Switch Theme:

Assassin's CHEESE?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

the FULL line is "A vehicle with this special rule is treated as being a pskyer and Ld10 for the purposes of Psychic Tests and Psychic Hoods only"


for the purposes of Psychic Tests and Psychic Hoods only is the killer of any Psyker specific attacks.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Water-Caste Negotiator





Montreal Canada

juraigamer wrote:
Cottonjaw wrote:
Also, no one expects the inquisition.




Codexes are different. I mean GK battlesuit better than my tau, armor better than my CSM, melee better than my berzerkers, ect ect... but they are an elite army, their stuff is supposed to be good.

Just shoot the damn assassin, it will drop like a fly to a raider full of dudes doing a driveby.


NO ONE EXPECTS THE SPANISH INQUISITION! NO BODY!

THE ARMIES I PLAY!
Tau
Space Wolves
Eldar
Orks
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Grey Templar wrote:the FULL line is "A vehicle with this special rule is treated as being a pskyer and Ld10 for the purposes of Psychic Tests and Psychic Hoods only"


for the purposes of Psychic Tests and Psychic Hoods only is the killer of any Psyker specific attacks.

Let me give a grammar lesson then. That sentence structurally reads:

A vehicle with this special rule is treated as a psyker. A vehicle with this special rule is treated as [having] Ld10 for the purpose of psychic tests and psychic hoods.

"And" is what we call a conjunction that joins two or more clauses together, in this case, using the same subject.

Also, you added the "only", it does not appear in the book.

"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."

This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.


Freelance Ontologist

When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

the Only can be added because this is a permissive rules set.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Zealous Sin-Eater



Chico, CA

DarknessEternal wrote:
Grey Templar wrote:the FULL line is "A vehicle with this special rule is treated as being a pskyer and Ld10 for the purposes of Psychic Tests and Psychic Hoods only"


for the purposes of Psychic Tests and Psychic Hoods only is the killer of any Psyker specific attacks.

Let me give a grammar lesson then. That sentence structurally reads:

A vehicle with this special rule is treated as a psyker. A vehicle with this special rule is treated as [having] Ld10 for the purpose of psychic tests and psychic hoods.

"And" is what we call a conjunction that joins two or more clauses together, in this case, using the same subject.

Also, you added the "only", it does not appear in the book.


And you should learn to read better. There is no stop in the sentence, thats important. No matter how you think it should read, there is no stop. It one sentence and MUST be read that way.

Peter: As we all know, Christmas is that mystical time of year when the ghost of Jesus rises from the grave to feast on the flesh of the living! So we all sing Christmas Carols to lull him back to sleep.
Bob: Outrageous, How dare he say such blasphemy. I've got to do something.
Man #1: Bob, there's nothing you can do.
Bob: Well, I guess I'll just have to develop a sense of humor.  
   
Made in ca
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






It's pretty clear that the intention was that the Vehicle, for all intents and purposes, is suppose to be a Psyker. Note that under Mastery it indicates that the level comes after "the Psyker Special Rule". This would indicate that the part mentioning the vehicle is being treated as a psyker literally means "it now gains the Psyker special rule". That's how I'd go by it in RAW. Going by RAI, it's also pretty clear they intended for it to be a Psyker.

Gwar! wrote:Huh, I had no idea Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines posted on Dakka. Hi Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can I have an Autograph!


Kanluwen wrote:
Hell, I'm not that bothered by the Stormraven. Why? Because, as it stands right now, it's "limited use".When it's shoehorned in to the Codex: Space Marines, then yeah. I'll be irked.


When I'm editing alot, you know I have a gakload of homework to (not) do. 
   
Made in us
Zealous Sin-Eater



Chico, CA

MechaEmperor7000 wrote:It's pretty clear that the intention was that the Vehicle, for all intents and purposes, is suppose to be a Psyker. Note that under Mastery it indicates that the level comes after "the Psyker Special Rule". This would indicate that the part mentioning the vehicle is being treated as a psyker literally means "it now gains the Psyker special rule". That's how I'd go by it in RAW. Going by RAI, it's also pretty clear they intended for it to be a Psyker.


No it dosen't, if they wanted it to be a Psyker they give it the "Psyker" rule. Like every Psyker in the game has.

Peter: As we all know, Christmas is that mystical time of year when the ghost of Jesus rises from the grave to feast on the flesh of the living! So we all sing Christmas Carols to lull him back to sleep.
Bob: Outrageous, How dare he say such blasphemy. I've got to do something.
Man #1: Bob, there's nothing you can do.
Bob: Well, I guess I'll just have to develop a sense of humor.  
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





United States

Punisher Gatling Cannon wrote:
Noir wrote:
timetowaste85 wrote: It just adds to the punishment when his own vehicle is a psyker (and yes, I realize a rhino is a DT, hence first turn needing to hop in)



No there are not. No "Psyker" rule = not a Psyker. So Culexus dose not get the bonus from GK vehicle.


he will get the bonus from the vehicle because of the psychic pilot special rule. Page 21 if you want to look it up.


Cool, if you want to play that way, my Crucible of Malediction just sucked your Landraider into Hell, along with everyone inside.

I don't mind!

Ayn Rand "We can evade reality, but we cannot evade the consequences of evading reality" 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol





University of St. Andrews

Don't forget guys, "Vindicare Assassin can not fire on Eldar Farsseer due to love." Should balance things out a bit!

"If everything on Earth were rational, nothing would ever happen."
~Fyodor Dostoevsky

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity."
~Hanlon's Razor

707th Lubyan Aquila Banner Motor Rifle Regiment (6000 pts)
Battlefleet Tomania (2500 pts)

Visit my nation on Nation States!








 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The vehicle isnt a psyker except when it casts its own power.

Sniper rifle - that line is functionally identical to the old DH entry, which while only 3D6 WAS FAQ'd to confirm that, yes, it is STILL a sniper rifle and so is 3+3D6+Rending on any and all 6s.

THis is exactly the same. 3+4D6+rending on any and all 6s rolled. Arguing otherwise also means that chainfists only roll 2D6 total for armour penetration, as they have the same line.

The +D6 IS your "armour penetration", your armour penetratrion ROLL is S+XD6
   
Made in it
Impassive Inquisitorial Interrogator





Probably pointing out the obvious but... Both the rifle and the pistol are subject to those rules. So yeah, you could ker-xplode a LR with a pistol in one shot

They are both AP1 as well IIRC, so it's even kind likely.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Well it is 5/6+(1/6*1/2) to hit, or 11/12 chance of hitting
You then on average get an armour pen of 17 (avg per D6 is 3.5, before rends, so 14 in total, +3 for sniper) and any 6s just add to that.

So rougly 70% chance of a pen result. This then needs a 4+ to kill a normal, working vehice.

Which is what got me last night - pen'd a LR twice in a row, both results were a 1 and a 3. Didnt kill it, but stopped it moving.
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





Oregon, USA

GeckoOBac wrote:Probably pointing out the obvious but... Both the rifle and the pistol are subject to those rules. So yeah, you could ker-xplode a LR with a pistol in one shot

They are both AP1 as well IIRC, so it's even kind likely.


Dark eldar blast pistols can, i think

Ditto Inferno pistols.

Its a nice image, isn't it

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/15 13:52:43


The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Blasters are only S8, Ap2, so no exploding a landraider

Infernus are AP1 melta so can do so, however have to roll reasonably well to penetrate.
   
Made in ca
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






Vindicare: There's no kill like overkill.

For everything else: Let's wait for the FAQ.

Gwar! wrote:Huh, I had no idea Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines posted on Dakka. Hi Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can I have an Autograph!


Kanluwen wrote:
Hell, I'm not that bothered by the Stormraven. Why? Because, as it stands right now, it's "limited use".When it's shoehorned in to the Codex: Space Marines, then yeah. I'll be irked.


When I'm editing alot, you know I have a gakload of homework to (not) do. 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Biloxi, MS USA

nosferatu1001 wrote:Blasters are only S8, Ap2, so no exploding a landraider


They're S8 AP2 Lance, so yes, they can explode a Land Raider.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2011/04/15 14:38:08


You know you're really doing something when you can make strangers hate you over the Internet. - Mauleed
Just remember folks. Panic. Panic all the time. It's the only way to survive, other than just being mindful, of course-but geez, that's so friggin' boring. - Aegis Grimm
Hallowed is the All Pie
The Before Times: A Place That Celebrates The World That Was 
   
Made in us
Zealous Sin-Eater



Chico, CA

nosferatu1001 wrote:Sniper rifle - that line is functionally identical to the old DH entry, which while only 3D6 WAS FAQ'd to confirm that, yes, it is STILL a sniper rifle and so is 3+3D6+Rending on any and all 6s.

THis is exactly the same. 3+4D6+rending on any and all 6s rolled. Arguing otherwise also means that chainfists only roll 2D6 total for armour penetration, as they have the same line.

The +D6 IS your "armour penetration", your armour penetratrion ROLL is S+XD6


If that the case how dose it work with Monoliths, would it only be 3+1D6 like the chainfist only give +1D6.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/15 18:49:52


Peter: As we all know, Christmas is that mystical time of year when the ghost of Jesus rises from the grave to feast on the flesh of the living! So we all sing Christmas Carols to lull him back to sleep.
Bob: Outrageous, How dare he say such blasphemy. I've got to do something.
Man #1: Bob, there's nothing you can do.
Bob: Well, I guess I'll just have to develop a sense of humor.  
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





Oregon, USA

Noir wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:Sniper rifle - that line is functionally identical to the old DH entry, which while only 3D6 WAS FAQ'd to confirm that, yes, it is STILL a sniper rifle and so is 3+3D6+Rending on any and all 6s.

THis is exactly the same. 3+4D6+rending on any and all 6s rolled. Arguing otherwise also means that chainfists only roll 2D6 total for armour penetration, as they have the same line.

The +D6 IS your "armour penetration", your armour penetratrion ROLL is S+XD6


If that the case how dose it work with Monoliths, would it only be 3+1D6 like the chainfist only give +1D6.


There's a certain amount of debate about that

My view is that as the monolith specifies that you only ever get the unmodded str of the weapon + 1d6 you would get 3 (sniper weapon Str vs vehicles) + 1d6. The other view is that it ignores the Living Metal rule and does a flat 4d6. Until we get an FAQ or new Monolith rules it's a bit up in the air, thoug both sides will declaim that only their way is true RAW

The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol





University of St. Andrews

It's going to be one of mnay things in the GK FAQ...I swear that FAQ is going to be as long as the codex itself.

"If everything on Earth were rational, nothing would ever happen."
~Fyodor Dostoevsky

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity."
~Hanlon's Razor

707th Lubyan Aquila Banner Motor Rifle Regiment (6000 pts)
Battlefleet Tomania (2500 pts)

Visit my nation on Nation States!








 
   
Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan





Fareham

Are we talking permanantly destroyed (as all 4 remaining ones from the codex are currently accounted for) or 'temporarily inconvenienced'

It's pretty easy to temporarily inconvenience a Ctan, very very hard to actually kill one..


Read his fluff.
Killed is a pretty clear word.


Blasters are only S8, Ap2, so no exploding a landraider

Infernus are AP1 melta so can do so, however have to roll reasonably well to penetrate.


They are also lance, so yes they can.

average roll of a 7 on 2D6 = Pen.
No only have to roll average.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/15 19:10:32


   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

why do we need the FAQ?

if the issue could go one of 2 ways, it will be the one in the GKs favor, every time.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol





University of St. Andrews

Maybe we'll be lucky and GW has recognized Matt Ward's folly, and will be using the FAQ in an attempt to tone down GK!

And maybe Satan will be buying jackets at Hot Topic, and Bacon Wings will become available, but hey...a man can dream can't he?

"If everything on Earth were rational, nothing would ever happen."
~Fyodor Dostoevsky

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity."
~Hanlon's Razor

707th Lubyan Aquila Banner Motor Rifle Regiment (6000 pts)
Battlefleet Tomania (2500 pts)

Visit my nation on Nation States!








 
   
Made in ca
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






ChrisWWII wrote:Maybe we'll be lucky and GW has recognized Matt Ward's folly, and will be using the FAQ in an attempt to tone down GK!

And maybe Satan will be buying jackets at Hot Topic, and Bacon Wings will become available, but hey...a man can dream can't he?


Or we can get our very own cheap jet packs. *waits another 5 decades*

The GK codex itself seems even less proof read than the last few, there are so many glaring problems they should have caught. When the FAQ is released, it will most definately be monumental in size.


Gwar! wrote:Huh, I had no idea Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines posted on Dakka. Hi Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can I have an Autograph!


Kanluwen wrote:
Hell, I'm not that bothered by the Stormraven. Why? Because, as it stands right now, it's "limited use".When it's shoehorned in to the Codex: Space Marines, then yeah. I'll be irked.


When I'm editing alot, you know I have a gakload of homework to (not) do. 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Noir wrote:
And you should learn to read better. There is no stop in the sentence, thats important. No matter how you think it should read, there is no stop. It one sentence and MUST be read that way.

There is a stop. "and" is a stop. It's a conjunction joining two clauses. That's how English works.

The sentence you are imagining is "The vehicle is treated as a psyker with Ld 10 for purposes of psychic tests and psychic hoods."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/15 21:12:55


"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."

This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.


Freelance Ontologist

When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol





University of St. Andrews

It only acts as a seperator if it is , and. If there is no comma it is not linking two independent clauses.

If Grey Templar quoted the rule properly, then there is not necessarily two seperate clauses in that sentence linked by the conjunction 'and'. As it seems, it appears to be linking 'psyker' with 'Leadership 10', implying that the two are meant to be used together. In game terms, this seems to come across as equivalent to the phrase 'psyker with leadership 10'.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/15 21:45:43


"If everything on Earth were rational, nothing would ever happen."
~Fyodor Dostoevsky

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity."
~Hanlon's Razor

707th Lubyan Aquila Banner Motor Rifle Regiment (6000 pts)
Battlefleet Tomania (2500 pts)

Visit my nation on Nation States!








 
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





Oregon, USA

Jackal wrote:
Are we talking permanantly destroyed (as all 4 remaining ones from the codex are currently accounted for) or 'temporarily inconvenienced'

It's pretty easy to temporarily inconvenience a Ctan, very very hard to actually kill one..


Read his fluff.
Killed is a pretty clear word.


Blasters are only S8, Ap2, so no exploding a landraider

Infernus are AP1 melta so can do so, however have to roll reasonably well to penetrate.


They are also lance, so yes they can.

average roll of a 7 on 2D6 = Pen.
No only have to roll average.



Fluff tends to speak of necron lords etc as being killed too, ditto the swarmlord etc. Doesn't mean they're gone, when speaking of things that can come back from the dead

I'll read his fluff when i get the chance, but I still doubt he killed a Ctan, as there are (canon) 4 left, all accounted for


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Which book is this fluff in, btw?

I'm not a devotee of Black Library, so I haven't read that many of their books (and i'll not get into fluff contradiction arguments on them here..)


Automatically Appended Next Post:
never mind- looked it up on lexicanum

'Medusa was a harsh, unwelcoming planet inhabited by a tough and stoic people. Ferrus would not join these tribes, as many of his brothers did. Rather he would seek out physical challenges, to make himself stronger and more resilient. These tests ended with his battle against Asirnoth, the Great Silver Wyrm, a metallic beast impervious to harm and Ferrus had to drown it in magma to kill it. The melted flesh of the wyrm fused into Ferrus' flesh, giving him the true metal hands his Legion would take its name from. '

Not seeing anthing saying it's a Ctan

Ctan don't need to breathe, would be unphased by lava (being something like living plasma inside a metal shell) and can pretty much ignore objects (including lave pits ) in the fluff by phasing through them. Also, there is no mention of the critter exploding in a mini-sun like fireball

Even assuming that it was a Ctan and that the explosion did happen, but wasn't reported, that would only mean that the Ctan's body was destroyed (see temporarily inconvenienced here again..) as the C'tan itself is a planet-sized energy being with no physical form Read the C'tan fluff

There are other machine entities out there than the Ctan you know There was a Psychic cyborg in the rulebook fluff with a mind strong enough to distort the Astronomican, for example...


*edited for clarity and lousy spelling *

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2011/04/15 23:44:19


The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





United States

nosferatu1001 wrote:Blasters are only S8, Ap2, so no exploding a landraider.


1) Blasters aren't Pistols. The Blast Pistol is a Pistol.

2) Both the Blaster and Blast Pistol are Lance, so yeah, exploding Landraiders all around!

Ayn Rand "We can evade reality, but we cannot evade the consequences of evading reality" 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





ChrisWWII wrote:It only acts as a seperator if it is , and. If there is no comma it is not linking two independent clauses.

That's not correct, commas aren't used when you have the same subject.

"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."

This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.


Freelance Ontologist

When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol





University of St. Andrews

True, but that's irrelevant in this situation.

"If everything on Earth were rational, nothing would ever happen."
~Fyodor Dostoevsky

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity."
~Hanlon's Razor

707th Lubyan Aquila Banner Motor Rifle Regiment (6000 pts)
Battlefleet Tomania (2500 pts)

Visit my nation on Nation States!








 
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





Oregon, USA

Plus it would pre-suppose that GW writers actually passed their English GCSE, if you're sifting for the intent of the rule.


The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: