport "10 models". There is no rule limiting the number of Terminators it may carry, therefore it may carry 10, as this would fulfill the circumstances for "10 models"
Try reading the Terminator armour rules.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

Gwar! wrote:
Valkyrie wrote:You want to transport 10 Terminators in safety? Take a Land Raider Prometheus from Imperial Armour Apocalypse II.

The datasheet for the Prometheus states that it may transport "10 models". There is no rule limiting the number of Terminators it may carry, therefore it may carry 10, as this would fulfill the circumstances for "10 models"
Try reading the Terminator armour rules.


Damm, I thought I had something there
   
Made in gb
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader






Who wants to know?

Don't know if this is already on here but according to the apoc book, Hierophant bio-titans and barbed hierodules have a save of 2 and 3 respectively not 2+ and 3+ so there is a 5 in 6 chance they will fail to save the armour saves


Automatically Appended Next Post:
whereas knarlocs have a 6+ i mean WTF

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/20 18:15:29


Pelvic Thrust FTW
My IG, check it out! http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/310231.page#1824393
5000 points
2500 points
Samus_aran115 wrote:
Commissar's always win
 
   
Made in gb
Stealthy Kroot Stalker





I'm still waiting for the mispront of giving a "6-" save . . . yeah that's right I need to roll 6 or less on one D6 to save my guys =D

Would be hilariously funny . . . and yet incredibly broken in combat or against anything without an AP =p

Oshova

3000pts 3500pts Sold =[ 500pts WIP



DS:90S++G++M-B+IPw40k00#+D++A++/fWD-R+++T(S)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!





- The Monolith takes hits at the base strength of the unit attacking (so, 4 for a Devastator with a lascannon)


Can anybody please tell me where this is in the necron codex? I've read the Living Metal rule about 5 times and I can't find anywhere where is says this. It just states it ignores lance weapons and you don't get extra armor penetration against it. Because my monoliths frequently get annihilated by TH&SS termies and if there is something that says they can't use the additional str that would be GREAT.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

eNvY wrote:
- The Monolith takes hits at the base strength of the unit attacking (so, 4 for a Devastator with a lascannon)


Can anybody please tell me where this is in the necron codex? I've read the Living Metal rule about 5 times and I can't find anywhere where is says this. It just states it ignores lance weapons and you don't get extra armor penetration against it. Because my monoliths frequently get annihilated by TH&SS termies and if there is something that says they can't use the additional str that would be GREAT.


You probably would receive several attacks to the groin for trying that.
   
Made in us
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!





Valkyrie wrote:
eNvY wrote:
- The Monolith takes hits at the base strength of the unit attacking (so, 4 for a Devastator with a lascannon)


Can anybody please tell me where this is in the necron codex? I've read the Living Metal rule about 5 times and I can't find anywhere where is says this. It just states it ignores lance weapons and you don't get extra armor penetration against it. Because my monoliths frequently get annihilated by TH&SS termies and if there is something that says they can't use the additional str that would be GREAT.


You probably would receive several attacks to the groin for trying that.


Haha, but where is this rule?
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

There is no rule anything like that in the Necron book.
   
Made in us
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!





MasterSlowPoke wrote:There is no rule anything like that in the Necron book.


Okay, then why is it listed here? In the example of a marine with a lascannon shooting a monolith and having to use his base strength (not the gun).
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

Because someone didn't know what they were talking about.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

eNvY wrote:
MasterSlowPoke wrote:There is no rule anything like that in the Necron book.


Okay, then why is it listed here? In the example of a marine with a lascannon shooting a monolith and having to use his base strength (not the gun).


Because in the example, the marine is not affecting the Monolith, the Lascannon is, and the strength of a Lascannon is 9.
   
Made in us
Hungry Little Ripper




The main rulebook states that when you have a ballistic skill greater than 5, you always hit on a 2+ and get a reroll to hit with the weapon. It states that the reroll to hit needs the "number in italics after the slash". There is a number after the slash, but no number in italics.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/06/22 08:23:32


 
   
Made in gb
Raging Ravener




Sealed in a box- in a state of flux

eNvY wrote:
- The Monolith takes hits at the base strength of the unit attacking (so, 4 for a Devastator with a lascannon)


Can anybody please tell me where this is in the necron codex? I've read the Living Metal rule about 5 times and I can't find anywhere where is says this. It just states it ignores lance weapons and you don't get extra armor penetration against it. Because my monoliths frequently get annihilated by TH&SS termies and if there is something that says they can't use the additional str that would be GREAT.


Your monoliths shouldn't be being killed by SS/TH terminators anyway as TH gives them S8. That means they can only glance a monolith due to AV14. As when a monolith receives weapon destroyed, it loses one shot (doesn't say anything about minimum modifiers) you can never kill all it's guns to glance kill it.


DS:90-S+G++M--B--I--Pw40k06+D++A++/hWD300R++T(S)DM+
DerangdFlamingo wrote:Tau 1: Is that a black eye mate?
Tau 2: Yeah, i got lucky last night...
 
   
Made in us
Bounding Black Templar Assault Marine




Rhode Island

PK Nobs, strength 9 FTW!

W/D/L/ A(a= Annihilated beyond doubt)

Orks =44/2/9/2 15k+ pts (assembled/broken)
Black Templar= 4/1/2/1 3k 2k pts (assembled)


 
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




Sweden

Ok, there aren´t any Spearhead things yet but here´s a thing that lets a Sm list take a Ork Stompa:

Super Heavy Spearhead:
"(Fluff)Super-heavy vehicles such as the Imperial
Baneblade or Ork Stompa are amongst
the most deadly combatants on the
battlefields of the 41st Millennium. Just
one of them can dominate a battlefield.
Although incredibly rare, their presence
can single-handedly spell the difference
between victory or defeat. Because of
their might and nigh-on invulnerability,
super-heavies are often used to
spearhead an assault. Protected by
incredibly thick armour, they shrug off
even heavy weaponry, and they are
armed with batteries of guns that can
level a city block and destroy entire
swathes of enemy troops."

Spearhead Rules:
"One super-heavy vehicle chosen from ANY
Apocalypse datasheet.
Note that you need the Apocalypse Expansion
book in order to use this spearhead."
If you got the WD issue with the spearhead rules then you understand
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

Space Marine Codex, page 81, first column, near the bottom:

Assault Vehicle: Models disembarking from any access point on a Land Raider can launch an assault on the turn they do so.

So, by this wording, if my Land Raider is hit and suffers a result of Wrecked--Destroyed, as long as my models get out of an access point, they are allowed to launch an assault during my opponent's turn.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

No. They can launch an assault, but you have no permission to.
   
Made in gb
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel






If you use the codex that was uploaded to the GW site, the Daemonhunters now cannot feild an army (as it does not conatin a FOC).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/27 12:42:24


 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





If you use the codex that was uploaded to the GW site, the Daemonhunters now cannot feild an army (as it does not conatin a FOC).


Or does it mean they can just freely select any units they want? So here's my 20 Vindicare assassins...

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Servoarm Flailing Magos





FlingitNow wrote:
If you use the codex that was uploaded to the GW site, the Daemonhunters now cannot feild an army (as it does not conatin a FOC).


Or does it mean they can just freely select any units they want? So here's my 20 Vindicare assassins...


Assassins are 0-1. Even with no FOC its still 0-1.

"Praise Be To The Omissiah!"

"Three things make the Empire great: Faith, Steel and Gunpowder!"

Azarath Metrion Zinthos

Expect my posts to have a bazillion edits. I miss out letters, words, sometimes even entire sentences in my points and posts.

Come at me Heretic. 
   
Made in gb
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel






FlingitNow wrote:
If you use the codex that was uploaded to the GW site, the Daemonhunters now cannot feild an army (as it does not conatin a FOC).


Or does it mean they can just freely select any units they want? So here's my 20 Vindicare assassins...


Nope-as per the 40k rulebook, "one box on the FOC allows you to make one selection for your army". If there's no FOC, then there are no boxes, so you cannot make any selections.
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine






Arizona

epic win on the hilarity scale here XD this reminds me of the old BA codex (the pdf one) where none of their vehicles could be gotten into cause they had no access points XD
Oh and if you wanna be quasi realistic, none of the new vehicles can function as there is no mention of crew (thats not a rule thing just a literal thing...)

DC:90S++G+M+B++I+Pw40k05#-D++A++/areWD-R+++T(P)DM+
Power Rangers Fandex, CC welcome  
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Irrelevant to the rules, as you say. And if you want 40K info which is irrelevant to the rules you look to Imperial Armour.

There is detailed how many crew, where the seats are, how many cupholders and all manner of other entirely extraneous data.
   
Made in gb
Stealthy Kroot Stalker





Scott that's so that you can scratch build a model that you can take panels off and see all the inside detail with hand molded crew etc . . . only to have GW officials drop down from helicopters with flamethrowers to melt down the model.

LMAO!

Oshova

3000pts 3500pts Sold =[ 500pts WIP



DS:90S++G++M-B+IPw40k00#+D++A++/fWD-R+++T(S)DM+ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: