49616
Post by: grendel083
60550
Post by: Captain Antivas
Great new information. I like the changes, my Daemon friend is going to like shooting down flyers with his FMC.
7942
Post by: nkelsch
Not seeing it? which FAQ was updated?
49616
Post by: grendel083
All of them, from v1 to v1.1 including a new rulebook FAQ
60550
Post by: Captain Antivas
Rulebook. Its the first one on the list.
34258
Post by: Pilau Rice
Colour me a bit thick here, but units with infiltrate can now assault if the player goes second regardless of it being their first player turn
47462
Post by: rigeld2
Pilau Rice wrote:Colour me a bit thick here, but units with infiltrate can now assault if the player goes second regardless of it being their first player turn 
They already could - people just didn't understand that "turn" is player turn... so you were only restricted from assaulting the first player turn.
43621
Post by: sirlynchmob
weird when I pull up the page I'm not seeing the new FAQ's, I guess they just haven't updated the US site yet?
34258
Post by: Pilau Rice
rigeld2 wrote: Pilau Rice wrote:Colour me a bit thick here, but units with infiltrate can now assault if the player goes second regardless of it being their first player turn 
They already could - people just didn't understand that "turn" is player turn... so you were only restricted from assaulting the first player turn.
It's the whole player turn thing that confuzzled us, because even though you go second it is still your own first turn, which is how we played it. But I am glad they cleared it up.
53575
Post by: 40k-noob
Thanks goodness they cleaned up Look Out Sir!
Still reading through it but seems to make more sense now.
26767
Post by: Kevin949
sirlynchmob wrote:weird when I pull up the page I'm not seeing the new FAQ's, I guess they just haven't updated the US site yet?
I see them.
60550
Post by: Captain Antivas
I didn't notice they were all updated...I win so many debates now, since they took my side on so many issues.
4244
Post by: Pyrian
They weren't there a minute ago, but they are now.
26767
Post by: Kevin949
Man...of COURSE they screw the monolith even more...
58920
Post by: Neorealist
There is a lot of 'win' for the necrons in there though; they can now embark back on their nightscythes, for example. MSS got a small rules clarification/boost too. Over all a welcome update, even with the minor reduction in utility of whipcoils and the clarification that spyders and wraiths do not get extra attacks if they purchase their optional close combat weapon upgrades.
Edit: i don't see a single update to the monolith that wasn't present in the last FAQ, so how are they messing with it again?
50763
Post by: copper.talos
Those are good faqs. They answered a lot of issues.
4244
Post by: Pyrian
Direct contradiction in the main rulebook FAQ! The very first FAQ (not errata) entry directly contradicts the first entry on page 3.
EDIT: Jinking Monoliths was absurdly silly and I'm glad they errata'd that!
47462
Post by: rigeld2
FAQs can change rules. Deal with it?
4244
Post by: Pyrian
Are you talking to me? I'm not saying the FAQ contradicts the rulebook (I expect a certain amount of that), I'm saying the FAQ contradicts itself, giving two opposite answers to the same question (whether you can use auto-hit with snapfire).
47462
Post by: rigeld2
Pyrian wrote:Are you talking to me? I'm not saying the FAQ contradicts the rulebook (I expect a certain amount of that), I'm saying the FAQ contradicts itself, giving two opposite answers to the same question (whether you can use auto-hit with snapfire).
I misunderstood what you were referring to. Ignore that post. Sorry.
53575
Post by: 40k-noob
Ahh... Just another reason for me not to run it. : /
46128
Post by: Happyjew
So how many threads can we now close? At least Axe of Mortalis and Signum v Snap Shot (and Death Ray/Blood Lance v Snap Shot).
47462
Post by: rigeld2
MSS vs Force Weapons (if it ever gets asked again)
edit: also - FNP vs EW, Lash Whips vs Pile in...
58669
Post by: Grugknuckle
I'm really pleased with all of the changes in the Space Wolves FAQ. *Audible sigh*
Wolf Guard are only characters now when they are pack leaders! (Good)
Wolf Priests must now take their Crozius Arcanum as a Power Maul! (Good)
Saga of the Hunter now confers the Outflank USR! (Good)
You now have to pick one psychic defense (Runic Weapon 4+, Wolf Tail Talisman 5+ or Deny the Witch 6+). You can't use all three each time! (Good)
Still nothing about what a "Space Wolf Army" is though.
20774
Post by: pretre
Pyrian wrote:Are you talking to me? I'm not saying the FAQ contradicts the rulebook (I expect a certain amount of that), I'm saying the FAQ contradicts itself, giving two opposite answers to the same question (whether you can use auto-hit with snapfire).
Actually, it doesn't.
It says auto-hits can be used with snap fire (overwatch, move and shoot) but not with shooting against flyers (a specific kind of snap fire). This is perfectly clear.
38932
Post by: somerandomdude
Dark Eldar got some great boosts! Most notably, Incubi and the Huskblades are AP 2, and the Shadowseers work like the Eldar ones!
A couple bad things too, but nothing worth complaining about. All in all I'm very happy with this FAQ for the DE!
58669
Post by: Grugknuckle
Happyjew wrote:So how many threads can we now close? At least Axe of Mortalis and Signum v Snap Shot (and Death Ray/Blood Lance v Snap Shot). Also Outflanking Land Raider and Eternal Warrior vs. FNP. I think maybe flying monstrous creatures grounding too. Dante's Power weapon is now a master-crafted Power Axe. We can close that one too. Happily, we can also close out wound overflow from challenges! (Yay!)
4244
Post by: Pyrian
pretre wrote:It says auto-hits can be used with snap fire (overwatch, move and shoot) but not with shooting against flyers (a specific kind of snap fire).
It says you can't use auto-hits against flyers because they are snap-shots.
EDIT: Incubi are all AP2 now. Sweet. As are huskblades, giving them a better reason to exist.
20774
Post by: pretre
Yeah, you could spend the rest of the day putting in the last post on a lot of YMDC threads. Automatically Appended Next Post: Pyrian wrote: pretre wrote:It says auto-hits can be used with snap fire (overwatch, move and shoot) but not with shooting against flyers (a specific kind of snap fire).
It says you can't use auto-hits against flyers because they are snap-shots.
EDIT: Incubi are all AP2 now. Sweet.
Q: Does a weapon that hits automatically, still hit automatically when
making a Snap Shot? (p13)
A: Yes.
Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Gliding Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Gliding
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
novas.
Fair enough, I see your point. I still think that it is clear, however, that auto-hits can be used for other types of snapfire unless specifically excluded (templates and blast). The first question also doesn't allow autohits to be snap fired, it just says that if they have some method of auto hitting than they still do. This would include some powers that have specific overwatch exemptions (Wall of Death template attacks, etc).
46128
Post by: Happyjew
I think they dropped the ball with this one:
If a model makes a Pile In move which brings it into base contact with a model with a lash whip, does it then fight at its normal Initiative step or must it wait until the Initiative 1 step? (p83)
A: It fights at its normal Initiative 1 step.
20774
Post by: pretre
Yes, check the necron FAQ. They accidentally pasted Initiative 1 into the Tyranid version. Automatically Appended Next Post: The necron one is right.
61964
Post by: Fragile
Happyjew wrote:I think they dropped the ball with this one:
If a model makes a Pile In move which brings it into base contact with a model with a lash whip, does it then fight at its normal Initiative step or must it wait until the Initiative 1 step? (p83)
A: It fights at its normal Initiative 1 step.
It is also clarified in another spot in the Tyranid FAQ too.
20243
Post by: Grey Templar
Pretty cool.
Dreadknights are Str10 with rerolls to everything in melee if they have a Greatsword.
You can reembark into Night Scythes dispite them being a Zooming Flyer.
Not too happy about MSS activating Force Weapons. Thats just dumb.
24436
Post by: CrashCanuck
I'm glad that any unit embarked on a transport that must come in from reserves (Drop Pods or Flyers) do not count for reserve totals.
61964
Post by: Fragile
LOL, why couldnt they have done this on a Monday. I have a tournament tomorrow and have to read all these FAQ's tonight
24436
Post by: CrashCanuck
Print them and take them with you in case
20774
Post by: pretre
CrashCanuck wrote:I'm glad that any unit embarked on a transport that must come in from reserves (Drop Pods or Flyers) do not count for reserve totals.
As I predicted, this will become the new kroot blocking off a full reserve army though.
Flyer Guy: "I reserve all of my units on flyers."
Me: "Okay, turn 1 I move nothing. Your turn."
Flyer Guy: "Okay, I'm all in reserve so move nothing."
Me: "Okay, I win. You want to play another?"
26767
Post by: Kevin949
Well, the "nothing on the board at the end of the turn auto-lose" was always in there. I just think people didn't want to believe it. Automatically Appended Next Post: pretre wrote:Yeah, you could spend the rest of the day putting in the last post on a lot of YMDC threads.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Pyrian wrote: pretre wrote:It says auto-hits can be used with snap fire (overwatch, move and shoot) but not with shooting against flyers (a specific kind of snap fire).
It says you can't use auto-hits against flyers because they are snap-shots.
EDIT: Incubi are all AP2 now. Sweet.
Q: Does a weapon that hits automatically, still hit automatically when
making a Snap Shot? (p13)
A: Yes.
Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Gliding Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Gliding
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
novas.
Fair enough, I see your point. I still think that it is clear, however, that auto-hits can be used for other types of snapfire unless specifically excluded (templates and blast). The first question also doesn't allow autohits to be snap fired, it just says that if they have some method of auto hitting than they still do. This would include some powers that have specific overwatch exemptions (Wall of Death template attacks, etc).
So hey, does this mean I can skyfire the tesla destructor and snap fire the death ray at ground targets now?
20774
Post by: pretre
Do you have permission to shoot at two different targets? Automatically Appended Next Post: Kevin949 wrote:Well, the "nothing on the board at the end of the turn auto-lose" was always in there. I just think people didn't want to believe it.
Right, but now they made it very easy to do since people don't have to even put models on the board anymore.
21110
Post by: Lone Dragoon
Happyjew wrote:So how many threads can we now close? At least Axe of Mortalis and Signum v Snap Shot (and Death Ray/Blood Lance v Snap Shot).
We can add the MSS/challenges, Sweep attacks vs. flyers (though that wasn't one of the big ones), Skyfiring flyers in hover mode (now a no no like I thought), Battle brothers joined to IG squads receiving orders, Initiative reduction timing (whip coils) only being when in contact at the start of the fight subphase, The death ray which you mentioned (plus that it cannot even hit if it has skyfire, doesn't make that distinction just that it cannot hit flyers), Tau target locks are back, and MSS CAN use the force special rule to the list.
26767
Post by: Kevin949
pretre wrote:Do you have permission to shoot at two different targets?
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Kevin949 wrote:Well, the "nothing on the board at the end of the turn auto-lose" was always in there. I just think people didn't want to believe it.
Right, but now they made it very easy to do since people don't have to even put models on the board anymore.
Oh right, forgot about that bit for the doom scythe. Oh well.
61964
Post by: Fragile
Kevin949 wrote:Well, the "nothing on the board at the end of the turn auto-lose" was always in there. I just think people didn't want to believe it.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
pretre wrote:Yeah, you could spend the rest of the day putting in the last post on a lot of YMDC threads.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Pyrian wrote: pretre wrote:It says auto-hits can be used with snap fire (overwatch, move and shoot) but not with shooting against flyers (a specific kind of snap fire).
It says you can't use auto-hits against flyers because they are snap-shots.
EDIT: Incubi are all AP2 now. Sweet.
Q: Does a weapon that hits automatically, still hit automatically when
making a Snap Shot? (p13)
A: Yes.
Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Gliding Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Gliding
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
novas.
Fair enough, I see your point. I still think that it is clear, however, that auto-hits can be used for other types of snapfire unless specifically excluded (templates and blast). The first question also doesn't allow autohits to be snap fired, it just says that if they have some method of auto hitting than they still do. This would include some powers that have specific overwatch exemptions (Wall of Death template attacks, etc).
So hey, does this mean I can skyfire the tesla destructor and snap fire the death ray at ground targets now?
No since you have to fire the Tesla at one of the Targets hit by the Death ray
26767
Post by: Kevin949
Fragile wrote:
No since you have to fire the Tesla at one of the Targets hit by the Death ray
Yup...so I'll save my 75 points if I want an answer to flyers and just take a night scythe. *Sigh*
58920
Post by: Neorealist
Grey Templar wrote:Not too happy about MSS activating Force Weapons. Thats just dumb. 
I suspect they update FAQs for more than a single player, as it were. I for one am quite happy they clarified it, and further so in accordance with my beliefs on how it worked from the beginning.
49272
Post by: Testify
Looks like Hunting Lances got cleared up.
Oh, and Russes are now "Heavy". Now that is interesting.
58920
Post by: Neorealist
Ever wonder if there is a GW employee who just lurks the YMDC forum in order to figure out what they should FAQ or not?
37399
Post by: Stoff3
Kevin949 wrote:Fragile wrote:
No since you have to fire the Tesla at one of the Targets hit by the Death ray
Yup...so I'll save my 75 points if I want an answer to flyers and just take a night scythe. *Sigh*
What is it to sigh about? The Doom Scythe would be utterly broken, imbalanced, overpowered and so on if it would work as you wanted it to. This is good for the game, since Necrons are as broken as they are atm.
50763
Post by: copper.talos
And now units can assault in their turn after having their assault vehicle-transport destroyed in the opponents turn. Another case where the rulebook said clearly one thing, but the author meant another...
21110
Post by: Lone Dragoon
Ohh another one, there will be no more squads of Paladin, Nob, Wolf guard characters running around making use of Look out Sir to be a juggernaut unit.
60660
Post by: masquerade81
Lone Dragoon wrote:Ohh another one, there will be no more squads of Paladin, Nob, Wolf guard characters running around making use of Look out Sir to be a juggernaut unit.
Our gaming group allready "house ruled" this as it has been FAQd... nice
49272
Post by: Testify
Neorealist wrote:Ever wonder if there is a GW employee who just lurks the YMDC forum in order to figure out what they should FAQ or not?
Probably. GW are a lot more aware of rules log-jams than they used to be. "The community" has a habit of taking tiny problems and deciding they're game-breaking, then blaming GW for not fixing them.
24207
Post by: jbunny
They did a good job of addressing questions, I just don't like how they answered some of them.
50763
Post by: copper.talos
The point is we now have answers for almost all the questions that came up since 6th.
5841
Post by: Bylak
A little upset that they didn't clarify the Night Scythe Str10 hit on death question >.<
58920
Post by: Neorealist
it's in the main FAQ; basically they updated the 'Jink' special rule to not include vehicles with the type 'Heavy' even if they are skimmers.
5841
Post by: Bylak
Damn my edit was too slow, I saw it right after I poseted! Oh well, ty for the clarification regardless =)
24207
Post by: jbunny
One I did not see is "What is considered Unique?"
26767
Post by: Kevin949
Stoff3 wrote: Kevin949 wrote:Fragile wrote:
No since you have to fire the Tesla at one of the Targets hit by the Death ray
Yup...so I'll save my 75 points if I want an answer to flyers and just take a night scythe. *Sigh*
What is it to sigh about? The Doom Scythe would be utterly broken, imbalanced, overpowered and so on if it would work as you wanted it to. This is good for the game, since Necrons are as broken as they are atm.
Apparently you haven't fought a storm eagle/raven with their many guns and killy goodness. So you're saying that necrons having two vehicles with the EXACT SAME GUN being the only answer to flyers is "fine"? And having ONE weapon that is str 10 ap 1 would make them OP when IoM flyers have access to similar weapons that are twin linked or can be PotMS fired and have like 2 or 3 other weapons to fire as well is fine? Ugh, that's why I'm sighing.
47462
Post by: rigeld2
...
It'll say so in your Army List.
I'm not sure how that's even a question. Automatically Appended Next Post: Kevin949 wrote: Stoff3 wrote: Kevin949 wrote:Fragile wrote:
No since you have to fire the Tesla at one of the Targets hit by the Death ray
Yup...so I'll save my 75 points if I want an answer to flyers and just take a night scythe. *Sigh*
What is it to sigh about? The Doom Scythe would be utterly broken, imbalanced, overpowered and so on if it would work as you wanted it to. This is good for the game, since Necrons are as broken as they are atm.
Apparently you haven't fought a storm eagle/raven with their many guns and killy goodness. So you're saying that necrons having two vehicles with the EXACT SAME GUN being the only answer to flyers is "fine"? And having ONE weapon that is str 10 ap 1 would make them OP when IoM flyers have access to similar weapons that are twin linked or can be PotMS fired and have like 2 or 3 other weapons to fire as well is fine? Ugh, that's why I'm sighing.
And they even cost the same!
Oh, wait...
46128
Post by: Happyjew
I'm happy/sad they shut down the eldar psychic defense. One of my buddies runs 2 Farseer with both Runes. trying to pass a leadership on 4D6 was just hurting my Nids...
60660
Post by: masquerade81
They clarified the axe mortalis and Glaives in the BA FAQ to be power weapons with mastercrafted, so axe is an axe, sword is a sword etc. But still they could have clarified this in the BRB FAQ also.
21110
Post by: Lone Dragoon
That just means we're back to using the old standby that seems to be lacking in a lot of 40k players, common sense.
26767
Post by: Kevin949
rigeld2 wrote:
...
It'll say so in your Army List.
I'm not sure how that's even a question.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Kevin949 wrote: Stoff3 wrote: Kevin949 wrote:Fragile wrote:
No since you have to fire the Tesla at one of the Targets hit by the Death ray
Yup...so I'll save my 75 points if I want an answer to flyers and just take a night scythe. *Sigh*
What is it to sigh about? The Doom Scythe would be utterly broken, imbalanced, overpowered and so on if it would work as you wanted it to. This is good for the game, since Necrons are as broken as they are atm.
Apparently you haven't fought a storm eagle/raven with their many guns and killy goodness. So you're saying that necrons having two vehicles with the EXACT SAME GUN being the only answer to flyers is "fine"? And having ONE weapon that is str 10 ap 1 would make them OP when IoM flyers have access to similar weapons that are twin linked or can be PotMS fired and have like 2 or 3 other weapons to fire as well is fine? Ugh, that's why I'm sighing.
And they even cost the same!
Oh, wait...
I know they cost more but as I said, they have MUCH more to offer as well, as well as higher armor. I'm just making a point that allowing that one weapon to hit flyers would not have broken the game or made the doom scythe super-duper-killy-awesome-most-best-unit-ever. It's just a bummer that our only other option to take out flyers is no longer an option and you KNOW that IoM is going to get flakk missiles up the wazoo soon and necrons won't get jack for taking out flyers (outside of what is available to EVERYONE). But we'll see, I know they're working on coming out with army specific fortifications and the like, so we'll see.
4244
Post by: Pyrian
Neorealist wrote:Ever wonder if there is a GW employee who just lurks the YMDC forum in order to figure out what they should FAQ or not?
I hope so, but I have to wonder. No answer to the scattering blasts issue? That one is pretty big, IMO.
41478
Post by: Gloomfang
No manually firing weapon emplacements OR emplaced weapons for Nids anymore. That stings a LOT.
They gave FMC skyfire. Need to reread the flyer rules to make sure that makes any diffrence as the Harpy only has blast weapons.
And after all my debates, Broodlord's can't fire ANY Witchfire powers. (Need to read the Orc FAQ to see what happens to Old Zogwart.)
Looks like I am batting 50% on rules I was debating.
21110
Post by: Lone Dragoon
Pyrian wrote:Neorealist wrote:Ever wonder if there is a GW employee who just lurks the YMDC forum in order to figure out what they should FAQ or not?
I hope so, but I have to wonder. No answer to the scattering blasts issue? That one is pretty big, IMO.
Actually it's not that hard to use one of the rulings in the FAQ for this one. We can use the one about non-scattering blast markers, they have permission to allocate out of line of sight. The one caveat that is in there about the target being in line of sight will not apply to scatter, as the whole question was about non-scattering. That means that if we scatter out of LoS blast markers can allocate wounds.
26767
Post by: Kevin949
Gloomfang wrote:No manually firing weapon emplacements OR emplaced weapons for Nids anymore. That stings a LOT.
They gave FMC skyfire. Need to reread the flyer rules to make sure that makes any diffrence as the Harpy only has blast weapons.
And after all my debates, Broodlord's can't fire ANY Witchfire powers. (Need to read the Orc FAQ to see what happens to Old Zogwart.)
Looks like I am batting 50% on rules I was debating.
They can vector strike flyers, so not sure if that matters for the Harpy. Blast still wouldn't hit flyers.
41478
Post by: Gloomfang
Kevin949 wrote:
They can vector strike flyers, so not sure if that matters for the Harpy. Blast still wouldn't hit flyers.
They are S5 with that Vector Strike so they can't hurt AV12. Not to worried about the AV10 or AV11 flyers.
I need to reread the Flyer rules for why blasts don't work though if they are not Snap Shots.
31765
Post by: eldartau1987
Grey Templar wrote:Pretty cool.
Dreadknights are Str10 with rerolls to everything in melee if they have a Greatsword.
You can reembark into Night Scythes dispite them being a Zooming Flyer.
Not too happy about MSS activating Force Weapons. Thats just dumb. 
I was excited about the Str 10 attacks
55709
Post by: 60mm
Blasts don't hit flyers, with or without Skyfire. Tyranids still have no AA. Only a Tyrant with TL Devourers has a chance of damage and he needs to be within 18" of a zooming flyer. That'll be easy. . .
And am I seriously hearing whining about Necron flyers lacking in anyway? LMAO! Take a look at Harpies and realize how insanely good Necron flyers are. They don't take str9 hits from markerlights either.
21110
Post by: Lone Dragoon
Neorealist wrote:Ever wonder if there is a GW employee who just lurks the YMDC forum in order to figure out what they should FAQ or not?
There's no magical secret as to why the questions that are brought out in YMDC are the ones that tend to make it into the FAQ. I'd guess that yakface is still sending them questions that seem to be bringing up big discussions on YMDC like he used to. Don't believe that he used to, check out the thanks on the old necron FAQ. http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1180146_Necrons_FAQ_2004-08_5th_Edition.pdf
40878
Post by: Meade
Yay! CSM flying daemon princes for all! With skyfire! Chaos rejoices
5394
Post by: reds8n
Neorealist wrote:Ever wonder if there is a GW employee who just lurks the YMDC forum in order to figure out what they should FAQ or not?
They do glance at the various rules boards on several fora every now and again.
At the open day I gave them a list of what the DCMs reckoned were the top 10 or so most irksome queries, and they are, as far as I've seen so far, all answered in these FAQs as they were on the day.
oh, upon reflection I believe the effects of stunned/shaken on disembarked passengers was a different answer that was given on the day.
46128
Post by: Happyjew
Gloomfang wrote: Kevin949 wrote:
They can vector strike flyers, so not sure if that matters for the Harpy. Blast still wouldn't hit flyers.
They are S5 with that Vector Strike so they can't hurt AV12. Not to worried about the AV10 or AV11 flyers.
I need to reread the Flyer rules for why blasts don't work though if they are not Snap Shots.
Blasts and templates are specifically mentioned to not be able to hit zooming flyers.
58669
Post by: Grugknuckle
pretre wrote: CrashCanuck wrote:I'm glad that any unit embarked on a transport that must come in from reserves (Drop Pods or Flyers) do not count for reserve totals.
As I predicted, this will become the new kroot blocking off a full reserve army though.
Flyer Guy: "I reserve all of my units on flyers."
Me: "Okay, turn 1 I move nothing. Your turn."
Flyer Guy: "Okay, I'm all in reserve so move nothing."
Me: "Okay, I win. You want to play another?"
I love it.
26767
Post by: Kevin949
Gloomfang wrote: Kevin949 wrote:
They can vector strike flyers, so not sure if that matters for the Harpy. Blast still wouldn't hit flyers.
They are S5 with that Vector Strike so they can't hurt AV12. Not to worried about the AV10 or AV11 flyers.
I need to reread the Flyer rules for why blasts don't work though if they are not Snap Shots.
Because blasts can never hit flyers and blast weapons can't be fired as a snap shot.
"Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them"
20774
Post by: pretre
They have an official FAQ e-mail now.
58669
Post by: Grugknuckle
copper.talos wrote:And now units can assault in their turn after having their assault vehicle-transport destroyed in the opponents turn. Another case where the rulebook said clearly one thing, but the author meant another...
Which FAQ is this in?
55956
Post by: Lt.Soundwave
...in the Tau faq does it look like we just got target locks back again?
50763
Post by: copper.talos
What is it?
58669
Post by: Grugknuckle
And it only took them 25 years!
50763
Post by: copper.talos
Can someone post that email address?
edit: @Grugknuckle
Q: If a unit disembarks from a destroyed vehicle during the enemy
turn, can it Charge in the Assault phase of its own turn? (p80)
A: No, unless the vehicle in question was an Assault Vehicle.
4244
Post by: Pyrian
What's the reasoning on Dreadknight swords getting S10?
60660
Post by: masquerade81
60mm wrote:Blasts don't hit flyers, with or without Skyfire. Tyranids still have no AA. Only a Tyrant with TL Devourers has a chance of damage and he needs to be within 18" of a zooming flyer. That'll be easy. . .
And am I seriously hearing whining about Necron flyers lacking in anyway? LMAO! Take a look at Harpies and realize how insanely good Necron flyers are. They don't take str9 hits from markerlights either.
Broodlord spam with telekinesis power 3 Objuration Mechanicum is all the AA the tyranids need... sick!
41478
Post by: Gloomfang
masquerade81 wrote:Broodlord spam with telekinesis power 3 Objuration Mechanicum is all the AA the tyranids need... sick!
That just became a BIG risk. I used to do that all the time. Now with the Assial, Shockwave and Crush not being able to be used it is a risk. 2 in 5 chance you get powers that the Broodlord can't use and you are stuck with them. Should only happen 1 in 25 times.
Still think that OM and TK Dome are probably worth the risk. And there is still Gate.
And now that the question of stealers being able to assult if you go second has been diffinitvly answered there should be less fights about that as well.
55709
Post by: 60mm
masquerade81 wrote: 60mm wrote:Blasts don't hit flyers, with or without Skyfire. Tyranids still have no AA. Only a Tyrant with TL Devourers has a chance of damage and he needs to be within 18" of a zooming flyer. That'll be easy. . .
And am I seriously hearing whining about Necron flyers lacking in anyway? LMAO! Take a look at Harpies and realize how insanely good Necron flyers are. They don't take str9 hits from markerlights either.
Broodlord spam with telekinesis power 3 Objuration Mechanicum is all the AA the tyranids need... sick!
Having to spam multiple expensive units and cross your fingers on a psychic table that is half unusable by said units to get mediocre chance at AA. Not sick. Sad.
57039
Post by: Great Deceiver
No Flakk missiles for Imperial players. I'm happy with the Necron FAQ updates. Shame about the Death Ray not being able to hit zoomers and swoopers, but not care. Tesla Destructors
33735
Post by: White Ninja
Kevin949 wrote:rigeld2 wrote:
...
It'll say so in your Army List.
I'm not sure how that's even a question.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Kevin949 wrote: Stoff3 wrote: Kevin949 wrote:Fragile wrote:
No since you have to fire the Tesla at one of the Targets hit by the Death ray
Yup...so I'll save my 75 points if I want an answer to flyers and just take a night scythe. *Sigh*
What is it to sigh about? The Doom Scythe would be utterly broken, imbalanced, overpowered and so on if it would work as you wanted it to. This is good for the game, since Necrons are as broken as they are atm.
Apparently you haven't fought a storm eagle/raven with their many guns and killy goodness. So you're saying that necrons having two vehicles with the EXACT SAME GUN being the only answer to flyers is "fine"? And having ONE weapon that is str 10 ap 1 would make them OP when IoM flyers have access to similar weapons that are twin linked or can be PotMS fired and have like 2 or 3 other weapons to fire as well is fine? Ugh, that's why I'm sighing.
And they even cost the same!
Oh, wait...
I know they cost more but as I said, they have MUCH more to offer as well, as well as higher armor. I'm just making a point that allowing that one weapon to hit flyers would not have broken the game or made the doom scythe super-duper-killy-awesome-most-best-unit-ever. It's just a bummer that our only other option to take out flyers is no longer an option and you KNOW that IoM is going to get flakk missiles up the wazoo soon and necrons won't get jack for taking out flyers (outside of what is available to EVERYONE). But we'll see, I know they're working on coming out with army specific fortifications and the like, so we'll see.
All necrons need is to snap fire twinlinked Tesla destructors. Oh look I role one six that's three hits with a strength 7 weapon. Good help them If you actually score two hits.
26672
Post by: Sephyr
Ups and downs doe Dark Eldar. Goos that Klaives and Huskblades are AP 2 now. Ultra-lame that they don't count as Eldar for receiving Guide. Ho-hum that Vect's weapon remains AP3.
I was expecting their flyers to get Vector Dancer, though. They are still rather overcosted.
26767
Post by: Kevin949
White Ninja wrote: All necrons need is to snap fire twinlinked Tesla destructors. Oh look I role one six that's three hits with a strength 7 weapon. Good help them If you actually score two hits.
Sorry, most of the flyers I go up against are AV 12 so I don't have such a great outlook on the T. Destructor. Don't get me wrong, it's performed very well for what it is, but it's annoying that it's our only option when SM can get TL-LasCannons for their anti-air.
Also they wouldn't be snap fired due to skyfire.
47462
Post by: rigeld2
Kevin949 wrote: White Ninja wrote: All necrons need is to snap fire twinlinked Tesla destructors. Oh look I role one six that's three hits with a strength 7 weapon. Good help them If you actually score two hits.
Sorry, most of the flyers I go up against are AV 12 so I don't have such a great outlook on the T. Destructor. Don't get me wrong, it's performed very well for what it is, but it's annoying that it's our only option when SM can get TL-LasCannons for their anti-air.
4 dice TL, every hit generating 3 total, glancing or better 1/3 of the time, with a 24" range. Yeah, that's much worse than a single TL STR9 shot.
9808
Post by: HoverBoy
Lol wut
Tyranid FAQ wrote:Q: If a model makes a Pile In move which brings it into base contact
with a model with a lash whip, does it then fight at its normal
Initiative step or must it wait until the Initiative 1 step? (p83)
A: It fights at its normal Initiative 1 step.
Necron FAQ wrote:Q: If a model makes a Pile In move which brings it into base contact
with a Canoptek Wraith with whip coils, does it then fight at its
normal Initiative step or must it wait until the Initiative 1 step? (p44)
A: It fights at its normal Initiative.
47462
Post by: rigeld2
HoverBoy wrote:Lol wut
Tyranid FAQ wrote:Q: If a model makes a Pile In move which brings it into base contact
with a model with a lash whip, does it then fight at its normal
Initiative step or must it wait until the Initiative 1 step? (p83)
A: It fights at its normal Initiative 1 step.
Necron FAQ wrote:Q: If a model makes a Pile In move which brings it into base contact
with a Canoptek Wraith with whip coils, does it then fight at its
normal Initiative step or must it wait until the Initiative 1 step? (p44)
A: It fights at its normal Initiative.
Typo, obviously. Remove the number 1 from the first answer and the sentence makes sense. Leave it there and the sentence doesn't make sense.
It's also consistent with Whip Coils if you remove the number one. Which, by the way the FAQs are worded, is exactly what they're going for.
26767
Post by: Kevin949
rigeld2 wrote: Kevin949 wrote: White Ninja wrote: All necrons need is to snap fire twinlinked Tesla destructors. Oh look I role one six that's three hits with a strength 7 weapon. Good help them If you actually score two hits.
Sorry, most of the flyers I go up against are AV 12 so I don't have such a great outlook on the T. Destructor. Don't get me wrong, it's performed very well for what it is, but it's annoying that it's our only option when SM can get TL-LasCannons for their anti-air.
4 dice TL, every hit generating 3 total, glancing or better 1/3 of the time, with a 24" range. Yeah, that's much worse than a single TL STR9 shot.
No, every 6 to hit generates two extra hits.
47462
Post by: rigeld2
Kevin949 wrote:rigeld2 wrote: Kevin949 wrote: White Ninja wrote: All necrons need is to snap fire twinlinked Tesla destructors. Oh look I role one six that's three hits with a strength 7 weapon. Good help them If you actually score two hits.
Sorry, most of the flyers I go up against are AV 12 so I don't have such a great outlook on the T. Destructor. Don't get me wrong, it's performed very well for what it is, but it's annoying that it's our only option when SM can get TL-LasCannons for their anti-air.
4 dice TL, every hit generating 3 total, glancing or better 1/3 of the time, with a 24" range. Yeah, that's much worse than a single TL STR9 shot.
No, every 6 to hit generates two extra hits.
Right. 1 + 2 extra == 3 total. The statement was about snap firing TL Destructors, which hit on a 6.
On average, every TL Destructor snap shot will glance or better at least once against a Stormraven - unless he Evades which means he's snap shotting against you next turn. I'd say that's a fair trade off.
26767
Post by: Kevin949
rigeld2 wrote: Kevin949 wrote:rigeld2 wrote: Kevin949 wrote: White Ninja wrote: All necrons need is to snap fire twinlinked Tesla destructors. Oh look I role one six that's three hits with a strength 7 weapon. Good help them If you actually score two hits.
Sorry, most of the flyers I go up against are AV 12 so I don't have such a great outlook on the T. Destructor. Don't get me wrong, it's performed very well for what it is, but it's annoying that it's our only option when SM can get TL-LasCannons for their anti-air.
4 dice TL, every hit generating 3 total, glancing or better 1/3 of the time, with a 24" range. Yeah, that's much worse than a single TL STR9 shot.
No, every 6 to hit generates two extra hits.
Right. 1 + 2 extra == 3 total. The statement was about snap firing TL Destructors, which hit on a 6.
On average, every TL Destructor snap shot will glance or better at least once against a Stormraven - unless he Evades which means he's snap shotting against you next turn. I'd say that's a fair trade off.
Ok, but you don't have to snap fire it with skyfire.
47462
Post by: rigeld2
Sure. Which means even more hits. What - on average 5 or 6 STR7 hits? So 2-3 glancing/pen hits?
20243
Post by: Grey Templar
Pyrian wrote:What's the reasoning on Dreadknight swords getting S10?
Dreadknight has a DCCW(Strx2)
The Greatsword say "The bearer of the sword gains rerolls..."
Bearer =/= using in melee.
Therefore, the Dreadknight uses its DCCW in melee and the Sword's benifit applies to its attacks. And neither are specilist weapons so they give +1A to each other.
3560
Post by: Phazael
I hope people like the cylon death fleet, because they pretty much killed my melecrons outright by making lichguard phase swords ap3. In fact I would be shocked to ever see a Cron list that did not spam fliers and wraiths from this point forward.
Also, gratz on Banshees continuing to collect dust on shelves for the third edition in a row, as even the squad leaders cannot take an AP2 weapon. The Storm Guardians and Swooping Hawks need the company.
So much Xenos hate in those faqs.....
20774
Post by: pretre
Banshee Exarch can take Mirror Swords which ignore armor saves.
47547
Post by: CthuluIsSpy
Phazael wrote:I hope people like the cylon death fleet, because they pretty much killed my melecrons outright by making lichguard phase swords ap3. In fact I would be shocked to ever see a Cron list that did not spam fliers and wraiths from this point forward.
Also, gratz on Banshees continuing to collect dust on shelves for the third edition in a row, as even the squad leaders cannot take an AP2 weapon. The Storm Guardians and Swooping Hawks need the company.
So much Xenos hate in those faqs.....
Just put a warscythe lord with the lychguard. That should solve it.
16876
Post by: BlueDagger
pretre wrote:Banshee Exarch can take Mirror Swords which ignore armor saves.
lol Good luck killing that 2+ armor with only a S3 Exarch and a bunch of wet noodles.
Phazael wrote: Also, gratz on Banshees continuing to collect dust on shelves for the third edition in a row, as even the squad leaders cannot take an AP2 weapon. The Storm Guardians and Swooping Hawks need the company.
Hawk, while still not worth their cost, have a lot of benefits now.
20774
Post by: pretre
BlueDagger wrote: pretre wrote:Banshee Exarch can take Mirror Swords which ignore armor saves.
lol Good luck killing that 2+ armor with only a S3 Exarch and a bunch of wet noodles.
Mirror Swords - 5 attacks, hitting on 3's, wounding on 5's. (10/3 hit, 10/9 wound, 10/9 dead Termies)
Power Axe - 4 attacks, hitting on 3's, wounding on 4's (8/3 hit, 8/6 wound, 8/6 dead termies)
So common terms, that's 20/18 with MS and 24/18 with Axe. MS hit at Init 10 and the difference is .222 dead termies.
46128
Post by: Happyjew
Except the exarch cannot have a power axe, only a power sword. The old models with power axes hav been determined to be modeled with Executioners.
9808
Post by: HoverBoy
It's not really xeno hate its Eldar hate, i mean we saw the target locks return and i won't even comment on disruption pods... And then there's the Impaler cannon and yamgarls as well.
20774
Post by: pretre
Happyjew wrote:Except the exarch cannot have a power axe, only a power sword. The old models with power axes hav been determined to be modeled with Executioners.
Right, I was responding to the fact that he said the removal of a power axe option, and the 'lack of an AP2 option on the squad leader' was a huge nerf compared to being able to take mirror swords. Both of his statements were incorrect. Automatically Appended Next Post: HoverBoy wrote:It's not really xeno hate its Eldar hate, i mean we saw the target locks return and i won't even comment on disruption pods...
And then there's the Impaler cannon and yamgarls as well.
Ymgarls already had a specific exception. Eldar really did not get nerfed.
16876
Post by: BlueDagger
pretre wrote: BlueDagger wrote: pretre wrote:Banshee Exarch can take Mirror Swords which ignore armor saves.
lol Good luck killing that 2+ armor with only a S3 Exarch and a bunch of wet noodles.
Mirror Swords - 5 attacks, hitting on 3's, wounding on 5's. (10/3 hit, 10/9 wound, 10/9 dead Termies)
Power Axe - 4 attacks, hitting on 3's, wounding on 4's (8/3 hit, 8/6 wound, 8/6 dead termies)
So common terms, that's 20/18 with MS and 24/18 with Axe. MS hit at Init 10 and the difference is .222 dead termies.
Lol I think you kinda miss the point there. Yes, you have one model that can kill 1-2 terminators banking that fail their invul. However the rest of the squad won't be doing squat. Even Banshees vs MEQs now have to footslog to their target, which makes them completely unworth it. Take doom, take a nightspinner, and enjoy better odds with 300x the range.
20774
Post by: pretre
Right, but that didn't change in the FAQ. They were immobile before the FAQ and after it.
46128
Post by: Happyjew
I agree with Hoverboy. All my vehicles now have the Jink special rule, and Swooping Hawks hit vehicles (except Walkers) automatically regardless of how far the moved? Oh noes!1! I also can't believe they only gave the Fire Axe +1 Str and the Smash special rule. [/sarcasm]
20774
Post by: pretre
Also, rest of the squad is 3 attacks, 6/3 hit, 6/9 wound, 6/54 dead. So on average, one dead termy from the rest of them. lol Poor banshees.
55709
Post by: 60mm
Definitely some Nid hate to go with the Eldar hate. I guess it's classic xenos hate, gotta be a new kid to get some love.
46128
Post by: Happyjew
pretre wrote:Also, rest of the squad is 3 attacks, 6/3 hit, 6/9 wound, 6/54 dead. So on average, one dead termy from the rest of them. lol Poor banshees.
This is probably why Terminators are 24 points more.
16876
Post by: BlueDagger
Yeah..... about that... jsut to name a few
- Star engines got a big nerf, they give +6 inches to flat out. For that many points? no thanks
- No more 2D6 on veil. We knew it was coming, but still a massive nerf.
- Runes of Wardning no longer stacks
- Vibro Cannon can't hit fliers
- Destructors can't overwatch
20774
Post by: pretre
Happyjew wrote: pretre wrote:Also, rest of the squad is 3 attacks, 6/3 hit, 6/9 wound, 6/54 dead. So on average, one dead termy from the rest of them. lol Poor banshees.
This is probably why Terminators are 24 points more.
Woah woah woah. Are you trying to use logic on me? That is un...callled...for.
Automatically Appended Next Post: BlueDagger wrote:
Yeah..... about that... jsut to name a few
- Star engines got a big nerf, they give +6 inches to flat out. For that many points? no thanks
- No more 2D6 on veil. We knew it was coming, but still a massive nerf.
- Runes of Wardning no longer stacks
- Vibro Cannon can't hit fliers
- Destructors can't overwatch
Did anyone expect the RoW stacking and Veil thing to last? It was silly that people were playing it that way. Vibro cannon couldn't hit flyers before, imo.
The one I will agree to is Destructor.
Star engines may be poorly costed, but that has nothing to do with this faq update.
59251
Post by: Dozer Blades
I find it hilarious that many of the heavily entrenched claims made here by our resident rules lawyers have been swept away. It is a glorious moment for all who fairly play!
16876
Post by: BlueDagger
pretre wrote:Happyjew wrote: pretre wrote:Also, rest of the squad is 3 attacks, 6/3 hit, 6/9 wound, 6/54 dead. So on average, one dead termy from the rest of them. lol Poor banshees.
This is probably why Terminators are 24 points more.
Woah woah woah. Are you trying to use logic on me? That is un...callled...for.
24pts more for something with a 5+ invul, 2+ armor, +1s, +1t, +1a, ATSKNF, Combat Tactics, and has power weapons that reroll or S8 w/ 3+ invul.
It's not like are odds were all that great with power weapons ignoring armor either.
47462
Post by: rigeld2
Dozer Blades wrote:I find it hilarious that many of the heavily entrenched claims made here by our resident rules lawyers have been swept away. It is a glorious moment for all who fairly play! 
Care to point out some?
20774
Post by: pretre
Dozer Blades wrote:I find it hilarious that many of the heavily entrenched claims made here by our resident rules lawyers have been swept away. It is a glorious moment for all who fairly play! 
This is just a silly assertion. Just because someone plays by the rules doesn't make them someone who doesn't play fair. As well, many of the decision in the FAQs are not RAW according to the original rules. That's why they needed to be FAQ'd.
46128
Post by: Happyjew
rigeld2 wrote: Dozer Blades wrote:I find it hilarious that many of the heavily entrenched claims made here by our resident rules lawyers have been swept away. It is a glorious moment for all who fairly play! 
Care to point out some? MSS v Force weapons to name one.
47462
Post by: rigeld2
Happyjew wrote:rigeld2 wrote: Dozer Blades wrote:I find it hilarious that many of the heavily entrenched claims made here by our resident rules lawyers have been swept away. It is a glorious moment for all who fairly play! 
Care to point out some?
MSS v Force weapons to name one.
I was asking because his statement was mildly insulting, but pretre had a better response so ... yeah.
53575
Post by: 40k-noob
I am curious about something:
BRB FAQv1 wrote:Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Gliding Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Gliding
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
novas.
Does this answer override the skyfire rule? This Answer says that ONLY snapshots can hit Zooming Flyers or Swooping MCs.
While the Hard To Hit SR specifically gives an exception to models or weapons with Skyfire.
I guess what I am asking is is Skyfire now useless because of this answer?
20774
Post by: pretre
No:
Hard to Hit:
Shots resolved at such a target can
only be resolved as Snap Shots unless
the model or weapon has the Skyfire
special rule (see page 42).Template,
Blast and Large Blast weapons cannot
hit Swooping models.
Skyfire allows you to make shots other than snap shots at flying targets. Some things are still prohibited from hitting them even with skyfire though .
55956
Post by: Lt.Soundwave
One is psychic powers the other is not, as I understand it there is no conflict.
47547
Post by: CthuluIsSpy
40k-noob wrote:I am curious about something:
BRB FAQv1 wrote:Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Gliding Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Gliding
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
novas.
Does this answer override the skyfire rule? This Answer says that ONLY snapshots can hit Zooming Flyers or Swooping MCs.
While the Hard To Hit SR specifically gives an exception to models or weapons with Skyfire.
I guess what Ia m asking is is Skyfire now useless because of this answer?
That is a good question.
I would say yes, as it does not specify that Skyfire overrides this, and that the ruleset is primarily permissive .
I heard GW may now have an official FAQ email account, so you could ask them yourself if you want.
I don't have the link though.
53575
Post by: 40k-noob
pretre wrote:No:
Hard to Hit:
Shots resolved at such a target can
only be resolved as Snap Shots unless
the model or weapon has the Skyfire
special rule (see page 42).Template,
Blast and Large Blast weapons cannot
hit Swooping models.
Skyfire allows you to make shots other than snap shots at flying targets. Some things are still prohibited from hitting them even with skyfire though .
That is what I am referring to, the HtH rule gave an exception to weapons and models with Skyfire but the answer says ONLY SNAPSHOTS can hit .....
it would seem that this answer now trumps the HtH rule, doesn't it?
47547
Post by: CthuluIsSpy
pretre wrote:No:
Hard to Hit:
Shots resolved at such a target can
only be resolved as Snap Shots unless
the model or weapon has the Skyfire
special rule (see page 42).Template,
Blast and Large Blast weapons cannot
hit Swooping models.
Skyfire allows you to make shots other than snap shots at flying targets. Some things are still prohibited from hitting them even with skyfire though .
Ah damn, it seems that I was ninja'd.
Hold on, does that mean that the death ray can target flyers if skyfire is used?
20774
Post by: pretre
No. Read hard to hit.
Shots are resolved as snap unless you have skyfire.
Also, templates, blasts, large blast (and because of FAQ), line, etc so on can never hit Swooping/Flying models.
Skyfire JUST allows you to hit flyers at full BS, not to fire prohibited weapon types.
25603
Post by: Melchiour
CthuluIsSpy wrote: pretre wrote:No:
Hard to Hit:
Shots resolved at such a target can
only be resolved as Snap Shots unless
the model or weapon has the Skyfire
special rule (see page 42).Template,
Blast and Large Blast weapons cannot
hit Swooping models.
Skyfire allows you to make shots other than snap shots at flying targets. Some things are still prohibited from hitting them even with skyfire though .
Ah damn, it seems that I was ninja'd.
Hold on, does that mean that the death ray can target flyers if skyfire is used?
Necron FAQ says deathray may not hit flyers or FMC.
20774
Post by: pretre
CthuluIsSpy wrote:Hold on, does that mean that the death ray can target flyers if skyfire is used?
No, it is a prohibited attack type. Skyfire only allows you to use full BS, it does not allow you to fire weapons of a prohibited type.
16879
Post by: daedalus-templarius
BlueDagger wrote:
Yeah..... about that... jsut to name a few
- Star engines got a big nerf, they give +6 inches to flat out. For that many points? no thanks
- No more 2D6 on veil. We knew it was coming, but still a massive nerf.
- Runes of Wardning no longer stacks
- Vibro Cannon can't hit fliers
- Destructors can't overwatch
Who the hell ever thought runes of warding stacked? That is just completely ridiculous.
34060
Post by: Mohoc
CthuluIsSpy wrote:
Hold on, does that mean that the death ray can target flyers if skyfire is used?
No, because Death Rays doesn't use a ballistic skill.
53575
Post by: 40k-noob
pretre wrote: CthuluIsSpy wrote:Hold on, does that mean that the death ray can target flyers if skyfire is used?
No, it is a prohibited attack type. Skyfire only allows you to use full BS, it does not allow you to fire weapons of a prohibited type.
Right but the answer now says that ONLY SNAPSHOTS can hit ....
So Skyfire is now nullified at least that is how it reads to me.
20774
Post by: pretre
40k-noob wrote: pretre wrote: CthuluIsSpy wrote:Hold on, does that mean that the death ray can target flyers if skyfire is used?
No, it is a prohibited attack type. Skyfire only allows you to use full BS, it does not allow you to fire weapons of a prohibited type.
Right but the answer now says that ONLY SNAPSHOTS can hit ....
So Skyfire is now nullified at least that is how it reads to me.
The same thing the main rulebook says. Skyfire is an EXCEPTION to the rule that only snap shots can hit. That's why it is a USR and in the USR section.
47547
Post by: CthuluIsSpy
pretre wrote: CthuluIsSpy wrote:Hold on, does that mean that the death ray can target flyers if skyfire is used?
No, it is a prohibited attack type. Skyfire only allows you to use full BS, it does not allow you to fire weapons of a prohibited type.
Well, that's too bad. Oh well, I still have the tesla destructor.
16876
Post by: BlueDagger
Eldar FAQ wrote:Page 26 – Runes of Warding.
Change the last sentence to: “All enemy Psykers must roll an
extra dice when taking Psychic tests, suffering Perils of the
Warp on any roll of 12 or above.”
There was nothing stated it didn't.
25208
Post by: AlmightyWalrus
BlueDagger wrote:
Eldar FAQ wrote:Page 26 – Runes of Warding.
Change the last sentence to: “All enemy Psykers must roll an
extra dice when taking Psychic tests, suffering Perils of the
Warp on any roll of 12 or above.”
There was nothing stated it didn't.
The rolling of an extra die is already satisfied with one RoW, which means they don't do anything if there's more of them.
53575
Post by: 40k-noob
pretre wrote:40k-noob wrote: pretre wrote: CthuluIsSpy wrote:Hold on, does that mean that the death ray can target flyers if skyfire is used?
No, it is a prohibited attack type. Skyfire only allows you to use full BS, it does not allow you to fire weapons of a prohibited type.
Right but the answer now says that ONLY SNAPSHOTS can hit ....
So Skyfire is now nullified at least that is how it reads to me.
The same thing the main rulebook says. Skyfire is an EXCEPTION to the rule that only snap shots can hit. That's why it is a USR and in the USR section.
Gotcha.
47462
Post by: rigeld2
AlmightyWalrus wrote:The rolling of an extra die is already satisfied with one RoW, which means they don't do anything if there's more of them.
No it's not. "extra" compared to what? Normal? What's normal? So according to you, Runes of Witnessing don't work if you're subjected to Runes of Warding/Shadows in the Warp?
It absolutely stacked until this FAQ.
45238
Post by: Grimnarsmate
No, they still fire snap shots but at their full ballistic skill....
46128
Post by: Happyjew
rigeld2 wrote: AlmightyWalrus wrote:The rolling of an extra die is already satisfied with one RoW, which means they don't do anything if there's more of them.
No it's not. "extra" compared to what? Normal? What's normal? So according to you, Runes of Witnessing don't work if you're subjected to Runes of Warding/Shadows in the Warp?
It absolutely stacked until this FAQ.
Well per the FAQ Runes of Witnessing don't work if under the effects of Runes of Warding.
16879
Post by: daedalus-templarius
lol, as if it wasn't hard enough casting anything rolling 3d6; I guess no one ever used that at my FLGS because it seemed too absurd.
Oh well, glad its cleared up... so I can continue not to cast anything vs an Eldar.
47462
Post by: rigeld2
Happyjew wrote:rigeld2 wrote: AlmightyWalrus wrote:The rolling of an extra die is already satisfied with one RoW, which means they don't do anything if there's more of them.
No it's not. "extra" compared to what? Normal? What's normal? So according to you, Runes of Witnessing don't work if you're subjected to Runes of Warding/Shadows in the Warp?
It absolutely stacked until this FAQ.
Well per the FAQ Runes of Witnessing don't work if under the effects of Runes of Warding.
Fair enough.
So who wins in Witnessing vs Shadows?
(oh - and they fixed Spre Cloud!)
46128
Post by: Happyjew
Spre cloud was fixed in the Version 1 FAQ. Witnessing vs Shadows is still taken on 4D6.
I'm glad they've dealt with Trygon Prime's character status.
41478
Post by: Gloomfang
Happyjew wrote:
I'm glad they've dealt with Trygon Prime's character status.
Still not sure why they made Trygon Primes a char. There are tons of Nids with synapse that are not characters.
Still directed fire and being able to direct hits with them should be fun. Challangess can go either way depending on the unit your in combat with.
I wonder how many Trigon Prime warlords we are going to see?
46128
Post by: Happyjew
Primes are Heavy Support. Warlords are chosen from HQ choices.
20774
Post by: pretre
So the answer is zero?
41478
Post by: Gloomfang
Happyjew wrote:Primes are Heavy Support. Warlords are chosen from HQ choices.
Brain fart.. Thought it was HQ or charater.
Edit: Tervigons do it to me. They can be both HQ and Troops and I see a lot of Tervigon Warlords.
59251
Post by: Dozer Blades
rigeld2 wrote:Happyjew wrote:rigeld2 wrote: Dozer Blades wrote:I find it hilarious that many of the heavily entrenched claims made here by our resident rules lawyers have been swept away. It is a glorious moment for all who fairly play! 
Care to point out some?
MSS v Force weapons to name one.
I was asking because his statement was mildly insulting, but pretre had a better response so ... yeah.
Don't be so defensive.
You were wrong about FMC and grounding tests to name just one.
20774
Post by: pretre
Dozer Blades wrote:Don't be so defensive.
You were wrong about FMC and grounding tests to name just one. 
At the time, he may have been correct, however (depending on which one you're talking about).
46128
Post by: Happyjew
Actually at the time his stance was possibly correct. Just because they clarified it doesn't mean he was wrong.
If someone claimed that SitW affected models in vehicles before the FAQ said it did not would you claim they were wrong?
47462
Post by: rigeld2
No, I wasn't "wrong". I was correct as to what was written. GW's intent doesn't matter.
If I continued to assert that Swooping FMCs don't switch to Gliding I'd be wrong - but I'm not.
And saying that I don't play fair because I try to follow the rules as written most of the time... isn't correct and won't ever be. You keep that idea in your head though - I'm sure you'll go far.
53292
Post by: Kevlar
For the most part the FAQs clarify things in the common sense direction.
Most times people arguing strict RAW, even when the RAW is an obvious typographical or syntax error are just being obtuse.
20774
Post by: pretre
Kevlar wrote:Most times people arguing strict RAW, even when the RAW is an obvious typographical or syntax error are just being obtuse.
You use the acronym RAW and yet don't understand what it means.
47462
Post by: rigeld2
Kevlar wrote:For the most part the FAQs clarify things in the common sense direction.
Most times people arguing strict RAW, even when the RAW is an obvious typographical or syntax error are just being obtuse.
Yeah, Shadows in the Warp flip flops, Spore Cloud FAQ, few others... totally common sense direction.
And one can argue RAW while not playing that way. I've done that quite often actually. So do many others that are "being obtuse".
20774
Post by: pretre
I ninja rigeld2 like I was getting paid for it.
47462
Post by: rigeld2
Hate.
55956
Post by: Lt.Soundwave
The real question is to why a person feels the need to direct a "gotcha" claim against rigeld in the first place. This is a place for debating RAW mechanics not trying to divine what GW intends.
The faq just means we move on, who gives a damn if someones position was or was not reinforced. The goal is better understanding of the rules not inscribing a win hash mark on your "internet argument" calendar.
59251
Post by: Dozer Blades
rigeld2 wrote:
No, I wasn't "wrong". I was correct as to what was written. GW's intent doesn't matter.
If I continued to assert that Swooping FMCs don't switch to Gliding I'd be wrong - but I'm not.
And saying that I don't play fair because I try to follow the rules as written most of the time... isn't correct and won't ever be. You keep that idea in your head though - I'm sure you'll go far.
You were wrong. The rules as written never said that the FMC remained swooping. You tried to imply it and claimed you are RAW.  And no it is not hate... I find you absolutely hilarious.
6846
Post by: solkan
From the rulebook FAQ:
Q: Do models that ignore difficult terrain when moving or charging still fight at Initiative step 1 if they charge through difficult terrain? (p22)
A: Yes.
Important safety notice if you use Harlequin flip belts. That terrain that you're ignoring still affects you.
53292
Post by: Kevlar
Lt.Soundwave wrote:The real question is to why a person feels the need to direct a "gotcha" claim against rigeld in the first place. This is a place for debating RAW mechanics not trying to divine what GW intends.
The faq just means we move on, who gives a damn if someones position was or was not reinforced. The goal is better understanding of the rules not inscribing a win hash mark on your "internet argument" calendar.
I would imagine because he is one of the "prolific" posters who feels the need to repeat his position over and over again in a simple rules debate. Look at some of the debates, he will have 30, 40 posts all with the same response.
46128
Post by: Happyjew
solkan wrote:From the rulebook FAQ:
Q: Do models that ignore difficult terrain when moving or charging still fight at Initiative step 1 if they charge through difficult terrain? (p22)
A: Yes.
Important safety notice if you use Harlequin flip belts. That terrain that you're ignoring still affects you.
And C'tan, and Pathfinders...
55956
Post by: Lt.Soundwave
Still a tad less mature then I would hope we strive to be.
41478
Post by: Gloomfang
rigeld2 wrote:
No, I wasn't "wrong". I was correct as to what was written. GW's intent doesn't matter.
If I continued to assert that Swooping FMCs don't switch to Gliding I'd be wrong - but I'm not.
And saying that I don't play fair because I try to follow the rules as written most of the time... isn't correct and won't ever be. You keep that idea in your head though - I'm sure you'll go far.
Sad thing is that due to a "typo" rigeld2 is still correct about shooting at grounded units.
Page 49 – Flying Monstrous Creatures, Grounded Tests.
Change the second sentence of the third paragraph to read “A
Grounded Flying Monstrous Creature is treated as if it is in
Glide mode with immediate effect,
So Grounded== Gliding
Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Gliding Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Gliding
Flying Monstrous Creatures.
So as of right now a case can be made that FMC's never loose Hard to Hit as they have it in both Glide and Swoop now. Check the FAQ. They really made that mistake.
Welcome to the next 3 months of YMDC and how this mess all works.
16876
Post by: BlueDagger
solkan wrote:From the rulebook FAQ:
Q: Do models that ignore difficult terrain when moving or charging still fight at Initiative step 1 if they charge through difficult terrain? (p22)
A: Yes.
Important safety notice if you use Harlequin flip belts. That terrain that you're ignoring still affects you.
Except that if they are taking harlies without a Shadowseer (who gives them hallucinogen Grenades) they deserve to be I1 and not realize it.
55956
Post by: Lt.Soundwave
Welcome to the next 3 months of YMDC and how this mess all works.
Sadly true.
47462
Post by: rigeld2
Gloomfang wrote:Welcome to the next 3 months of YMDC and how this mess all works.
Nah, that one is extremely obvious - yes it's what's Written, but I'd never, ever try and play that way.
53292
Post by: Kevlar
Pretty sure C'tan gets assault grenades, or at least an option to take them.
28528
Post by: Nitros14
Fateweaver's re-rolls only apply to Chaos Daemons.
Chaos Icons only work for their respective armies.
Chaos Marine Daemons Princes are now flying monstrous creatures, oh my.
46128
Post by: Happyjew
Kevlar wrote:
Pretty sure C'tan gets assault grenades, or at least an option to take them.
No assault grenades for C'tan.
55709
Post by: 60mm
This thread went downhill real quick.
46128
Post by: Happyjew
Oh? Were simply discussing the changes made in the latest FAQs. If some people want to play the "Nah nah nah, I was right and you were wrong" game they can, they will just be ignored due to irrelevancy.
41478
Post by: Gloomfang
rigeld2 wrote: Gloomfang wrote:Welcome to the next 3 months of YMDC and how this mess all works.
Nah, that one is extremely obvious - yes it's what's Written, but I'd never, ever try and play that way.
Considering I know that we have spent a few months arguing with people that said the rules do not allow division, you know it is going to come up.
Besides we are arguing RAW, not RAI.
Still ticked off about not being able to use my Dante counts as model for my Fleshtearers anymore.
And lets be a big man. Here are the list of issues I was on the wrong side of:
Broodlords being able to use Witchfire powers.
Psykic Overwatch
ADL being able to be deployed in multipul sections
Spore pods being tanked shocked.
Flyers being able to skyfire in hovermode
Units in Flyers that are not dedicated transports counting against reserve limits.
If I argued with you and you were right feel free to PM me an I told you so (Please note what you were right about so I do not get confused.)
25580
Post by: Maelstrom808
Spirit Dust gives them assault grenades, defensive grenades, and Stealth.
55956
Post by: Lt.Soundwave
MSS and NFW, ID and FNP, the blood lance one.....les' see... Oh god my tau markerlight one! That one really stings :(
53292
Post by: Kevlar
What about swarm of spirit dust?
46128
Post by: Happyjew
Already pointed out to me. If you want to burn 20 pts and a manifestation slot for assault/defensive grenades and a +1 Cover saves be my guest.
My FD Exarch with Crack Shot is standing by with his Twin-linked Quad-Gun.
16876
Post by: BlueDagger
Wait... Necrons take things other then Fliers, Arcs, scarabs + spyders, and Wraiths?
46128
Post by: Happyjew
Yeah - DM with Cryptek.
53292
Post by: Kevlar
BlueDagger wrote:Wait... Necrons take things other then Fliers, Arcs, scarabs + spyders, and Wraiths?
Well, C'tans may not be anything more than bullet magnets, but they are an option...
59251
Post by: Dozer Blades
Gloomfang wrote:rigeld2 wrote:
No, I wasn't "wrong". I was correct as to what was written. GW's intent doesn't matter.
If I continued to assert that Swooping FMCs don't switch to Gliding I'd be wrong - but I'm not.
And saying that I don't play fair because I try to follow the rules as written most of the time... isn't correct and won't ever be. You keep that idea in your head though - I'm sure you'll go far.
Sad thing is that due to a "typo" rigeld2 is still correct about shooting at grounded units.
Page 49 – Flying Monstrous Creatures, Grounded Tests.
Change the second sentence of the third paragraph to read “A
Grounded Flying Monstrous Creature is treated as if it is in
Glide mode with immediate effect,
So Grounded== Gliding
Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Gliding Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Gliding
Flying Monstrous Creatures.
So as of right now a case can be made that FMC's never loose Hard to Hit as they have it in both Glide and Swoop now. Check the FAQ. They really made that mistake.
Welcome to the next 3 months of YMDC and how this mess all works.
Wow that is so messed up in so many ways.
26390
Post by: AgentP
God is real! It has finally been FAQed that Necrons get to use Force weapons with MSS so that long drawn out thread is now void.
46128
Post by: Happyjew
And that EW does not get FNP against ID wounds.
41478
Post by: Gloomfang
I missed it, but can anyone see in any FAQs if they said you get FNP against Bone Swords or not? I few poeple have sad it, but I can't find it anywhere.
46128
Post by: Happyjew
I think they're getting confused by this:
Q: Can Feel No Pain rolls be made against unsaved Wounds
inflicted by weapons that have the Instant Death special rule? (p35)
A: No.
26390
Post by: AgentP
Necrons also get to embark back onto the Nightsycthe. Sweet!
53575
Post by: 40k-noob
Nitros14 wrote:Fateweaver's re-rolls only apply to Chaos Daemons. Chaos Icons only work for their respective armies. Chaos Marine Daemons Princes are now flying monstrous creatures, oh my. Pretty sure the Icons thing is also a typo. Chaos Space Marines FAQv1.1 wrote: Q: If Chaos Space Marines are allied to Chaos Daemons, do they roll for scatter if Deep Striking within 6" of a Chaos Icon carried by a Chaos Daemon model? (p81) A: If the wording on the Chaos Icon’s description refers to ‘all friendly units’, then yes. If not, then the Chaos Icon only affects the specific units referred to in its description. The context doesn't make sense, but oh well
26767
Post by: Kevin949
Happyjew wrote: solkan wrote:From the rulebook FAQ:
Q: Do models that ignore difficult terrain when moving or charging still fight at Initiative step 1 if they charge through difficult terrain? (p22)
A: Yes.
Important safety notice if you use Harlequin flip belts. That terrain that you're ignoring still affects you.
And C'tan, and Pathfinders...
I'd argue the C'tan part, they "ignore the effects of difficult and dangerous terrain while moving". Charging is still moving as it's called a "Charge move".
46128
Post by: Happyjew
Chaos Daemon FAQ]Q: If Chaos Daemons are allied to Chaos Space Marines, do they roll
for scatter if Deep Striking within 6" of a Chaos Icon carried by a
Chaos Space Marine model? (p73)
A: If the wording on the Chaos Icon’s description refers to ‘all
friendly units’, then yes. If not, then the Chaos Icon only
affects the specific units referred to in its description.
They used the exact same question for both armies (swapping CSM and CD), and answer it exactly the same way. Apparently the Icons of Chaos the CSM can take are now called Chaos Icons. Automatically Appended Next Post: Kevin949 wrote:Happyjew wrote: solkan wrote:From the rulebook FAQ:
Q: Do models that ignore difficult terrain when moving or charging still fight at Initiative step 1 if they charge through difficult terrain? (p22)
A: Yes.
Important safety notice if you use Harlequin flip belts. That terrain that you're ignoring still affects you.
And C'tan, and Pathfinders...
I'd argue the C'tan part, they "ignore the effects of difficult and dangerous terrain while moving". Charging is still moving as it's called a "Charge move".
And (Eldar) Pathfinders and Harlequins ignore difficult terrain.
26767
Post by: Kevin949
Kevlar wrote:
Pretty sure C'tan gets assault grenades, or at least an option to take them.
Assault and defensive grenades as well as stealth, all in one power.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Happyjew wrote:
And (Eldar) Pathfinders and Harlequins ignore difficult terrain.
No, big difference. Those (and beasts) "ignore difficult terrain", c'tan "ignore the effects" of difficult and dangerous terrain. They're wholly separate rules with different implications. You can ignore terrain but still be affected by it.
If they wanted c'tan to just ignore it then they would have said the exact wording that wraiths and beasts have. Automatically Appended Next Post: BlueDagger wrote:Wait... Necrons take things other then Fliers, Arcs, scarabs + spyders, and Wraiths?
Personally, I actually take all sorts of units out of the necron codex. The only one I refuse to touch in any serious capacity is failed ones. Er, flayed ones.
53575
Post by: 40k-noob
Happyjew wrote:Chaos Daemon FAQ]Q: If Chaos Daemons are allied to Chaos Space Marines, do they roll
for scatter if Deep Striking within 6" of a Chaos Icon carried by a
Chaos Space Marine model? (p73)
A: If the wording on the Chaos Icon’s description refers to ‘all
friendly units’, then yes. If not, then the Chaos Icon only
affects the specific units referred to in its description.
They used the exact same question for both armies (swapping CSM and CD), and answer it exactly the same way. Apparently the Icons of Chaos the CSM can take are now called Chaos Icons.
Even so, the context doesn't make sense. Why bother to check if you are "friendly unit" if you will have to roll for scatter anyway?
I think they meant to say that if the description says it applies to all friendly units then NO, you would not scatter if you DS within 6" of a Chaos Icon.
24470
Post by: Orblivion
So Klaives and Huskblades are AP2 without being unwieldy and yet they couldn't bring themselves to give Dante an axe that does not make him useless in combat?
46128
Post by: Happyjew
@ 40k-noob: Most likely. It appears that GW needs a FAQ proof-reading team.
53575
Post by: 40k-noob
Happyjew wrote:@ 40k-noob: Most likely. It appears that GW needs a FAQ proof-reading team.
couldn't agree more
7568
Post by: triplare
Q: What counts as a Daemon? (p21)
A: Everything in the Chaos Daemons codex (except for Chaos
Spawn), Daemon Princes, Possessed Chaos Space Marines,
Obliterators, summoned greater Daemons, summoned lesser
Daemons, any vehicle with the daemonic possesion upgrade,
Daemonhosts, Mandrakes, Kheradruakh the Decapitator, the
Avatar.
Q: That being the case, do all of the models listed above therefore have
the Daemon special rule on page 35 of the Warhammer 40,000
rulebook? (p21)
A: No. Only those models that specifically have the Daemon
special rule in their bestiary/army list entry follow the rules for
Daemons given in the rulebook.
Am I correct in interpreting the GK FAQ as stating that anything with the Daemon special rule has the main rulebook Daemon special rule applied to it? As in, Flamers have a 5++ save, Chaos Spawn have Save -, Eldar Avatar has 4++ (?), Oblits don't have the Daemon rule but count as Daemons versus GK, etc.
Also, I assume this is 'addition' to codex Daemon rules (i.e. Chaos Daemons with the Daemon special rule have both versions, taking the 'best' invulnerable save available between the special rule and thier profile)?
Just trying to figure out if the White Dwarf Chaos Daemon update-units actually have a 5++ save or no save at all.
21110
Post by: Lone Dragoon
Orblivion wrote:So Klaives and Huskblades are AP2 without being unwieldy and yet they couldn't bring themselves to give Dante an axe that does not make him useless in combat?
Dante is perfectly capable of striking with his inferno pistol if you want to strike faster. He's useful in combat whether he strikes at I6 with his pistol that gives armor saves (still kills GEQ dead) or at I1 that kills terminators (usually the ones that get their 2+ ignored will have that 3+ invulnerable and get to laugh at the axe anyways).
24470
Post by: Orblivion
Using a 225 point HQ to kill GEQ hardly seems like a worthwhile use of points if you ask me. He might still have his uses to his attached squad via Hit & Run and Tactical Precision but Dante himself is now best kept out of any kind of combat IMO, and that just seems out of place to me.
61083
Post by: Stormbreed
Great to see it is confirmed we do get the +Attacks on Smash!!! Automatically Appended Next Post: Happyjew wrote:I think they're getting confused by this:
Q: Can Feel No Pain rolls be made against unsaved Wounds
inflicted by weapons that have the Instant Death special rule? (p35)
A: No.
Once again they leave it open.
But IMHO once again it shows we find out if the attack is an ID before anything else.
16876
Post by: BlueDagger
Orblivion wrote:Using a 225 point HQ to kill GEQ hardly seems like a worthwhile use of points if you ask me. He might still have his uses to his attached squad via Hit & Run and Tactical Precision but Dante himself is now best kept out of any kind of combat IMO, and that just seems out of place to me.
Um, making jump troop terminators scoring units?
24470
Post by: Orblivion
I just said he still has his uses, my point is that Dante himself is no longer a reliable combatant. Every post I've made has been in regards to his use in combat.
16876
Post by: BlueDagger
Against anything but a challenge with a Str8 AP2+ he is still godly, you just have to choose targets carefully or attach another IC to challenge with. As long as you stay out of combat his 6 Str 5 AP2 attack will clean up.
42985
Post by: liturgies of blood
Stormbreed wrote:Great to see it is confirmed we do get the +Attacks on Smash!!!
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Happyjew wrote:I think they're getting confused by this:
Q: Can Feel No Pain rolls be made against unsaved Wounds
inflicted by weapons that have the Instant Death special rule? (p35)
A: No.
Once again they leave it open.
But IMHO once again it shows we find out if the attack is an ID before anything else.
It's closed tighter than an alterboy's ass on a trip to the vatican showers.
Q: If a model has the Eternal Warrior and Feel No Pain special
rules, can it still make Feel No Pain rolls against Wounds that
inflict Instant Death (Eternal Warrior states that the model is
immune to the effects of Instant Death, after all)? (p35)
A: No.
55036
Post by: Tarrasq
Hes talking about boneswords not ew.
16879
Post by: daedalus-templarius
So LOS has to be resolved before you roll any saves now?
Won't that massively slow down the game? effectively rolling 1 wound at a time?
Same saves in unit, 5 wounds, character in front takes saves, fails 2, LOS.
Now...
Same saves, 5 wounds, LOS each wound, take saves
4308
Post by: coredump
Just do it the old way, it doesn't change anything.
16879
Post by: daedalus-templarius
Seems like a confusing addition if it doesn't do anything
2764
Post by: AgeOfEgos
It can matter.
Let's say you have a 5 man Honor Guard squad with a Sanguinary Priest and 4 Meltaguns. Unit takes 12 wounds and the Priest is the closest.
Old way:
Make 12 saves
Make 4 FNP
Make 2 LOS
2 dead
New way:
Make a LOS one at a time
Make an armor save
Make a FNP
Make a LOS
Make an armor save
Make a FNP
The difference is you must decide to LOS before seeing how you roll---and the minute you fail an armor save, FNP and LOS--you do not get the benefit of the Sanguinary Priest for the remainder of your saving throws. Or, if you really wanted to abuse LOS and FNP in the old way--Corbulo. This removed that option.
The change can also interact in other ways--with the new addition of "Must allocate to the closest model" and the fact you do not 'know' how many failed saves you will have...but the above is the main thing.
16879
Post by: daedalus-templarius
Ah I see... that guy was just doing it wrong, heh.
So basically if your unit has all the same save, you can still just roll all saves, then LOS. That's fine with me.
I figured that was the way you did it in mixed armor saves anyway.
28444
Post by: DarknessEternal
No, the rule that LOS goes onto the nearest available model prevents that. There's no need to change the rolling scheme.
61964
Post by: Fragile
It was causing confusion with people saying you can do LOS with saved or unsaved wounds. Those people were missing the whole trigger on allocation part of the process.
4308
Post by: coredump
AgeOfEgos wrote:It can matter.
Let's say you have a 5 man Honor Guard squad with a Sanguinary Priest and 4 Meltaguns. Unit takes 12 wounds and the Priest is the closest.
Old way:
Make 12 saves
Make 4 FNP
Make 2 LOS
2 dead
New way:
Make a LOS one at a time
Make an armor save
Make a FNP
Make a LOS
Make an armor save
Make a FNP
The difference is you must decide to LOS before seeing how you roll---and the minute you fail an armor save, FNP and LOS--you do not get the benefit of the Sanguinary Priest for the remainder of your saving throws. Or, if you really wanted to abuse LOS and FNP in the old way--Corbulo. This removed that option.
The change can also interact in other ways--with the new addition of "Must allocate to the closest model" and the fact you do not 'know' how many failed saves you will have...but the above is the main thing.
It still doesn't change the end result, you just get there using a different method.
Fragile is correct, what it does is now give only 1 method of utilizing LOS, to stop the confusion some folks were having.
2764
Post by: AgeOfEgos
I don't see how the same conclusion can be reached (Granted I've been in SQL all day and am tired) but--let's roll this one out; New Way 5 Marines with a Priest, Priest closest---18 wounds I roll LOS, make it---make my armor save I roll another LOS for the priest which fails (armor save fails), FNP Fails (bad dice--Priest dead!) That leaves me another 16 saves on my 4 other marines---and they will not benefit from FNP. They all likely die. Old Way 5 Marines with a Priest, Priest closest---18 wounds I make 18 saving throws (ALL of these throws benefit from FNP--unlike above as this is a non-mixed unit) I fail 6sh, make 3 FNP throws (As my priest is still alive) at this step. Now I try and LOS the 3 actual failed wounds. Best case, I'm down to my priest and 2 other marines. Worst case, a LOS fails and I'm down to 3 marines.
61964
Post by: Fragile
AgeOfEgos wrote:I don't see how the same conclusion can be reached (Granted I've been in SQL all day and am tired) but--let's roll this one out;
New Way
5 Marines with a Priest, Priest closest---18 wounds
I roll the first time for the priest (armor save first here), fail but make my FNP
I roll the second time for the priest (armor save fails), FNP Fails. I LOS and also fail (bad dice--Priest dead!)
That leaves me another 16 saves on my 4 other marines---and they will not benefit from FNP. They all likely die.
Old Way
5 Marines with a Priest, Priest closest---18 wounds
I make 18 saving throws (ALL of these throws benefit from FNP--unlike above as this is a non-mixed unit)
I fail 6sh, make 3 FNP throws (As my priest is still alive) at this step. Now I try and LOS the 3 actual failed wounds.
Best case, I'm down to my priest and 2 other marines. Worst case, a LOS fails and I'm down to 3 marines.
Anything can happen with bad dice rolls.
50763
Post by: copper.talos
The above FNP abuse is covered by the faq that says that in any unit with FNP, always use the mixed save method.
4308
Post by: coredump
AgeOfEgos wrote:I don't see how the same conclusion can be reached (Granted I've been in SQL all day and am tired) but--let's roll this one out;
New Way
5 Marines with a Priest, Priest closest---18 wounds
I roll the first time for the priest (armor save first here), fail but make my FNP
I roll the second time for the priest (armor save fails), FNP Fails. I LOS and also fail (bad dice--Priest dead!)
That leaves me another 16 saves on my 4 other marines---and they will not benefit from FNP. They all likely die.
Old Way
5 Marines with a Priest, Priest closest---18 wounds
I make 18 saving throws (ALL of these throws benefit from FNP--unlike above as this is a non-mixed unit)
I fail 6sh, make 3 FNP throws (As my priest is still alive) at this step. Now I try and LOS the 3 actual failed wounds.
Best case, I'm down to my priest and 2 other marines. Worst case, a LOS fails and I'm down to 3 marines.
The first mistake is the 'old way' would not roll all of the FnP rolls. Those trigger only after an unsaved wound is suffered.
Second mistake is you don't understand the 'new way'. The Priest would need to LOS *before* rolling his saves.
In any case, assuming the same rolls for both situations (X failed saves, Y LOS, Z FnP) then the results will be the same.
2764
Post by: AgeOfEgos
coredump wrote: Second mistake is you don't understand the 'new way'. The Priest would need to LOS *before* rolling his saves. In any case, assuming the same rolls for both situations (X failed saves, Y LOS, Z FnP) then the results will be the same. Good catch--I updated my OP to match my other post on the page but given what copper just posted below.. copper.talos wrote:The above FNP abuse is covered by the faq that says that in any unit with FNP, always use the mixed save method. ...and that clears it right up. Good find, can't believe I missed that. Thanks!
37477
Post by: Battlesong
Gloomfang wrote:No manually firing weapon emplacements OR emplaced weapons for Nids anymore. That stings a LOT.
They gave FMC skyfire. Need to reread the flyer rules to make sure that makes any diffrence as the Harpy only has blast weapons.
And after all my debates, Broodlord's can't fire ANY Witchfire powers. (Need to read the Orc FAQ to see what happens to Old Zogwart.)
Looks like I am batting 50% on rules I was debating.
FMC Skyfire on Flyrants with 2 sets of TL Devourers, though  My issue is not with the fact that the Broodlord can't use witchfire, but that you can't even reroll if you get one.....I mean, really?
61032
Post by: Bladed Crescent
Is that in the FAQs that you can't re-roll powers that can't be used (as opposed to powers you just don't like)? It seems (emphasis on that part  ) like a no-brainer, since you already can re-roll Level 2 Powers if you're Mastery Level 1 and can't use them.
50832
Post by: Sigvatr
Monolith nerfed, CCB nerfed, Anrakyr nerfed...
Geeeez, GW, WE GET IT. We will never dare using anything other than flyers, Annhilation Barges and Wraiths + DL. No need to press it.
44276
Post by: Lobokai
Big Winners: Tau!! I'm floored, pleased and surprised! Those Hammerheads and Broadsides are gonna get dusted off and fielded soon.
9808
Post by: HoverBoy
Lobukia wrote:Big Winners: Tau!! I'm floored, pleased and surprised! Those Hammerheads and Broadsides are gonna get dusted off and fielded soon.
Way ahead of ya
47462
Post by: rigeld2
Bladed Crescent wrote:Is that in the FAQs that you can't re-roll powers that can't be used (as opposed to powers you just don't like)? It seems (emphasis on that part  ) like a no-brainer, since you already can re-roll Level 2 Powers if you're Mastery Level 1 and can't use them.
Yes. No re-rolling witch fire for broodlords.
37700
Post by: Ascalam
My DE like their AP2 Klaives
Not sure on the ork FAQ's yet. Too tired for it to sink in tonight.
Nice for the Tau to get thrown a bone, for once..
9808
Post by: HoverBoy
rigeld2 wrote: Bladed Crescent wrote:Is that in the FAQs that you can't re-roll powers that can't be used (as opposed to powers you just don't like)? It seems (emphasis on that part  ) like a no-brainer, since you already can re-roll Level 2 Powers if you're Mastery Level 1 and can't use them.
Yes. No re-rolling witch fire for broodlords.
It seems to suck, but seeing as how broodlords are troop choice lvl1 psykers with two powers that can be taken for less than 120 pts have very good stats and a minimum of 4 meatshields, i'd say it's a risk we'll have to deal with.
32921
Post by: AArdvark085
Q: Which missile launchers have access to ? (p57/415)
A: Only those that specifically have an option to take them as
an upgrade in their army list
So does this mean that no-one has Flak Missiles yet or units with missile launchers have them? If you look up the missile launcher profile on the pages listed it has the Flak missile included? I wish they clarified this a little more.
28444
Post by: DarknessEternal
AArdvark085 wrote:Q: Which missile launchers have access to ? (p57/415)
A: Only those that specifically have an option to take them as
an upgrade in their army list
So does this mean that no-one has Flak Missiles yet or units with missile launchers have them? If you look up the missile launcher profile on the pages listed it has the Flak missile included? I wish they clarified this a little more.
What could you possibly want clarified? It says it has to specifically mention that you can take them. Zero missile launchers say that.
44276
Post by: Lobokai
AArdvark085 wrote:Q: Which missile launchers have access to ? (p57/415)
A: Only those that specifically have an option to take them as
an upgrade in their army list
So does this mean that no-one has Flak Missiles yet or units with missile launchers have them? If you look up the missile launcher profile on the pages listed it has the Flak missile included? I wish they clarified this a little more.
Pretty clear, no one... I don't have an option to buy flak missiles in any of my codices (and I own them all).
EDIT: Ninja'd
2304
Post by: Steelmage99
AArdvark085 wrote:Q: Which missile launchers have access to ? (p57/415)
A: Only those that specifically have an option to take them as
an upgrade in their army list
So does this mean that no-one has Flak Missiles yet or units with missile launchers have them? If you look up the missile launcher profile on the pages listed it has the Flak missile included? I wish they clarified this a little more.
Seems pretty clear to me.
49616
Post by: grendel083
Not only is the FAQ crystal clear, the missile launcher description on P57 says its an upgrade option available to some launchers.
I think the FAQ was only added because so many just looked at the reference at the back and didn't bother to look at the rule itself.
51948
Post by: The Infinite
Is it just me or are the FAQs all formatted to make searching for keywords impossible, since all the bold words are apparently images?
47547
Post by: CthuluIsSpy
The Infinite wrote:Is it just me or are the FAQs all formatted to make searching for keywords impossible, since all the bold words are apparently images?
Try saving it as a PDF. The search in the browser doesn't seem to work.
|
|