Switch Theme:

Dreadknight Scouting with a Shunt move?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






Dashofpepper wrote:
ChrisCP wrote:

If you can show a rule which says says "Once per game instead of moving this unit may...


Stop right there.

If you're given permission to move, you may only move. If you're given permission to take a movement phase, you may move or take any alternative action.
If you're given permission to only shoot, you may not run. If you're given permission to take a shooting phase, you may shoot, run, or take any alternative action.

Coteaz gets to take an out-of-sequence shooting attack. That doesn't mean he gets to run if he wants to. Because you shoot instead of running. You run instead of shooting. They are *both* shooting actions.

That's the relationship going on with the shunt/move thing. Pro-Scout-Shunt folks think that all uses of the word move and movement are interchangeable. They are not.


Okay, Hammer time. Your examples are poor, Coteaz is invalid, his rule mentions 'Shooting attack' the only type of shooting attack is a psychic one and "Psychic powers that take the form of shooting attacks are very common. Using a psychic shooting attack counts as firing a ranged weapon (an assault weapon, unless specified otherwise)." P50
So to use their 'shooting attack' "for example, the psyker must be able to see his target unit, cannot be locked in combat, or must not have run in the Shooting phase if he wishes to use a psychic shooting attack."
To be capable of making a shooting attack one has already forfited the right to run.

Secondly "This is done exactly as in their Movement phase, except that during this move, scouts must remain more than 12" away from any enemy". Exactly as in their movement phase, if one is not allowed to shunt then, one can not shunt at any point in the game as the scout move is done exactly as if in the movement phase.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/05/08 08:16:45


"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Dash, bour defintion, Turbo-Boosting in a Scout move is illegal.
And popping smoke.
And disembarking.

Okay, I'll modify my definition for clarity. "Any move you would normally be able to make in the movement phase is normal movement". This doesn't account for Smoke, but we'll take that as a stealth rules change.

Premise 1: Scouting allows a unit to make a normal move.
Premise 2: Turbo-boosting requires the use of a Special Rule.
Premise 3: GW has clarified that Turbo-boosting is allowed in a Scout move.
Conclusion 1: Using a special rule which provides movement still constitutes a "normal move" for the purposes of the Scout special rule.
Conclusion 2: Shunting is allowed in a Scout move.

The wording of Teleport Shunt repeatedly describes it as movement. It is just as much movement, and just as "normal" as Turbo-boosting. FAQ answers, per GW, are clarifications, not changes. While obviously sometimes we can see that they really are changes, in this case Occam's Razor says this one is a clarification. And that what's good for the goose (Turbo-Boost) is good for the gander (Shunt).

I'm really not sure where all this resistance is coming from, anyway. It's not like it's hard to counter or all that scary.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/08 07:21:09


Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

To be fair, rereading the scout rules I'd say we actually DO have a definition of "normal move":

Scouts are used to reconnoitre ahead and are always in the vanguard of the army. To represent this, after both sides have deployed (including infiltrators), but before the first player makes his first turn, any scouts may make a normal move. This is done exactly as in their Movement phase, except that during this move, scouts must remain more than 12" away from any enemy.
Emphasis mine. The bolded part clearly refers to making a normal move. From this, we learn that a "normal move" is a move made exactly as in the Movement phase whith the exception that you have to stay more than 12" away. As shunting is allowed during the movement phase, it is allowed during the scout phase. QED.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

Walrus:

Scouts may make a normal move. This is done exactly as in their movement phase.....

The NORMAL MOVE is done exactly as in their movement phase.

It doesn't say that any movement phase action is done during the scouting move, it says that normal moves done during a scout replicate what they do in normal movement.

Shunting is allowed in the movement phase. Shunting is not a move. Shunting is a teleport. Shunting replaces movement with another action (teleportation) with the end result being that the unit counts as having moved, with other restrictions.

@Mannahnin: I'll buy your definition. "Any move you would normally be able to make in the movement phase is normal movement."

This doesn't apply to shunting...which says, "Instead of moving...do the following." Shunting is defined as an ACTION that replaces movement, that when finished makes the unit count as having moved. There are many actions that can be taken in the movement phase, none of them actually movement, several of them which make the unit count as having moved though.

   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






Dashofpepper wrote:Walrus:

Scouts may make a normal move. This is done exactly as in their movement phase.....

The NORMAL MOVE is done exactly as in their movement phase.

It doesn't say that any movement phase action is done during the scouting move, it says that normal moves done during a scout replicate what they do in normal movement.

Shunting is allowed in the movement phase. Shunting is not a move. Shunting is a teleport. Shunting replaces movement with another action (teleportation) with the end result being that the unit counts as having moved, with other restrictions.

@Mannahnin: I'll buy your definition. "Any move you would normally be able to make in the movement phase is normal movement."

This doesn't apply to shunting...which says, "Instead of moving...do the following." Shunting is defined as an ACTION that replaces movement, that when finished makes the unit count as having moved. There are many actions that can be taken in the movement phase, none of them actually movement, several of them which make the unit count as having moved though.





If making a teleport shunt, the unit immediately makes a move up to 30" in any direction. This move cannot end on top of another unit or in impassable terrain, but ignores intervening units, terrain, and so. A unit that moves via teleport shunt cannot assault in the same turn, although it can shoot or run as normal. The unit counts as having moved.


"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

Chris, quote the part before that. The one about how you teleport shunt (action) instead of making a movement (normal says I)

Yes...shunting requires you to move the models and the result is that they count as having moved.

Maybe we need to start using move, Move, MOVE, and Movement.

Because physically moving models != making a movement...especially the kind that define it that way for you...aka. previously given examples.

Here's another: A lashed unit doesn't make a move, but they do MOVE 2d6.

   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






Yes, "instead of moving..."
It doesn't effect anything.

We have permission to make a move, TS can be done in place of a move, therefore we can TS.

Otherwise, we have permission to make a move, TS can be done in place of a move, but we don't have permission to use TS, so we can never use a TS.

I don't understand your reference to Lash... I don't see how it works for your argument, they are moved, they do not make their own move so could not replace that with another action.

"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

ChrisCP wrote:Yes, "instead of moving..."
It doesn't effect anything.


If it was meaningless, why would it be written in? If they wanted it to count as a normal move, they could have saved money, ink, manpower, and infinite player arguments by just not writing it in there.




Automatically Appended Next Post:
ChrisCP wrote:
We have permission to make a move, TS can be done in place of a move, therefore we can TS.



So let me get this right.

You have permission to do A.
A != B.
Therefore we may do B.

Yeah...that doesn't work out so well.

If shunting was a subset of movement, you could scout-shunt. Except for the pesky codex entry telling you that it isn't.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/08 08:59:16


   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






???
What?

"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

ChrisCP wrote:???
What?


I know, durn logic getting in the way and all. That, and pesky rules.

   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






Dashofpepper wrote:
ChrisCP wrote:???
What?


I know, durn logic getting in the way and all. That, and pesky rules.
Why did they include 'instead of moving?' Because otherwise one could do it at any point on top other other actions...
"Once per game a unit can make a TS."

Dashofpepper wrote:
Automatically Appended Next Post:
ChrisCP wrote:
We have permission to make a move, TS can be done in place of a move, therefore we can TS.



So let me get this right.

You have permission to do A.
A != B.
Therefore we may do B.

Yeah...that doesn't work out so well.

If shunting was a subset of movement, you could scout-shunt. Except for the pesky codex entry telling you that it isn't.


Okay so for the whole game we are going to have permission to do A, B can be done in liue of A. But we can't... because? What you are saying units may not run - ever, we can't tankshock, we can't drop a WWP, etc.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/08 09:09:51


"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




How doesnt it work?

So far it is exactly how GW has ruled.

Oh, and BR - shunt == move. It tells you that 3 times. Your attempt to claim that a shunt isnt a move, and Dashs, is asinine in face of the rules as given.
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

Dashofpepper wrote:
ChrisCP wrote:Yes, "instead of moving..."
It doesn't effect anything.


If it was meaningless, why would it be written in? If they wanted it to count as a normal move, they could have saved money, ink, manpower, and infinite player arguments by just not writing it in there.




Automatically Appended Next Post:
ChrisCP wrote:
We have permission to make a move, TS can be done in place of a move, therefore we can TS.



So let me get this right.

You have permission to do A.
A != B.
Therefore we may do B.

Yeah...that doesn't work out so well.

If shunting was a subset of movement, you could scout-shunt. Except for the pesky codex entry telling you that it isn't.


...except that's exactly how it works.

We have permission to do A. B may be done instead of A. Thus, permission to do A is permission to do B.

To quote yourself:

Dashofpepper wrote:
I know, durn logic getting in the way and all. That, and pesky rules.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I approve this thread. But I like merry-go-rounds so maybe I am biased.

Come on folks, GW just isn't a quality organization when it comes to rules. "Normal Move" isn't defined, and this personal teleporter rule says "instead of moving" in one sentence and then says moving in other sentences, which to any proofreader would scream contradiction or confusion. But who am I kidding, GW doesn't have any proofreaders! Also, I think I could train a chimpanzee to write a better gaming system, and this is coming from someone who is a fan of 40k.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2011/05/08 22:24:28


 
   
Made in us
Drone without a Controller




Ridgecrest, CA

AlmightyWalrus wrote:
...except that's exactly how it works.

We have permission to do A. B may be done instead of A. Thus, permission to do A is permission to do B.


Well actually, if the Scout move does only allow normal moves, that isn't how it works. Thats kinda the point. In a normal phase B is permitted to replace A. But IF only A is allowed (as is the argument), then no, B is not permitted in its place because B is not equal to A.
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

Choboking wrote:
AlmightyWalrus wrote:
...except that's exactly how it works.

We have permission to do A. B may be done instead of A. Thus, permission to do A is permission to do B.


Well actually, if the Scout move does only allow normal moves, that isn't how it works. Thats kinda the point. In a normal phase B is permitted to replace A. But IF only A is allowed (as is the argument), then no, B is not permitted in its place because B is not equal to A.


Either both are allowed or none is. If you can do A you can do B. The rules even state that it's a move done exactly as during the movement phase, except the 12" part. You're allowed to make a movement during the scout phase, the GK Codex then further allows you to replace any movement with a shunt.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yet in this case shunting is a move that can normally be performed, so CAN be performed in the Shunt
Claiming it cannot be a normal move, because it isnt in the BRB, is an unsafe argument.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

AlmightyWalrus wrote:
Choboking wrote:
AlmightyWalrus wrote:
...except that's exactly how it works.

We have permission to do A. B may be done instead of A. Thus, permission to do A is permission to do B.


Well actually, if the Scout move does only allow normal moves, that isn't how it works. Thats kinda the point. In a normal phase B is permitted to replace A. But IF only A is allowed (as is the argument), then no, B is not permitted in its place because B is not equal to A.


Either both are allowed or none is. If you can do A you can do B.
No...that's not how it works. Saying that it does doesn't make it true.

Here is a nifty example to try putting this into real world perspective.
---------------------------------------------
Example: It is dinner time. You would rather play video games. Your mother tells you that you may play video games instead of coming to the table to eat , but you're going to count as having eaten dinner because after the dishes are done, the kitchen is closing. So eat or go hungry. You choose to play video games.
Question 1: Did you eat?
Question 2: If a friend of your named "Scout" gives you a Snicker Bar the following morning and tells you that you may eat it, do you have permission to play video games?



   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

Dashofpepper wrote:
Question 1: Did you eat?


If the description of my options included three references meaning that playing video games=eating then yes, I did.

Dashofpepper wrote:
Question 2: If a friend of your named "Scout" gives you a Snicker Bar the following morning and tells you that you may eat it, do you have permission to play video games?




Irrelevant. As we're using a permissive ruleset, anything I'm allowed to do I'm allowed to do until something tells me I'm not allowed to do so. The Scouts rule doens't say that.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Dash - so why does it classify Shunt as a Move, 3 times, if you are claiming it isnt a move?

Address that point, without the "lalalala" that you're claiming others are employing.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




About 4 pages back Nosferatu and I had a misunderstanding that got out of hand. It happens sometimes, but I apologize for that.

I bring this up because it seems like there are nothing but personal fights going on in this thread now between a half dozen people, and most constructive arguments are gone now. How many times have we read someone new say "I didn't feel like looking through 4 pages of bickering" and that's very true. We had 2 pages of debating, followed by 4 pages of fighting and restating the exact same opinions.

Personal fights
No new theories
No one being convinced from one side to the other

I vote that if nobody can come up with a completely brand new piece of evidence or rule to support their theory, we just bury this thread and move on. (and maybe that dreadnought = scoring thread too since it' going the same way)
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

Pretty much.

Nosferatu: Your question has been answered by four people, one of them being me, having done it at least twice, over the last few pages. If you're too lazy to read, I'm too lazy to retype for your benefit.

AlmightyWalrus: I don't think you understand what permissive means. =p You just said you get to do anything until something tells you you're not allowed. That's RESTRICTIVE ruleset. That's not what 40k is - which is you may do NOTHING until given permission to.

Omerakk: We are going in circles, nothing new...demonstrated by the last couple pages. I'm out!

   
Made in my
Resourceful Gutterscum



Miri, Sarawak, Malaysia

All arguements here are as good as they could get. I have silent and observing, so here is my two cents.

Some people here argue what moving is, so let me help a mite bit.

What is movement phase?
What is shooting phase?
What is the assualt phase?

In the movement phase, you MOVE!!!!

In the shooting phase, you do not move. You shoot or run (yes, running is moving but it is specific to the word, RUN.)
Or... if you got shot up and fail the test, you fall back. (Yes, it is a move too, but specifically, falling back)

In the assault phase, you do not move. Why? Because you are assaulting. Yes... it is a unit movement. Unit is moving to assault, but it is very specific. You assault.

Or if you want to get out of the thick of it, you use hit and run USR. You fall back (very specific for this type of 'movement') Enemy consolidates (Also very specific for this type of moving movement)

Fail an assault, unit fall back (specific wording) winner and loser takes Initiative test to CHASE THEM DOWN (very, very specific as that is what their movement is about) If unit has what ever Special rules like And They Shall Know Know Fear or USR like 'Fearless', it prevents the unit falling back from getting destroyed.

I think most would get what I am trying to get to here. If not, than maybe those people should think in a different way. Figure it out themselves.

So, in regards in the shunting move... It like that 'Yo dawg' comment but funnier. Replaces the move... with another form of move... to move.
So, when does a unit move? During movement phase. What does scout say? Letting the unit move in as in a normal movement phase.

What else DOES THE RULEBOOK SAYS?????????
CODEX RULES GOES FIRST!!!!!

What does GK codex says?
Once per game, the unit can elect to make a teleport shunt instead of moving.(How far can those with legs move in a movement phase? Yes. 6 Inches. What else does the sentence also say? Right... Elect to make a teleport shunt INSTEAD of moving. So, no longer moving, now teleporting) If making a teleport shunt, (specific wording of what type this movement is) the unit immedietly makes a move (And when do we move? Yes the movement phase. So this means the shunt is used during a movement phase by changing a 'normal' move of 6 inches to a 30 inch teleport shunt. What type of move? A teleport shunt move. Have a cookie.) of up to 30" in any direction. This move cannot end on top of another unit or in impassable terrain, but ignore intervening units, terrain and so on (The restrictions and bonuses associated to this move, but I am wonder what the "and so on" implies. Maybe this "and so on" also includes ... everything? Anything? I say anything and everything)A unit that moves via a teleport shunt (Movement type used on the movement phase after changing the normal move for this special move) cannot assualt in the same turn, (AH. Specific worded restriction) Although it can shoot or run as normal (specificly worded). The unit counts as having moved. (So, units has moved after using this special type of movement in the movement phase of the unit/s or model/s in question.)

BUT... What does the USR of Scouts says?


Please do not post links to illegal downloads of copyrighted material. Ta.


reds8n.




Scouts are used to reconnoitre ahead and are
always in the vanguard of the army. To represent
this, after both sides have deployed (including
Infiltrators), but before the first player begins his
first turn, any Scouts may make a normal move. (So this means, specifically, the 6 inches)
This is done exactly as in their Movement phase, (Also, very specific on how to use this USR)
except that units of Bikes may not use their turbo-
boosters special ability for their Scout move. (Very specific restriction, but not related. Handy for those using bikes to know this)
During this move, however, Scouts must remain
more than 12” away from any enemy. (Specific words.)
If both sides have Scouts, roll a dice to determine
who goes first and alternate moving these units.

If a unit with this ability is deployed inside a
dedicated transport vehicle, it confers the Scout
ability to the transport.

Errata and FAQ of the scout. You could have TB when scouting
http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2030054_40k_Rulebook_March_2009.pdf


So, USR scouts says make a normal move. GK codex say, instead of moving. GK is no longer moving. Your normal move of 6 inches is replaced by a specifically worded teleport shunt if you want to shunt instead of walikng or whatever.

I RAEG!!!!!!ASDKJNFVASPJIHNBASJPBASIUBN

Please tell if I am wrong.

This message was edited 8 times. Last update was at 2011/05/09 09:59:33


 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




I'm sorry but this is really sad, in my HO.

I'm new again to the rules:

I asked a question.

not only do I end up getting insulted but down right chastised, indirectly at that.

Didn't receive an apology nor an explanation / hell a good standing up for what you said. - If I were to view this as some are interpreting this question / thread it makes me wonder how much more insulting your comments really were / are meant to be. ?

the needlessness carries to others as well?

you all do realize these are fictional rules and toys right?

Entertainment

Where is the Professionalism?

Its a simple question number 1. complicated?

maybe (for me ... at 1st)(I'm new, deal with it)(please and thank you)

I copied the scout rules at the very beginning and I believe some of the most useful parts of the shunt insert,

the Scout rule Clearly states: any Scouts may make a normal move.(rule) This is done exactly as in their Movement phase.(explanation)

(units movement options)- ?

seems true esp. once held to the FAQ'd items mentioned

there are No definitions of a normal move: for any units within any text I have seen / read or have been posted.

the shunt rule states that the shunt can be done in the movement phase.

place this on / with the scout rule: it clearly states that you can move how you would / could in your normal movement phase ...

this has been said many a times over - I can see some disagree - so you say why -

I guess my question is can you see any logic in this ideology? (putting aside any predetermined views of people?) - or how they may be / strictly looking at the rules and rulings ...

If so but you can add something determining to the argument, than I personally see no real Logical reason to continue with an apology against the current interpretations.

Does anyone have anything to add that would truly clarify the opposing argument? - that a shunt move is not allowed during the movement phase, therefore barring it in a scout move: because the scout move allows any movement that can be done within the movement phase. -

quietus.
   
Made in my
Resourceful Gutterscum



Miri, Sarawak, Malaysia

quietus wrote:I'm sorry but this is really sad, in my HO.

I'm new again to the rules:

I asked a question.

not only do I end up getting insulted but down right chastised, indirectly at that.

Didn't receive an apology nor an explanation / hell a good standing up for what you said. - If I were to view this as some are interpreting this question / thread it makes me wonder how much more insulting your comments really were / are meant to be. ?

the needlessness carries to others as well?

you all do realize these are fictional rules and toys right?

Entertainment

Where is the Professionalism?

Its a simple question number 1. complicated?

maybe (for me ... at 1st)(I'm new, deal with it)(please and thank you)

I copied the scout rules at the very beginning and I believe some of the most useful parts of the shunt insert,

the Scout rule Clearly states: any Scouts may make a normal move.(rule) This is done exactly as in their Movement phase.(explanation)

(units movement options)- ?

seems true esp. once held to the FAQ'd items mentioned

there are No definitions of a normal move: for any units within any text I have seen / read or have been posted.

the shunt rule states that the shunt can be done in the movement phase.

place this on / with the scout rule: it clearly states that you can move how you would / could in your normal movement phase ...

this has been said many a times over - I can see some disagree - so you say why -

I guess my question is can you see any logic in this ideology? (putting aside any predetermined views of people?) - or how they may be / strictly looking at the rules and rulings ...

If so but you can add something determining to the argument, than I personally see no real Logical reason to continue with an apology against the current interpretations.

Does anyone have anything to add that would truly clarify the opposing argument? - that a shunt move is not allowed during the movement phase, therefore barring it in a scout move: because the scout move allows any movement that can be done within the movement phase. -

quietus.


You're right. I was a mite bit crass in injecting some humour in my post. I editted the negative words off now. Try reading it as in the voice Jack Sparrow from Pirates of the Caribbean.
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

Dashofpepper wrote:

AlmightyWalrus: I don't think you understand what permissive means. =p You just said you get to do anything until something tells you you're not allowed. That's RESTRICTIVE ruleset. That's not what 40k is - which is you may do NOTHING until given permission to.


Try rereading my post. I said that you're allowed to do anything that you already have permission to do until something limits you. As there's no restriction on when you can shunt other than having to be able to move, you can do it anytime that you can move as in the movement phase.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Dash - oddly enough I did read them. All I got was handwaving about "its not really meaning a MOVE so much as an actual physical movement" - which is an entirely bogus argument. It ignores the text of the rule and requires replacement of other words.

Not lazy; no argument has so far managed to actually explain away this small fact.

You are told, 3 times, that shunting == move. 3 times

There is no argument that this is not a move. And, as it is a move you can normally perform during your movement phase - and in common with even SPECIAL moves granted by USRs such as Turboboost - you CAN perform it in your Scout phase

This is in keeping with all FAQ rulings explaining that yes, you get to treat it as a movement phase - you can disembark, embark, blow smoke, use special movement that you can normally perform (TB) - anything ou can normally do.

Your arbitrarily restrictive definition of normally, which actually encompasses abnormal movement such as pile in, fall back and similar, is just that - arbitrary. It ignores precedent as it, strictly, states you cannot TB, as TB is granted by a USR NOT detailed in the movement section of the rulebook.

Anyways, the end result is the same: you CAN scout shunt because the rules allow it. No amount of handwaving away a "move", one referred to as such a total of 3 times in the rules, as not being a "move" will get round that.
   
Made in no
Regular Dakkanaut






I have to say I agree with dash on this one.

I also agree that disembark needed to be FAQed to work during a scout move (note that this is another "count as moving" action, but you can still move if the transport hasn't moved yet, indicating this terminology is there to indicate that the unit hasn't made a move, but for shooting purposes they count as moving.)

Smoke launchers are used after completing it's move (and you complete a move when you scout), not at the end of the movement phase, so they would have been fine.

As for turbo-boosters, Bikes can move up to 12" in the movement phase. When using their turbo-boosters, they may move up to 24" in the Movement phase. Turbo-boosters are also specified in the movement rules for bikes.
Both of these are described as "move up to X" in the movement phase" (as is normal infantry and jump infantry movement). This indicates that the wording for turbo-boosters is consistent with other forms of normal movement.
The restrictions for turbo-boosting is also consistent with the entries for bikes, and jump infantry detailing how to deal with terrain, and intervening models.

The Teleport Shunt is used instead of moving (so you can't move and shunt), then it details where the models may teleport using the terminology already in place, move 30" in any direction ignoring terrain and other units, end the move somewhere not in impassible terrain or inside a unit. Then it lists it's limitation (you can't assault after teleporting). Then finally it allows you to shoot after teleporting, but you count as moving (exactly as when disembarking).

The way I see it, Teleporting has a restriction saying it "counts as moving" != moving, as you can still move in some cases where you already "count as moving". If the teleport was a normal move, this terminology would not be needed, as the model would already have moved eliminating the need for a "counts as moving". The teleport shunt is also instead of moving, not "Once per game the unit may elect to move up to 30" in the Movement phase. This move can not end on top of another unit or impassible terrain, but ignores intervening units, terrain, and so on. A unit that moves with a teleport shunt may not assault in the following assault phase..." This phrasing would be consistent with the other movement forms, and thus clearly allow using it as a scout move.

Also, it seems if you allow the teleport to be used during a scout move, they could break the 12" rule for scout moves to a certain degree (as specific beats general rules), as they ignore intervening units during their move (and only have to obey the 12" rule during their move), allowing them to appear behind a unit as long as they moved through it, and there are no other units within 12" (that they are not passing through).



GENERATION 14: The first time you see this, copy it into your sig and add 1 to the generation. social experiment. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




it didnt need to be FAQ'd - it is something you can normally when you choose to move an embarked unit. No possibility of it not being "rules" there.

You, yet again, have ignored that it states it si a move. 3 times. No more handwaving allowed....
   
Made in no
Regular Dakkanaut






nosferatu1001 wrote:it didnt need to be FAQ'd - it is something you can normally when you choose to move an embarked unit. No possibility of it not being "rules" there.

You, yet again, have ignored that it states it si a move. 3 times. No more handwaving allowed....


Embarking is an action a unit can take if every model is withing 2" of an access point of a transport that can carry them(unless it moved flat out). You can move then embark on a transport.
Disembarking is an action an embarked unit can take (with some restrictions). You can disembark, then move (if the transport didn't move first).

As you can't move twice in a movement phase, embarking/disembarking != moving as you can move + embark or disembark + move.
Because of this, embarking/disembarking during a scout move has to be FAQed, as it's not the same as the game term moving (although it counts as moving).
If it had been the same as moving(Edit: or part of a move), they wouldn't need to specify it counts as moving.

And I didn't ignore that they mention move in the rules for teleport shunt, I mentioned how it is different in wording for Turbo-boost (and other forms of normal moving),
and how it has similarities to embarking/disembarking (counts as moving) (which I have clarified my stance on in this post).
My point is that the (counts as moving) part is redundant in your interpretation, since your position is that you clearly move when you use Teleport Shunt, the "in any direction" part of the rule would also be redundant, as a move can always be in any direction (unless blocked by terrain or other units).

The rules seem distinctive enough to indicate that it might be something other than a normal move(done instead of moving, counts as moving, and can specifically go in any direction),
and we can only speculate on the intentions GW has with the rule in relation to scouting. In a permissive system, I would say if there is a doubt if something is allowed, don't do it until there is a FAQs.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/09 18:45:12



GENERATION 14: The first time you see this, copy it into your sig and add 1 to the generation. social experiment. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: