Switch Theme:

Grav guns are killing the game?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Revving Ravenwing Biker




England

I figure "re-roll the result" is referring to how you can re-roll glances to upgrade to pens but must keep the second result or something like that.
...Completely irrelevant to Grav but it wouldn't be the first time GW forgot how their bloody rules work...

Don't believe me? It's all in the numbers.
Number 1: That's terror.
Number 2: That's terror.
Dark Angels/Angels of Vengeance combo - ???? - Input wanted! 
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre



california

Each roll is it's own roll, and each wound is it's own wound and hit it's own hit. Dboy is starting to confuse others now. Dang it
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





Pain4Pleasure wrote:
 Vaktathi wrote:
Dman137 wrote:
Pain4Pleasure wrote:
Dman137 wrote:
Grav weapons don't re-roll failed to wound rolls. Grav-amps specifically say re-roll the result. That's means you have to reroll all the dice, successful and failed.


Whoever told you that eldar boy lied.


Know one told me its in the rules lol go look it up and show me where it says you re-roll failed to wound rolls
Each to-wound roll occurs in a single die, regardless of how many there are.

When the rulebook is talking about having to reroll everything, they're talking about things like Ld tests that are taken on mulutple dice (e.g. a 2d6 roll). A grav amp doesn't mean you have to reroll everything.



This. So dboy, you're wrong.


In the Grav-amp rules it does not say "re-roll failed to wound rolls" it's says "re-roll the result" so unless you can't point to somewhere in the rules were it says you re-roll failed to wound rolls then your wrong and you must re-roll all the dice you can't pick and choose
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre



california

The result of what? The wound. Unless you're saying the grav amp doesn't work at all since it just say a result but the result of what?

Rule 1 please, motyak

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/09/09 06:48:34


 
   
Made in us
Ultramarine Librarian with Freaky Familiar





Southern California, USA

Dman137 wrote:
Pain4Pleasure wrote:
 Vaktathi wrote:
Dman137 wrote:
Pain4Pleasure wrote:
Dman137 wrote:
Grav weapons don't re-roll failed to wound rolls. Grav-amps specifically say re-roll the result. That's means you have to reroll all the dice, successful and failed.


Whoever told you that eldar boy lied.


Know one told me its in the rules lol go look it up and show me where it says you re-roll failed to wound rolls
Each to-wound roll occurs in a single die, regardless of how many there are.

When the rulebook is talking about having to reroll everything, they're talking about things like Ld tests that are taken on mulutple dice (e.g. a 2d6 roll). A grav amp doesn't mean you have to reroll everything.



This. So dboy, you're wrong.


In the Grav-amp rules it does not say "re-roll failed to wound rolls" it's says "re-roll the result" so unless you can't point to somewhere in the rules were it says you re-roll failed to wound rolls then your wrong and you must re-roll all the dice you can't pick and choose


That assumes that the "result" refers to all the dice rolled and that "Rerolling the result" means you have to reroll all dice if you want to invoke the rule.

Thought for the day: Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment.
30k Ultramarines: 2000 pts
Bolt Action Germans: ~1200 pts
AOS Stormcast: Just starting.
The Empire : ~60-70 models.
1500 pts
: My Salamanders painting blog 16 Infantry and 2 Vehicles done so far!  
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre



california

 TheCustomLime wrote:
Dman137 wrote:
Pain4Pleasure wrote:
 Vaktathi wrote:
Dman137 wrote:
Pain4Pleasure wrote:
Dman137 wrote:
Grav weapons don't re-roll failed to wound rolls. Grav-amps specifically say re-roll the result. That's means you have to reroll all the dice, successful and failed.


Whoever told you that eldar boy lied.


Know one told me its in the rules lol go look it up and show me where it says you re-roll failed to wound rolls
Each to-wound roll occurs in a single die, regardless of how many there are.

When the rulebook is talking about having to reroll everything, they're talking about things like Ld tests that are taken on mulutple dice (e.g. a 2d6 roll). A grav amp doesn't mean you have to reroll everything.



This. So dboy, you're wrong.


In the Grav-amp rules it does not say "re-roll failed to wound rolls" it's says "re-roll the result" so unless you can't point to somewhere in the rules were it says you re-roll failed to wound rolls then your wrong and you must re-roll all the dice you can't pick and choose


That assumes that the "result" refers to all the dice rolled and that "Rerolling the result" means you have to reroll all dice if you want to invoke the rule.


If it doesn't help and benefit eldar, he doesn't like it and will argue. He is one of "those" players
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





Pain4Pleasure wrote:
The result of what? The wound. Unless you're saying the grav amp doesn't work at all since it just say a result but the result of what? Man, you're hard to teach. Almost isn't worth it with you.

EDIT: if I ever played you and you tried your little hardest to make me reroll all dice you're facial features would be altered in some form. Then I'd be up an army as well. Not saying how. Not threatening. These would just be the results of specific outcomes. Never disliked another member as much as you.
the result is both successful and failed when you roll dice the out come of the roll is the result. If you were suppose to re-roll only the fails then it would say so under the grav-amp rule.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Pain4Pleasure wrote:
 TheCustomLime wrote:
Dman137 wrote:
Pain4Pleasure wrote:
 Vaktathi wrote:
Dman137 wrote:
Pain4Pleasure wrote:
Dman137 wrote:
Grav weapons don't re-roll failed to wound rolls. Grav-amps specifically say re-roll the result. That's means you have to reroll all the dice, successful and failed.


Whoever told you that eldar boy lied.


Know one told me its in the rules lol go look it up and show me where it says you re-roll failed to wound rolls
Each to-wound roll occurs in a single die, regardless of how many there are.

When the rulebook is talking about having to reroll everything, they're talking about things like Ld tests that are taken on mulutple dice (e.g. a 2d6 roll). A grav amp doesn't mean you have to reroll everything.



This. So dboy, you're wrong.


In the Grav-amp rules it does not say "re-roll failed to wound rolls" it's says "re-roll the result" so unless you can't point to somewhere in the rules were it says you re-roll failed to wound rolls then your wrong and you must re-roll all the dice you can't pick and choose


That assumes that the "result" refers to all the dice rolled and that "Rerolling the result" means you have to reroll all dice if you want to invoke the rule.


If it doesn't help and benefit eldar, he doesn't like it and will argue. He is one of "those" players


Show me in the rules for grav-amps where it says re-roll failed wound rolls.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/09 01:58:50


 
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre



california

Dman137 wrote:
Pain4Pleasure wrote:
The result of what? The wound. Unless you're saying the grav amp doesn't work at all since it just say a result but the result of what? Man, you're hard to teach. Almost isn't worth it with you.

EDIT: if I ever played you and you tried your little hardest to make me reroll all dice you're facial features would be altered in some form. Then I'd be up an army as well. Not saying how. Not threatening. These would just be the results of specific outcomes. Never disliked another member as much as you.
the result is both successful and failed when you roll dice the out come of the roll is the result. If you were suppose to re-roll only the fails then it would say so under the grav-amp rule.


Do you not read what rules people are telling you exist? Please please, people are trying to help you. Honestly. You make it so hard when you blantly get rules so wrong. It is hard to read what you write and take you as a serious 40k player. I feel horrible for whom you play with

Edit: you said it says reroll the result. Each dice is a result. So choose which results you want to reroll. The dice as a whole are NOT a single result.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/09 02:01:07


 
   
Made in us
Ultramarine Librarian with Freaky Familiar





Southern California, USA

" the result is both successful and failed when you roll dice the out come of the roll is the result. If you were suppose to re-roll only the fails then it would say so under the grav-amp rule."

Where is that definition?


"Show me in the rules for grav-amps where it says re-roll failed wound rolls. "

Show me in the rules where you have to reroll all dice.

Thought for the day: Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment.
30k Ultramarines: 2000 pts
Bolt Action Germans: ~1200 pts
AOS Stormcast: Just starting.
The Empire : ~60-70 models.
1500 pts
: My Salamanders painting blog 16 Infantry and 2 Vehicles done so far!  
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





 TheCustomLime wrote:
" the result is both successful and failed when you roll dice the out come of the roll is the result. If you were suppose to re-roll only the fails then it would say so under the grav-amp rule."

Where is that definition?


"Show me in the rules for grav-amps where it says re-roll failed wound rolls. "

Show me in the rules where you have to reroll all dice.


Like I said if it don't say re-roll the failed then you have to re-roll all.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Pain4Pleasure wrote:
Dman137 wrote:
Pain4Pleasure wrote:
The result of what? The wound. Unless you're saying the grav amp doesn't work at all since it just say a result but the result of what? Man, you're hard to teach. Almost isn't worth it with you.

EDIT: if I ever played you and you tried your little hardest to make me reroll all dice you're facial features would be altered in some form. Then I'd be up an army as well. Not saying how. Not threatening. These would just be the results of specific outcomes. Never disliked another member as much as you.
the result is both successful and failed when you roll dice the out come of the roll is the result. If you were suppose to re-roll only the fails then it would say so under the grav-amp rule.


Do you not read what rules people are telling you exist? Please please, people are trying to help you. Honestly. You make it so hard when you blantly get rules so wrong. It is hard to read what you write and take you as a serious 40k player. I feel horrible for whom you play with

Edit: you said it says reroll the result. Each dice is a result. So choose which results you want to reroll. The dice as a whole are NOT a single result.
it says the result on the failed result.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/09 02:04:51


 
   
Made in us
Ultramarine Librarian with Freaky Familiar





Southern California, USA

Dman137 wrote:
 TheCustomLime wrote:
" the result is both successful and failed when you roll dice the out come of the roll is the result. If you were suppose to re-roll only the fails then it would say so under the grav-amp rule."

Where is that definition?


"Show me in the rules for grav-amps where it says re-roll failed wound rolls. "

Show me in the rules where you have to reroll all dice.


Like I said if it don't say re-roll the failed then you have to re-roll all.


It doesn't say you have to reroll all dice either and that condition is always specified.

On a side note, that rule also means you can reroll successful dice too if you wanted. Though I don't see why you would.

Thought for the day: Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment.
30k Ultramarines: 2000 pts
Bolt Action Germans: ~1200 pts
AOS Stormcast: Just starting.
The Empire : ~60-70 models.
1500 pts
: My Salamanders painting blog 16 Infantry and 2 Vehicles done so far!  
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre



california

The result is not a single entity! Wow... Can lead a horse to water.. can't make it drink. I'm walking out on trying to help your ignorant thoughts. You're hopeless
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





 TheCustomLime wrote:
Dman137 wrote:
 TheCustomLime wrote:
" the result is both successful and failed when you roll dice the out come of the roll is the result. If you were suppose to re-roll only the fails then it would say so under the grav-amp rule."

Where is that definition?


"Show me in the rules for grav-amps where it says re-roll failed wound rolls. "

Show me in the rules where you have to reroll all dice.


Like I said if it don't say re-roll the failed then you have to re-roll all.


It doesn't say you have to reroll all dice either and that condition is always specified.

On a side note, that rule also means you can reroll successful dice too if you wanted. Though I don't see why you would.


This is a prime example of GW not writing there dexs properly. Why not just put "re-roll failed to wound rolls".? But no they put "result" result is anything, anything you roll is a result, they don't even say failed result, it just says re-roll the result.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Pain4Pleasure wrote:
The result is not a single entity! Wow... Can lead a horse to water.. can't make it drink. I'm walking out on trying to help your ignorant thoughts. You're hopeless
quote a rule that says grav-amps let you re-roll failed to wound rolls.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/09 02:09:23


 
   
Made in us
Ultramarine Librarian with Freaky Familiar





Southern California, USA

And my interpretation is equally as valid. A single dice roll is as much of a "result" as all of the dice rolled. I agree it's a little vague but your interpretation relies on a lot more assumptions.

Thought for the day: Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment.
30k Ultramarines: 2000 pts
Bolt Action Germans: ~1200 pts
AOS Stormcast: Just starting.
The Empire : ~60-70 models.
1500 pts
: My Salamanders painting blog 16 Infantry and 2 Vehicles done so far!  
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre



california

 TheCustomLime wrote:
And my interpretation is equally as valid. A single dice roll is as much of a "result" as all of the dice rolled. I agree it's a little vague but your interpretation relies on a lot more assumptions.


And he will stick to it. You're talking to a wall... A not very sturdy wall you wouldn't wanna lean against. I commend your efforts.
   
Made in us
Imperial Guard Landspeeder Pilot




On moon miranda.

Dman137 wrote:
Pain4Pleasure wrote:
 Vaktathi wrote:
Dman137 wrote:
Pain4Pleasure wrote:
Dman137 wrote:
Grav weapons don't re-roll failed to wound rolls. Grav-amps specifically say re-roll the result. That's means you have to reroll all the dice, successful and failed.


Whoever told you that eldar boy lied.


Know one told me its in the rules lol go look it up and show me where it says you re-roll failed to wound rolls
Each to-wound roll occurs in a single die, regardless of how many there are.

When the rulebook is talking about having to reroll everything, they're talking about things like Ld tests that are taken on mulutple dice (e.g. a 2d6 roll). A grav amp doesn't mean you have to reroll everything.



This. So dboy, you're wrong.


In the Grav-amp rules it does not say "re-roll failed to wound rolls" it's says "re-roll the result" so unless you can't point to somewhere in the rules were it says you re-roll failed to wound rolls then your wrong and you must re-roll all the dice you can't pick and choose
Yes, it says you can reroll the result "when rolling to wound". Note that "result" is singular, and is not using the plural "results". Each "to-wound" roll has it's own result. I've never seen anyone interpret the Grav-amp the way you're proposing here.

EDIT: also, in every instance in the rulebook where the word "result" is used, it's in reference to the outcome of a single roll (even if with multiple dice, e.g. 2d6), not the collective outcomes of multiple different rolls.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/09/09 02:19:55


IRON WITHIN, IRON WITHOUT.

New Heavy Gear Log! Also...Grey Knights!
The correct pronunciation is Imperial Guard and Stormtroopers, "Astra Militarum" and "Tempestus Scions" are something you'll find at Hogwarts.  
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





 TheCustomLime wrote:
And my interpretation is equally as valid. A single dice roll is as much of a "result" as all of the dice rolled. I agree it's a little vague but your interpretation relies on a lot more assumptions.
I'm not saying your interpretation isent valid, I'm just saying why put in the rule saying "result" when they could have just put "failed to wound rolls" like it's that way for every other weapon thy re-rolls to wound.
   
Made in us
Locked in the Tower of Amareo




He's trolling you guys so hard. Just stick him on ignore.
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre



california

Martel732 wrote:
He's trolling you guys so hard. Just stick him on ignore.


Best advice in thread. Exalted
   
Made in us
Ultramarine Librarian with Freaky Familiar





Southern California, USA

Dman137 wrote:
 TheCustomLime wrote:
And my interpretation is equally as valid. A single dice roll is as much of a "result" as all of the dice rolled. I agree it's a little vague but your interpretation relies on a lot more assumptions.
I'm not saying your interpretation isent valid, I'm just saying why put in the rule saying "result" when they could have just put "failed to wound rolls" like it's that way for every other weapon thy re-rolls to wound.


Because the GW design studio doesn't play the same game as us despite using the same core rulebook. To them any vagueness of the rules can be quickly resolved by a friendly pre-game chat and that is good enough for $50+ rulebooks.

Thought for the day: Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment.
30k Ultramarines: 2000 pts
Bolt Action Germans: ~1200 pts
AOS Stormcast: Just starting.
The Empire : ~60-70 models.
1500 pts
: My Salamanders painting blog 16 Infantry and 2 Vehicles done so far!  
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





 TheCustomLime wrote:
Dman137 wrote:
 TheCustomLime wrote:
And my interpretation is equally as valid. A single dice roll is as much of a "result" as all of the dice rolled. I agree it's a little vague but your interpretation relies on a lot more assumptions.
I'm not saying your interpretation isent valid, I'm just saying why put in the rule saying "result" when they could have just put "failed to wound rolls" like it's that way for every other weapon thy re-rolls to wound.


Because the GW design studio doesn't play the same game as us despite using the same core rulebook. To them any vagueness of the rules can be quickly resolved by a friendly pre-game chat and that is good enough for $50+ rulebooks.
you'd think that when your paying 50$+ a rule book or codex and 50$ a box of dudes that they would take the time to write clear cut rules.
   
Made in ca
Journeyman Inquisitor with Visions of the Warp




Edited by Manchu

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/09 03:04:41


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






I run a Spawn rush list. Nothing makes me happier than seeing tons of Grav across the table from me.

Tier 1 is the new Tactical.

My IDF-Themed Guard Army P&M Blog:

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/30/355940.page 
   
Made in ca
Lethal Lhamean





somewhere in the webway

Grav didn't kill 40k. Allies shenanigans did. It tag team with challenges to pile drive 40k into the floor and smash it with a folding chair.

Melevolence wrote:

On a side note: Your profile pic both makes me smile and terrified

 Savageconvoy wrote:
.. Crap your profile picture is disturbing....




 
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight







Dman, shame on me for replying to you but here is the logic used in why you are wrong in your interpretation of Grav Amps.

- I roll one die at a time, if it fails I reroll the result.

That is why the way you interpret the sentence is wrong. I hate grav and I go by RAI for most things. But here it is pretty clear on how you play it.

 SHUPPET wrote:

wtf is this buddhist monk ascendant martial dice arts crap lol
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Not as Good as a Minion






Brisbane

Well I think we've got all we can out of this thread, including several warnings. Let's stop here before we have more

I wish I had time for all the game systems I own, let alone want to own... 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: