Switch Theme:

Dreadknight Scouting with a Shunt move?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Redundancy is not evidence of anything. The rules for Bikes includes noting the increased toughness from a bike does not affect ID, despite this being clearly written in the ID rules.

Turboboost is a move you can normally perform, granted by a special rule
Shunting is a move you can normally perform, granted by a special rule

They are more similar than not.

Embarking is a move (counts as a move means it IS A MOVE in all measures) so can be performed in the scout phase, if you have scout. Same for disembark. It did not require a FAQ (remember FAQs arent meant to change rules, which is what you are arguing) but the FAQ simply confirms the trend:

If you can NORMALLY do X in your movement phase, you can do X in your scout phase. Rmemeber you can pop smoke, which most definitely IS NOT moving!
   
Made in no
Regular Dakkanaut






nosferatu1001 wrote:
Embarking is a move (counts as a move means it IS A MOVE in all measures) so can be performed in the scout phase, if you have scout. Same for disembark. It did not require a FAQ (remember FAQs arent meant to change rules, which is what you are arguing) but the FAQ simply confirms the trend:


FAQs are there to clarify areas where the rules are not clear, and embarking/disembarking is not normal movement, it's the rules for dealing with units that are riding in a transport vehicle, and it is not 100% clear from the rules (without the FAQ) if you can embark/disembark during a scout move).
Embarking doesn't count as a moving, only disembarking. From the rules, a unit that starts with all models withing 2" of an access point, doesn't move to embark (at least the way it is written in my rulebook).

If the rulebooks were 100% consistent in their rules, we wouldn't be discussing this, and we wouldn't need FAQs.


nosferatu1001 wrote:
If you can NORMALLY do X in your movement phase, you can do X in your scout phase. Rmemeber you can pop smoke, which most definitely IS NOT moving!

But as I explained, popping smoke is something you can do after moving. If you moved/could move, you can pop smoke, and you can move during the scout move, so popping smoke in a scout move would be ok.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/09 19:29:19



GENERATION 14: The first time you see this, copy it into your sig and add 1 to the generation. social experiment. 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Turbo-boosting remains the seeming clinch case.

Both are special rules, used in place of the unit's regular move.
Both are done in the movement phase.
Both are described in their own entry as being movement.

GW originally ruled (ref DA codex, page 27) that Turbo-Boosting couldn't be done in the Scout move as it was not "normal movement", then reversed their reasoning.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




In order to embark, you MUST move to within 2" of an access point, Simply starting there is not enough.

Hence why i said - embarking and disembarking are PERFECTLY normal movements you can make. Entirely so.

Popping smoke is NOT MOVEMENT, so why can you do it? Because it is something you can normally DO in a movement phase, even thjough it isnt actually movement.

Shunting is something you can normally do in your movement phase, AND it is a move!
   
Made in gb
Death-Dealing Devastator





DEVON UK

If it counted as "Normal Movement" surely you would be able to assault after, as you are allowed to after a "Normal Move".

King's of war-Elves 2000pts
Dystopian wars-Prussians 2500pts
GK 1750pts

GENERATION 9: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment.  
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






Yes one could assault afterwards, that's why the rule contains a prohibition from it.

"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

We already have a definition of a "normal move" in the BRB, it's any move you'd be allowed to do in the movement phase except you must stay 12" away from enemies. Thus, shunting, which is a move you can do during your movement phase, is allowed. Anyone claiming that shunt is a special move for the purpouses of scouting should read the definition of a normal move in the scout rules one more time.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





FAQs are there to clarify areas where the rules are not clear, and embarking/disembarking is not normal movement, it's the rules for dealing with units that are riding in a transport vehicle, and it is not 100% clear from the rules (without the FAQ) if you can embark/disembark during a scout move).
Embarking doesn't count as a moving, only disembarking. From the rules, a unit that starts with all models withing 2" of an access point, doesn't move to embark (at least the way it is written in my rulebook).


Finish this thought and you'll see that Shunting is allowed. As you state FaQs clarify grey areas they don't and can't change or create rules.

So no rule can require an FaQ to work, they can only require an FaQ for you to understand them.

The fact that the FaQs have been consistent on this matter with the wording in the Scouts USR (normal move = what you can do in the movement phase), it seems fictious to down right dishonest to claim that you beleive the rule to be anything but Shunting be allowed during the Scout move.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Mannahnin wrote:Turbo-boosting remains the seeming clinch case.

Both are special rules, used in place of the unit's regular move.
Both are done in the movement phase.
Both are described in their own entry as being movement.

GW originally ruled (ref DA codex, page 27) that Turbo-Boosting couldn't be done in the Scout move as it was not "normal movement", then reversed their reasoning.


This reasoning makes sense to me. I wonder why then did GW have the phrase "instead of moving" at the beginning of the personal teleporter entry? Obviously a shunt move is different from a regular jump infantry move (in max distance, one time usage), so what was the point? Just seems incredibly sloppy to me, which shouldn't be surprising I guess.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: