Switch Theme:

Space Marines Black Templars Dedicated Transport Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Maniacal Gibbering Madboy






Juneau, Alaska

Got some questions on a rules clarification for everyone out there in regards to Dedicated Transports and Heavy Support.

Page 38 of my Black Templars Codex, under Transport Vehicles, it says this:

Land Raider Crusaders may be selected by some units as dedicated transports... Because Land Raider Crusaders are such formitable vehicles they do not count as dedicated transports for the purposes of holding objectves and scoring Victory Points. Treat them as vehicles instead.

So let's say that I have 3 Troop selections for my army.

1: Does this mean that I can select 3 Land Raider Crusaders as dedicated transports and still have 3 slots avaliable to me for Heavy Support?

2: Does this exclude the standard Land Raider that's shown on the same page as the Land Raider Crusader? (The standard Land Raider can transport 10 Space Marines as opposed to the Crusader that can carry 15)


What I would really like to do is select 3 Land Raider Crusaders for my Troops and then maybe 3 Land Raiders as Heavy Support for my Black Templars or vice versa. And then this brings me to my third question...

3: If the Land Raiders / Land Raider Crusaders are taken as Heavy Support, can they still act as transports? Say, for example, book my Emperor's Champion across the field and then drop him off so that he can wreak some havoc? Or maybe pick up my Command Squad and get them to a hot spot elsewhere on the field or something along those lines?


Thanks for any help you all can give.

"Orkses never loses a battle. If we win, we win, if we die, we die fightin' so it don't count. It we runs for it we don't die neither, cose we can come back for annuver go, see!"
-The Gospel according to Ork.

8000pts of WAAAGH!
Indiorkalypse Koltz - Ork BB Team

Ork P&M Blog:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/546562.page#5955022
Blood Bowl P&M Blog:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/594998.page#6826981 
   
Made in ca
Avatar of the Bloody-Handed God





Inactive


Im not sure about BTs but for marines, i think so...

Paused
◙▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
           ◂◂  ►  ▐ ▌  ◼  ▸▸
          ʳʷ   ᵖˡᵃʸ  ᵖᵃᵘˢᵉ  ˢᵗᵒᵖ   ᶠᶠ 
   
Made in us
Maniacal Gibbering Madboy






Juneau, Alaska

So you're saying I could have Land Raiders or Land Raider Crusaders as Dedicated Transport and still have my Heavy Support choices free with a Space Marine army?

"Orkses never loses a battle. If we win, we win, if we die, we die fightin' so it don't count. It we runs for it we don't die neither, cose we can come back for annuver go, see!"
-The Gospel according to Ork.

8000pts of WAAAGH!
Indiorkalypse Koltz - Ork BB Team

Ork P&M Blog:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/546562.page#5955022
Blood Bowl P&M Blog:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/594998.page#6826981 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Yes.

That applies to any army. Dedicated Transports are selected as a part of the same FOC slot as the unit for which they are purchased. They have no effect on your ability to select vehicles from the HS section.


As for this part:
DieselJester wrote:3: If the Land Raiders / Land Raider Crusaders are taken as Heavy Support, can they still act as transports? Say, for example, book my Emperor's Champion across the field and then drop him off so that he can wreak some havoc? Or maybe pick up my Command Squad and get them to a hot spot elsewhere on the field or something along those lines?


If the vehicle has a Transport capacity, it can act as a Transport.

Being a Dedicated Transport (with the exception of certain codexes that limit who can use a Dedicated Transport) simply affects who can start the game in it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/03/17 05:31:16


 
   
Made in us
Sword-Wielding Bloodletter of Khorne




Salt Lake City, UT

To answer your numbered questions:

1. Yes.
2. I don't have a BT codex on me, read the entry on the unit and see if it says Land Raider or specifically states Land Raider Crusader only.
3. Yes. They have a transport capability, so they can transport.

And while the only unit that can deploy inside a dedicated transport is the unit that took it, once the game starts, any unit or IC can hop in if there's room. (Remember only one infantry unit and any number of ICs can be in a transport at one time). Read the insert on page 67 of the main rulebook for more info.

   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






BlackDracoSLC wrote:And while the only unit that can deploy inside a dedicated transport is the unit that took it, once the game starts, any unit or IC can hop in if there's room. (Remember only one infantry unit and any number of ICs can be in a transport at one time). Read the insert on page 67 of the main rulebook for more info.


Unfortunately in the Black Templar case, their codex specifically cites that dedicated transports can only be used for the squad they are purchased for, meaning that while any unit in the army could get in the heavy support land raiders, those purchased as transports would be limited to the squad they were bought with.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Unless of course your opponent agrees BEFORE THE GAME (dont spring it on him T3) to allow other units to use it. (That ofc applies to pretty much any rule)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/03/17 16:00:56


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Gwar! wrote:Unless of course your opponent agrees BEFORE THE GAME (dont spring it on him T3) to allow other units to use it. (That ofc applies to pretty much any rule)


True, but then you have decided not to play Warhammer 40k, instead you are playing a different game, with different rules, that closely resembles Warhammer 40k

And in a Warhammer 40k tournament, most of the time, everyone agrees beforehand to follow the rules of the game as defined by GW, not by individual players.
   
Made in us
Smokin' Skorcha Driver






Utah

For friendly games I never make anyone play with that outdated rule that only shows up in two codex that are older than most of the kids playing with them. I do usually remind them that in tourney play the official ruling is the stupid follow your book even though we blanket changed everyone else ruling.

I'd rather play a fun game that resembles 40k than always play an unfun game of 40k that is bound in a spiral of doom due to poor writing, editing and lack of testing before implmentation.

If I am playing a hardcore tourney player that is prepping for a tourney sure we follow all rules to the letter. In a friendly pick up game, I just want to put my shiney figures on a table and laugh and joke about bad dice rolls and such.

Meph

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Consider that 'outdated codex' lets gives every model Preferred Enemy for +60 points (about 4% of a typical tourney point limit). And can take 6-man las/plas squads still - the only MEQ that can. BT can put some hideous armies on the table.

I would probably let someone play with the 'fifth edition' dedicated transport, but it really depends on what the list looks like and how much OTT and min/max they've done in it.

In the dark future, there are skulls for everyone. But only the bad guys get spikes. And rivets for all, apparently welding was lost in the Dark Age of Technology. -from C.Borer 
   
Made in us
Maniacal Gibbering Madboy






Juneau, Alaska

Sweet...

Thank you everyone for your input. I just ordered a Land Raider from GW and am looking forward to fielding it. With this info now, I'm looking at doing Land Raider Cruaders as the dedicated transports for the troops and regular Land Raiders as the heavy support.

So, 1 Land Raider down, five more to buy!

"Orkses never loses a battle. If we win, we win, if we die, we die fightin' so it don't count. It we runs for it we don't die neither, cose we can come back for annuver go, see!"
-The Gospel according to Ork.

8000pts of WAAAGH!
Indiorkalypse Koltz - Ork BB Team

Ork P&M Blog:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/546562.page#5955022
Blood Bowl P&M Blog:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/594998.page#6826981 
   
Made in mx
Fresh-Faced New User




Are you playing apocalypsis games? Because 3 LRC and 3 LR are 1545 points without upgrades. Unless you are playing 2500 points games, you will not have too many points left for other slots.

But I do like the idea, I play 3 LRC templar army in 2500 points. I do put one LRC as dedicated trasnport so I can include one predator too.
   
Made in us
Maniacal Gibbering Madboy






Juneau, Alaska

Friendly games at the moment at somewhere around 2000 some odd point battles. 5th Edition to be sure. I haven't even looked at the Apoclypse rules yet.

I'm going to be crunching the numbers later to see how it'll all fit in with the BT Army that I currently have.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/03/17 22:22:21


"Orkses never loses a battle. If we win, we win, if we die, we die fightin' so it don't count. It we runs for it we don't die neither, cose we can come back for annuver go, see!"
-The Gospel according to Ork.

8000pts of WAAAGH!
Indiorkalypse Koltz - Ork BB Team

Ork P&M Blog:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/546562.page#5955022
Blood Bowl P&M Blog:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/594998.page#6826981 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: