Switch Theme:

Tau Markerlights Vs. Flyers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Yellin' Yoof on a Scooter



Leeds

MarkyMark wrote:
 Savageconvoy wrote:
the rulebook covers the general, and exceptions are listed in the codex or FAQ. So Yeah, it's still a snap shot at BS5.


OF course you know the FAQ has disallowed those example, but surely not considering you are trying to do something very simular.

Q: Can the BS1 of a Snap Shot ever be modified by special rules that
modify the BS of a model’s Shooting attack (such as Tau
markerlights, Space Marine Signums or Sergeant Telion’s Voice of
Experience)? (p13)
A: No.

So by the above statement it is clear that anything that is not bs1 is not a snap shot, therefore cannot meet hard to hit rule,


Automatically Appended Next Post:
in the Tau codex, and I quote

"Ordinarily, the vehicle has no control over them and cannot launch them itself"



This is where it gets a bit complex, The Tau codex says the seeker fires "normally in all regards at an assumed BS of 5", and since the markerlight is merely the means to fire the Seeker, it does not in fact change the BS that the seeker is being fired at.

so, erm, yeah, WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGH!!  
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge




Crawfordsville Indiana

Please note that the markerlight is the attack, and the seeker missile is just a possible resolution of said attack, where as the signum, and Telion are modifying before the attack. Which is why I believe they are FAQ'd the way they are.

All the worlds a joke and the people merely punchlines
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Completely overrides that one, but there is no exception to ignore hard to hit.

At best this is rules lawyering till a clearer FAQ comes out, I'd bet money on the fact the seeker missiles will not be bs5 for shooting at flyers. Expolit the loop hole while you can kids.

I have asked before, and have had no answers but there is not one other shooting attack in the game that doesnt have to snap shot to hit without skyfire, but you guys play your games how you want.

iMO, because that is all this thread is, you cannot ignore hard to hit rules, as that is part of the normal shooting rules.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 megatrons2nd wrote:
Please note that the markerlight is the attack, and the seeker missile is just a possible resolution of said attack, where as the signum, and Telion are modifying before the attack. Which is why I believe they are FAQ'd the way they are.


If the marker light is the attack, why the need to roll another dice for the seeker missile to hit?.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/08 18:56:32


40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




MarkyMark wrote:
 Savageconvoy wrote:
the rulebook covers the general, and exceptions are listed in the codex or FAQ. So Yeah, it's still a snap shot at BS5.


OF course you know the FAQ has disallowed those example, but surely not considering you are trying to do something very simular.

Q: Can the BS1 of a Snap Shot ever be modified by special rules that
modify the BS of a model’s Shooting attack (such as Tau
markerlights, Space Marine Signums or Sergeant Telion’s Voice of
Experience)? (p13)
A: No.

So by the above statement it is clear that anything that is not bs1 is not a snap shot, therefore cannot meet hard to hit rule,


Automatically Appended Next Post:
in the Tau codex, and I quote

"Ordinarily, the vehicle has no control over them and cannot launch them itself"


The Marketlight isn't increasing the BS of Seekers because they are always fired at BS5. Firing a Seeker is an effect of using a Marketlight that has hit a target.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Mega_Nob wrote:
MarkyMark wrote:
 Savageconvoy wrote:
the rulebook covers the general, and exceptions are listed in the codex or FAQ. So Yeah, it's still a snap shot at BS5.


OF course you know the FAQ has disallowed those example, but surely not considering you are trying to do something very simular.

Q: Can the BS1 of a Snap Shot ever be modified by special rules that
modify the BS of a model’s Shooting attack (such as Tau
markerlights, Space Marine Signums or Sergeant Telion’s Voice of
Experience)? (p13)
A: No.

So by the above statement it is clear that anything that is not bs1 is not a snap shot, therefore cannot meet hard to hit rule,


Automatically Appended Next Post:
in the Tau codex, and I quote

"Ordinarily, the vehicle has no control over them and cannot launch them itself"



This is where it gets a bit complex, The Tau codex says the seeker fires "normally in all regards at an assumed BS of 5", and since the markerlight is merely the means to fire the Seeker, it does not in fact change the BS that the seeker is being fired at.


You mean this is where your loop hole goes on shakey ground as you are assuming it ignores hard to hit, because you are not granted skyfire

This is all from me on this thread, wasted a good few mins before my dinner,

Thanks


Automatically Appended Next Post:
FenixZero wrote:
MarkyMark wrote:
 Savageconvoy wrote:
the rulebook covers the general, and exceptions are listed in the codex or FAQ. So Yeah, it's still a snap shot at BS5.


OF course you know the FAQ has disallowed those example, but surely not considering you are trying to do something very simular.

Q: Can the BS1 of a Snap Shot ever be modified by special rules that
modify the BS of a model’s Shooting attack (such as Tau
markerlights, Space Marine Signums or Sergeant Telion’s Voice of
Experience)? (p13)
A: No.

So by the above statement it is clear that anything that is not bs1 is not a snap shot, therefore cannot meet hard to hit rule,


Automatically Appended Next Post:
in the Tau codex, and I quote

"Ordinarily, the vehicle has no control over them and cannot launch them itself"


The Marketlight isn't increasing the BS of Seekers because they are always fired at BS5. Firing a Seeker is an effect of using a Marketlight that has hit a target.


My bad, never said it was altering the BS, just that the first line, BS1 of a snap shot, that clearly states a snap shot is bs1, nothing else.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/08 18:58:44


40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine





MarkyMark wrote:
Completely overrides that one, but there is no exception to ignore hard to hit.

Sigh.

Did you not see where I broke down how the FAQ actually works?
Hard To Hit makes all shots against Flyers Snap Shots.
Snap Shots reduce all firing model's ballistic skill to 1.
We know that it is in fact reducing the ballistic skill when we look at the Tau FAQ.
Q: If a vehicle is reduced to Ballistic Skill 1 (because it is Shaken,
Stunned, for example)

When we look at Shaken/Stunned on the Damage Chart we see that it makes the vehicle fire Snap Shots.
From that relationship we can easily deduce that the Snap Shot rule reduces the model's Ballistic Skill.
Seeker Missiles are then granted an exception to the rule in the FAQ.
Q: If a vehicle is reduced to Ballistic Skill 1 (because it is Shaken,
Stunned, for example) do its seeker missiles fire at Ballistic Skill 1 or
Ballistic Skill 5? (p29)
A: Ballistic Skill 5.


MarkyMark wrote:

At best this is rules lawyering till a clearer FAQ comes out, I'd bet money on the fact the seeker missiles will not be bs5 for shooting at flyers. Expolit the loop hole while you can kids.

I have asked before, and have had no answers but there is not one other shooting attack in the game that doesnt have to snap shot to hit without skyfire, but you guys play your games how you want.

iMO, because that is all this thread is, you cannot ignore hard to hit rules, as that is part of the normal shooting rules.

No, no this is not "rules lawyering" to support the RAW. The RAW is quite clear and I've illustrated it clearly.

Saying that it does not fire @BS5 is wrong, because you're looking for, and providing semantic arguments to support your point that are in contradiction to the RAW & FAQ.

Visit http://www.ironfistleague.com for games, tournaments and more in the DC metro area! 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge




Crawfordsville Indiana

MarkyMark wrote:
Completely overrides that one, but there is no exception to ignore hard to hit.

At best this is rules lawyering till a clearer FAQ comes out, I'd bet money on the fact the seeker missiles will not be bs5 for shooting at flyers. Expolit the loop hole while you can kids.

I have asked before, and have had no answers but there is not one other shooting attack in the game that doesnt have to snap shot to hit without skyfire, but you guys play your games how you want.

iMO, because that is all this thread is, you cannot ignore hard to hit rules, as that is part of the normal shooting rules.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 megatrons2nd wrote:
Please note that the markerlight is the attack, and the seeker missile is just a possible resolution of said attack, where as the signum, and Telion are modifying before the attack. Which is why I believe they are FAQ'd the way they are.


If the marker light is the attack, why the need to roll another dice for the seeker missile to hit?.


Because it is a special rule. Why would you need to roll to hit with those witch fire powers, after you all you passed the LD test?

The main rulebook also states that other special rules may exist in a codex and those take precedence over rulebook rules. So as a special rule it allows for the targeting and hitting of a flier at it's assumed BS5. That is why no other weapon allows it, no other weapon has a special rule that is written as such. Skyfire and markerlight, both are written as such. Hard to hit is not normal, it is an exception.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/08 19:05:41


All the worlds a joke and the people merely punchlines
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

paidinfull wrote:
The RAW is quite clear

Yes it is.

"Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures."

is firing at BS 5 firing a Snapshot? (No).

Then it can not hit.


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Yellin' Yoof on a Scooter



Leeds

MarkyMark wrote:
Completely overrides that one, but there is no exception to ignore hard to hit.

At best this is rules lawyering till a clearer FAQ comes out, I'd bet money on the fact the seeker missiles will not be bs5 for shooting at flyers. Expolit the loop hole while you can kids.

I have asked before, and have had no answers but there is not one other shooting attack in the game that doesnt have to snap shot to hit without skyfire, but you guys play your games how you want.

iMO, because that is all this thread is, you cannot ignore hard to hit rules, as that is part of the normal shooting rules.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 megatrons2nd wrote:
Please note that the markerlight is the attack, and the seeker missile is just a possible resolution of said attack, where as the signum, and Telion are modifying before the attack. Which is why I believe they are FAQ'd the way they are.


If the marker light is the attack, why the need to roll another dice for the seeker missile to hit?.


What are the HTH rules we are ignoring that you are referring to? You mean the ones that say you have to make a snap shot, which by reference is a shot that reduces your BS to 1, which then doesn't affect the BS of a seeker by refering to the Tau FAQ. Oh we have far from ignored that. See the last ten pages dude.

so, erm, yeah, WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGH!!  
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge




Crawfordsville Indiana

 DeathReaper wrote:
paidinfull wrote:
The RAW is quite clear

Yes it is.

"Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures."

is firing at BS 5 firing a Snapshot? (No).

Then it can not hit.



Why do you ignore other rules, and even the main rulebook telling you codex special rules take precedent over the main rulebook rules?

All the worlds a joke and the people merely punchlines
 
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine





 DeathReaper wrote:
paidinfull wrote:
The RAW is quite clear

Yes it is.

"Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures."

is firing at BS 5 firing a Snapshot? (No).

Then it can not hit.


Right, and it is firing as a Snap Shot.

I outlined that quite clearly.
Shaken/Stunned = Snap Shot
Flyer = Snap Shot

Snap Shot = Reduce BS to 1.

FAQ overrides that. I know you don't want to admit it, but you are very, very wrong here.

Visit http://www.ironfistleague.com for games, tournaments and more in the DC metro area! 
   
Made in us
Fireknife Shas'el






 DeathReaper wrote:
Yes it is.

"Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures."

is firing at BS 5 firing a Snapshot? (No).

Then it can not hit.



You're missing the point so hard, it's embarassing me.

But we can ignore and change rules all we want.
I say in order to bring a flyer you have to tap three red mana and a green, and I see no land cards on the table.

I'm expecting an Imperial Knights supplement dedicated to GW's loyalist apologetics. Codex: White Knights "In the grim dark future, everything is fine."

"The argument is that we have to do this or we will, bit by bit,
lose everything that we hold dear, everything that keeps the business going. Our crops will wither, our children will die piteous
deaths and the sun will be swept from the sky."
-Tom Kirby 
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine





 Savageconvoy wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Yes it is.

"Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures."

is firing at BS 5 firing a Snapshot? (No).

Then it can not hit.



You're missing the point so hard, it's embarassing me.

But we can ignore and change rules all we want.
I say in order to bring a flyer you have to tap three red mana and a green, and I see no land cards on the table.
What about a Primeval Titan? Pretty sure he's running one of those in his army list. That might allow him to Reserve his flyer.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/08 19:22:49


Visit http://www.ironfistleague.com for games, tournaments and more in the DC metro area! 
   
Made in us
Fireknife Shas'el






I dunno. Lemme see you're character sheet. Better roll for dexterity first.

I'm expecting an Imperial Knights supplement dedicated to GW's loyalist apologetics. Codex: White Knights "In the grim dark future, everything is fine."

"The argument is that we have to do this or we will, bit by bit,
lose everything that we hold dear, everything that keeps the business going. Our crops will wither, our children will die piteous
deaths and the sun will be swept from the sky."
-Tom Kirby 
   
Made in gb
Yellin' Yoof on a Scooter



Leeds

paidinfull wrote:
 Savageconvoy wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Yes it is.

"Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures."

is firing at BS 5 firing a Snapshot? (No).

Then it can not hit.



You're missing the point so hard, it's embarassing me.

But we can ignore and change rules all we want.
I say in order to bring a flyer you have to tap three red mana and a green, and I see no land cards on the table.
What about a Primeval Titan? Pretty sure he's running one of those in his army list. That might allow him to Reserve his flyer.


When nature calls............


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 DeathReaper wrote:
paidinfull wrote:
The RAW is quite clear

Yes it is.

"Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures."

is firing at BS 5 firing a Snapshot? (No).

Then it can not hit.



Did anyone say it was?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/08 19:40:18


so, erm, yeah, WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGH!!  
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

So since a set modifier apparently equals reduction, does that mean stubborn models are immune to things that set the Leadership to 2 for the purpose of Morale checks?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut



Beaver Dam, WI

I would argue that the Snapfire requirement is met by the markerlight. At that point the special rules - expending a markerlight on a target - to target with a seeker missile comes into effect and that - per the rules says it hits on a 5+.

However, thanks to GW, there is no logic in the rules and it doesn't work. The markerlight not modifying a shot - referenced in the FAQ - is muddled by the fact that markerlights can modify the BS of a shot. Can a markerlight modify a snapfire. NO Can a markerlight be expended for a seeker missile. YES. So the only question is whether a seeker missile acts per the codex or not.

As stated before - other than the flexibility it offers - using seeker missiles to target flyers is a points-inefficient way to take out flyers. Which speaks to the age and dated costs of the Tau Empire codex.

2000
2000
WIP
3000
8000 
   
Made in us
Fireknife Shas'el






DAaddict wrote:
I would argue that the Snapfire requirement is met by the markerlight. At that point the special rules - expending a markerlight on a target - to target with a seeker missile comes into effect and that - per the rules says it hits on a 5+.

However, thanks to GW, there is no logic in the rules and it doesn't work. The markerlight not modifying a shot - referenced in the FAQ - is muddled by the fact that markerlights can modify the BS of a shot. Can a markerlight modify a snapfire. NO Can a markerlight be expended for a seeker missile. YES. So the only question is whether a seeker missile acts per the codex or not.

As stated before - other than the flexibility it offers - using seeker missiles to target flyers is a points-inefficient way to take out flyers. Which speaks to the age and dated costs of the Tau Empire codex.


You're missing the key point though.
1.) Markerlight is used to fire the missile. Done.
2.) What BS is it resolved at?
3.) It's a flier, so snap fire.
4.) Is there a relevant FAQ? Yes.
5.) FAQ has you treat Seeker missiles as BS5 for the purpose of snap fire.

Done!

I'm expecting an Imperial Knights supplement dedicated to GW's loyalist apologetics. Codex: White Knights "In the grim dark future, everything is fine."

"The argument is that we have to do this or we will, bit by bit,
lose everything that we hold dear, everything that keeps the business going. Our crops will wither, our children will die piteous
deaths and the sun will be swept from the sky."
-Tom Kirby 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Happyjew wrote:
So since a set modifier apparently equals reduction, does that mean stubborn models are immune to things that set the Leadership to 2 for the purpose of Morale checks?

Quoting because it's apparently being ignored

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Fireknife Shas'el






I'm not familiar with Stubborn. But if there was an FAQ that specifically mentioned that a Stubborn unit's leadership doesn't get reduced to a set value, like what happened with the Seekermissile, then I'd agree.


I'm expecting an Imperial Knights supplement dedicated to GW's loyalist apologetics. Codex: White Knights "In the grim dark future, everything is fine."

"The argument is that we have to do this or we will, bit by bit,
lose everything that we hold dear, everything that keeps the business going. Our crops will wither, our children will die piteous
deaths and the sun will be swept from the sky."
-Tom Kirby 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Savageconvoy wrote:
I'm not familiar with Stubborn. But if there was an FAQ that specifically mentioned that a Stubborn unit's leadership doesn't get reduced to a set value, like what happened with the Seekermissile, then I'd agree.


BRB page 43 wrote:When a unit that contains at least one
model with this special rule takes Morale
checks or Pinning tests, they ignore any
negative Leadership modifiers. If a unit
is both Fearless and Stubborn, it uses the
rules for Fearless instead.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine





rigeld2 wrote:
Happyjew wrote:
So since a set modifier apparently equals reduction, does that mean stubborn models are immune to things that set the Leadership to 2 for the purpose of Morale checks?

Quoting because it's apparently being ignored

A set modifier that is less than the original is very much a reduction.
Stubborn
When a unit that contains at least one model with this special rule takes Morale Checks or Pinning Tests, they ignore any negative leadership modifiers. If a unit is both Fearless and Stubborn, it uses the rules for Fearless instead.

If you are referring to the PBS scenario, INAT has already covered that.
IG.47D.02 – Q: Does Weaken Resolve affect units with the 'Stubborn' special rule when they are taking a morale test?
A: No it does not, as ‘Weaken Resolve’ modifies the unit’s Ld value (which ‘Stubborn’ ignores during Morale tests) [clarification].


If that was indeed what you are referring to, then yes, Stubborn ignores those modifiers.

Visit http://www.ironfistleague.com for games, tournaments and more in the DC metro area! 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





paidinfull wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Happyjew wrote:
So since a set modifier apparently equals reduction, does that mean stubborn models are immune to things that set the Leadership to 2 for the purpose of Morale checks?

Quoting because it's apparently being ignored

A set modifier that is less than the original is very much a reduction.
Stubborn
When a unit that contains at least one model with this special rule takes Morale Checks or Pinning Tests, they ignore any negative leadership modifiers. If a unit is both Fearless and Stubborn, it uses the rules for Fearless instead.

If you are referring to the PBS scenario, INAT has already covered that.
IG.47D.02 – Q: Does Weaken Resolve affect units with the 'Stubborn' special rule when they are taking a morale test?
A: No it does not, as ‘Weaken Resolve’ modifies the unit’s Ld value (which ‘Stubborn’ ignores during Morale tests) [clarification].


If that was indeed what you are referring to, then yes, Stubborn ignores those modifiers.

Weaken Resolve isn't a set value. INAT isn't official.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

INAT rulings don't amount to much here. Similar to NOVA out other Tournament FAQs.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Fireknife Shas'el






In that case, I agree.

I'm expecting an Imperial Knights supplement dedicated to GW's loyalist apologetics. Codex: White Knights "In the grim dark future, everything is fine."

"The argument is that we have to do this or we will, bit by bit,
lose everything that we hold dear, everything that keeps the business going. Our crops will wither, our children will die piteous
deaths and the sun will be swept from the sky."
-Tom Kirby 
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine





rigeld2 wrote:

Weaken Resolve isn't a set value. INAT isn't official.

What's your point?

Do you have a specific instance where an ability makes a unit's LD value a set value?

Visit http://www.ironfistleague.com for games, tournaments and more in the DC metro area! 
   
Made in us
Fireknife Shas'el






So are you trying to argue that the Seekermissile FAQ is irrelevent because of other rules that don't apply to shooting snap shots?

I'm expecting an Imperial Knights supplement dedicated to GW's loyalist apologetics. Codex: White Knights "In the grim dark future, everything is fine."

"The argument is that we have to do this or we will, bit by bit,
lose everything that we hold dear, everything that keeps the business going. Our crops will wither, our children will die piteous
deaths and the sun will be swept from the sky."
-Tom Kirby 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 DeathReaper wrote:
paidinfull wrote:
The RAW is quite clear

Yes it is.

"Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures."

is firing at BS 5 firing a Snapshot? (No).

Then it can not hit.



It absolutely is. Dont try to take the stance that a codex or FAQ cannot override the BRB. We all know that is not true.

When the vehicle fires the missile as a snapshot, it fires at BS5 per FAQ.

Is HTH a Snap Shot. Yes.

Then it fires at BS5
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine





Happyjew wrote:
INAT rulings don't amount to much here. Similar to NOVA out other Tournament FAQs.

It was intended to save me time typing everything up, because it seemed that was your point.

Weaken Resolve
For the remainder of the turn, the enemy unit's Leadership is reduced by the number of Sanctioned Psykers in the unit utilising the power (to a minimum of 2)

Stubborn
When a unit that contains at least one model with this special rule takes Morale Checks or Pinning Tests, they ignore any negative leadership modifiers. If a unit is both Fearless and Stubborn, it uses the rules for Fearless instead.


There are the two rules. What do you think?
Does Weaken Resolve work on Stubborn units? No. You are attempting to "reduce", aka negatively modify, the Stubborn unit's Leadership.

This is off topic. Unless you have a specific instance that relates to the topic at hand, please stay on topic.

Visit http://www.ironfistleague.com for games, tournaments and more in the DC metro area! 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Fragile wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
paidinfull wrote:
The RAW is quite clear

Yes it is.

"Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures."

is firing at BS 5 firing a Snapshot? (No).

Then it can not hit.



It absolutely is. Dont try to take the stance that a codex or FAQ cannot override the BRB. We all know that is not true.

When the vehicle fires the missile as a snapshot, it fires at BS5 per FAQ.

Is HTH a Snap Shot. Yes.

Then it fires at BS5

Unless you missed it, snap shots at flyers are resolved at BS1, not 5.

"Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures." is from an FAQ

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/08 20:34:39


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: