Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/21 21:01:13
Subject: Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
Stalwart Strike Squad Grey Knight
mobile, AL
|
Im sure some of you will know the answear to this, but im am starting to follow the masses and run coteaz. I gave him Prescience and tossed him in a 10 man monkey squad. so now i have 10 twin linked beams of death flying out every turn. So my question is about the "Gate of infinity ability" being used against coteaz and his squad. The Ive been expecting you ability reads comming in from reserves in his rules. so when the Gate of infinity is used and someone pops up within 12 inches of the inquisitor lord himself can his squad fire on them, the squad arives using deep strike rules, but not sure if it ever is considered comming in from reserve.
the same question is for transports. if someone disembarks a transport and is brought into play does his ability go off?
|
Grey Knights 6k
Custodians 4k
Imperial Knights 6k
Imperial guard 10k
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/21 21:06:41
Subject: Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
A model teleporting via GoI is not coming in from Reserves so would not be eligible. As for disembarking, if the transport was already in play, units disembarking are not targettable. If the transport arrived from reserves (such as a DP) then per the FAQ both can be shot at.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/21 21:06:42
Subject: Re:Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
No, they have just come on like Deep Strikers, but they never actually arrived from Reserves. So IBEY doesn't trigger.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/21 21:24:32
Subject: Re:Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
Stalwart Strike Squad Grey Knight
mobile, AL
|
figured, but i wanted to doble check. thanks guys.
|
Grey Knights 6k
Custodians 4k
Imperial Knights 6k
Imperial guard 10k
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/21 22:47:49
Subject: Re:Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
Yeah, Coteaz is a stellar unit, but even his precognitive powers and spy network cannot predict what units already on the battlefield will do with any accuracy.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/22 02:05:40
Subject: Re:Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners
Boston, MA
|
Run Strike Squads with Warpquake. GOI issue fixed.
|
0000 - Rest Period - BUT YOU BETTER NOT SPEND FOUR WHOLE HOURS SLEEPING. IF YOU DO YOU ARE NOT ANGRY ENOUGH AND TOMORROW YOU GET THE FIRST CHANCE TO PLAY PIN THE TAU ON THE CARNIFEX. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/22 05:30:02
Subject: Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
Don't you mean Veil of Darkness? GOI is just disembarking, not deepstriking. Am I missing something here?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/22 05:47:15
Subject: Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
Fafnir13 wrote:Don't you mean Veil of Darkness? GOI is just disembarking, not deepstriking. Am I missing something here?
GoI is...disembarking?
Please cite the rule that states this. The GoI in my rulebook says that the unit "arrives using the rules for Deep Strike."
Also, Warp Quake disrupts "any unit deploying via Deep Strike." So it might not work against GoI, since they're not deploying. But the DS rule doesn't talk about "deploying," it only talks about "arriving."
RAW Warp Quake doesn't work at all? RAI it works against Gate?
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/22 11:42:37
Subject: Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Yes Coteaz does get IBEY against people using GOI. It specifically states the unit "arrives by deep strike". The Deep strike rules tell us that arriving is coming from reserve. So you get to shoot their face off  . Automatically Appended Next Post: Also the DS rules do indeed talk about deploying. Read the section under "Arriving by Deep strike". It clarifies that arriving is making your reserves roll then you deploy by deep strike using the scattering method.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/22 11:44:35
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/22 12:14:16
Subject: Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
FlingitNow wrote:Yes Coteaz does get IBEY against people using GOI. It specifically states the unit "arrives by deep strike". The Deep strike rules tell us that arriving is coming from reserve. So you get to shoot their face off  .
Not correct.
IBEY requires the unit arrive from reserve.
Units using GOI have not arrived from reserve. They were on the table at the start of the turn, no reserve rolls were made.
Fafnir13 wrote:Don't you mean Veil of Darkness? GOI is just disembarking, not deepstriking. Am I missing something here?
You're thinking of the "Eternity Gate" on the Monolith.
This is about Gate of Infinity, the psychic power.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/22 12:22:49
Subject: Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Not correct.
IBEY requires the unit arrive from reserve.
Units using GOI have not arrived from reserve. They were on the table at the start of the turn, no reserve rolls were made.
Please read the deep strike rules. You are claiming GOI is not "arriving by deep strike" because that is a subset of "arriving from reserve".
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/22 12:31:20
Subject: Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
FlingitNow wrote:Not correct.
IBEY requires the unit arrive from reserve.
Units using GOI have not arrived from reserve. They were on the table at the start of the turn, no reserve rolls were made.
Please read the deep strike rules. You are claiming GOI is not "arriving by deep strike" because that is a subset of "arriving from reserve".
No, I'm claiming they are arriving via Deep Strike, but are NOT arriving from reserve.
They were on the table at the start of the turn. No reserve roll was made. The unit was never in reserve this turn.
The requirement of IBEY is that they arrive from reserve. In this case they arrive from the table. Even if you claim they must be in reserve to use deep strike, they simply didn't arrive from it, which is the requirement needed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/22 13:20:41
Subject: Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
No, I'm claiming they are arriving via Deep Strike, but are NOT arriving from reserve.
Which is of course impossible according to the DS rules which clearly state arriving is coming from reserve. Please read the Deep Strike rules then you'll understand how they work.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/22 13:26:55
Subject: Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
FlingitNow wrote:No, I'm claiming they are arriving via Deep Strike, but are NOT arriving from reserve.
Which is of course impossible according to the DS rules which clearly state arriving is coming from reserve. Please read the Deep Strike rules then you'll understand how they work.
Are you seriously suggesting that there are no rules in this game that only use part of another rule?
Interceptor uses only part of the shooting rules.
Haywire only uses part of the "shooting at vehicles" rules.
You want me to re-read the Deep Strike rules? How about you pick a USR at random and read that. Chances are it will use only part of another rule.
Impossible according to the Deep Strike rules? It's impossible according the Reserve rules, by the simple fact that the unit is not in Reserve, but on the table.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/22 13:28:29
Subject: Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
FlingitNow wrote:Which is of course impossible according to the DS rules which clearly state arriving is coming from reserve. Please read the Deep Strike rules then you'll understand how they work.
Actually no, they don't. Deep striking 'can' be a method of arriving from reserves sure, but there is nothing inherent in utilizing the deep strike rules that places models using it 'in' reserves before putting them on the table. keep in mind abilities which utilize them from the table such as the veil of darkness and gate of infinity bypass the need for the unit to start in reserves in the first place.
As you've so eloquently put it, read the Deep Strike rules. Also please quote the section you believe supports your post, I'm very interested in where you are getting that idea from?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/09/22 13:32:16
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/22 13:42:05
Subject: Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Deep Strike doesn't mean you're arriving from reserve.
Reserve is a requirement of Deep Strike.
Important difference.
You can't use the Deep Strike rules unless the unit is in reserve. Fortunately the GOI tells us to use the rule anyway. The requirement is bypassed.
And suggesting the unit then counts as arriving from reserve is simply not right. You're then following none of the reserve rules, except allowing the unit to be shot at by Interceptor/IBEY.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/22 13:42:20
Subject: Re:Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
You could never use GoI or VoD to Deep Strike from the table top if you use FlingitNow's interpretation, because you are never actually told to put the unit into reserves by either those abilities or by the Deep Strike rules themselves.
So either these abilities don't work at all, or you take logical route of only using the portion of the rules that tell you how to actually place the models onto the table.
|
11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die. ++
Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/22 19:52:13
Subject: Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Seriously read the deep strike rules. It tells you what "arriving by deep strike" is and what "deploying by deep strike" is. You all seem to be confusing the later with the former. Arriving by deep strike is arriving from reserve.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/22 19:56:37
Subject: Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
You roll for reserve then do you?
Edit: Oh and you can't use GOI until turn 2 then, since reserves can't arrive on turn 1.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/22 20:00:19
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/22 21:04:59
Subject: Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
No you don't roll the roll is to see if you arrive GOI tells you that you do arrive, so no roll is necessary.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/22 21:13:50
Subject: Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
FlingitNow wrote:No you don't roll the roll is to see if you arrive GOI tells you that you do arrive, so no roll is necessary.
Can you cite this please. I don't see any mention of reserves in the rules for Gate of Infinity.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/22 21:18:40
Subject: Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
So they count as arriving from reserve, while using none of the reserve rule?
So not reserved at all?
Deep Striking does not mean you're arriving from reserve.
Reserve is a requirement of Deep Strike.
It's an important difference.
And a requirement that isn't required due to GOI.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/22 21:34:52
Subject: Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Happyjew the rules are on page 422. Second paragraph under GOI title 4th sentence. Then page 36 4th paragraph first sentence. Notice how that sentence tells us what arriving by deep strike is and what deploying by deep strike is.
Grendel083 read the section "arriving by deep strike" on page 36. The first part of deep strike tells us reserves is a requirement of DS we are agreed here. However the section under "arriving by deep strike" tells us that arriving by deep strike is arriving from reserve, then deploying by deep strike is what follows that.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/22 21:36:22
Subject: Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
I agree you arrive but where does it say you do not need to roll for reserves?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/22 21:42:26
Subject: Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
The first 4 words for "Arriving by Deep Strike" are...
Roll for the arrival
So if you're arriving from reserve, you must roll first, and you can't roll on turn 1.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/22 21:44:16
Subject: Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Because the reserve roll is to see if you arrive. GoI tells you that you arrive "immediately" in that very sentence I cited for you already.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/22 21:50:01
Subject: Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
FlingitNow wrote:Because the reserve roll is to see if you arrive. GoI tells you that you arrive "immediately" in that very sentence I cited for you already. And where are you arriving from?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/22 21:50:29
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/22 21:52:11
Subject: Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
So the unit is never in reserve.
Non of the reserve rules being used.
"Arriving from reserve" not being used at all and replaced with "arrives immediately".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/22 21:53:39
Subject: Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Happyjew wrote: FlingitNow wrote:Because the reserve roll is to see if you arrive. GoI tells you that you arrive "immediately" in that very sentence I cited for you already.
And where are you arriving from?
Reserve as per the DS rules.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/22 21:58:36
Subject: Coteaz vs Gate of infinity?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
FlingitNow wrote: Happyjew wrote: FlingitNow wrote:Because the reserve roll is to see if you arrive. GoI tells you that you arrive "immediately" in that very sentence I cited for you already.
And where are you arriving from?
Reserve as per the DS rules.
OK. And how did you get in Reserves?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
|