Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/29 12:18:50
Subject: cover assault
|
 |
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm
|
Hey guys, was wondering about the following:
if you charge into cover against an enemy unit, but DON'T make a difficult terrain test on the way, due to one enemy being outside cover, do you still strike at Initiative 1?
I charged marines that were in cover, but did not enter the cover myself, I moved to base contact with the marine on the outside. Defender's React then pulled the rest of the marines to me without having to roll difficult terrain.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/29 12:42:00
Subject: cover assault
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
garigon wrote:Hey guys, was wondering about the following:
if you charge into cover against an enemy unit, but DON'T make a difficult terrain test on the way, due to one enemy being outside cover, do you still strike at Initiative 1?
I charged marines that were in cover, but did not enter the cover myself, I moved to base contact with the marine on the outside. Defender's React then pulled the rest of the marines to me without having to roll difficult terrain.
How many models of yours assaulted the marines?
You have to get as many models into BTB as possible, even if it means going through terrain. If you had assaulted with just one model, then you would have struck at initiative, If you just piled 10 models onto one marine, you were not following the rules.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/29 13:32:11
Subject: cover assault
|
 |
Mounted Kroot Tracker
|
Gwar! wrote:garigon wrote:Hey guys, was wondering about the following:
if you charge into cover against an enemy unit, but DON'T make a difficult terrain test on the way, due to one enemy being outside cover, do you still strike at Initiative 1?
I charged marines that were in cover, but did not enter the cover myself, I moved to base contact with the marine on the outside. Defender's React then pulled the rest of the marines to me without having to roll difficult terrain.
How many models of yours assaulted the marines?
You have to get as many models into BTB as possible, even if it means going through terrain. If you had assaulted with just one model, then you would have struck at initiative, If you just piled 10 models onto one marine, you were not following the rules.
Gwar's got it right here. The only way this would have been possible is if the rest of your models were more than 6 inches away from the other marines.
|
Night Watch SM
Kroot Mercenaries W 2 - D 3 - L 1
Manchu wrote: This is simply a self-fulfilling prophecy. Everyone says, "it won't change so why should I bother to try?" and then it doesn't change so people feel validated in their bad behavior.
Nightwatch's Kroot Blog
DQ:90-S++G++M-B++I+Pw40k08#+D+A--/cWD-R+T(S)DM+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/29 15:33:24
Subject: cover assault
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
"If you had assaulted with just one model, then you would have struck at initiative, If you just piled 10 models onto one marine, you were not following the rules."
You lost me a bit on this...with models that are quite mobile, i.e...genestealers with a fleet move, its quite easy to pull off a charge onto just one model. Say there are 2 obliterators in terrain and 1 out; you could position your models so that they are "just" going to hit the one outside of terrain with your squad without being able to make contact with the other 2 in terrain with your 6 inch charge. Granted if the oblits were in base to base this would be impossible, but if he were keeping them just in squad coherency its quite easy. This exact scenario just happened last week and the same question came up. So back to the original question..with the squad in cover having to leave cover on their pile in, would the entire combat be at initiative?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/29 15:45:18
Subject: cover assault
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Prophaniti wrote:
"If you had assaulted with just one model, then you would have struck at initiative, If you just piled 10 models onto one marine, you were not following the rules."
You lost me a bit on this...with models that are quite mobile, i.e...genestealers with a fleet move, its quite easy to pull off a charge onto just one model. Say there are 2 obliterators in terrain and 1 out; you could position your models so that they are "just" going to hit the one outside of terrain with your squad without being able to make contact with the other 2 in terrain with your 6 inch charge. Granted if the oblits were in base to base this would be impossible, but if he were keeping them just in squad coherency its quite easy. This exact scenario just happened last week and the same question came up. So back to the original question..with the squad in cover having to leave cover on their pile in, would the entire combat be at initiative?
For this to work, almost your entire squad would need to be around 5" away so they were incapable of reaching the models in cover. You cannot choose to have all the models assault 1 model if they can reach the models in terrain.
If you planned far enough ahead that you couldn't reach the models in terrain, then you might be ok. More often than not that is not the case and people simply play assault wrong.
|
My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/29 16:02:48
Subject: cover assault
|
 |
Mighty Brass Scorpion of Khorne
|
Once you have the nearest model in base to base with the nearest enemy you HAVE to move the next assaulting model into base to base with a different model that isnt in B2B with the 1st assaulting model and so on until every model is in base to base or the 6" move canot get you into base contact with an unengaged model
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/29 16:13:54
Subject: cover assault
|
 |
Boosting Black Templar Biker
California
|
Gorechild wrote:Once you have the nearest model in base to base with the nearest enemy you HAVE to move the next assaulting model into base to base with a different model that isnt in B2B with the 1st assaulting model and so on until every model is in base to base or the 6" move canot get you into base contact with an unengaged model
More specifically you have to try to get in b2b with an unengaged model, failing that you have to try to get in b2b with an already engaged model, and then failing that you have to try to get within 2" of a freindly model in b2b with an enemy...and then failing that ("towly, your the worst marine ever" "I know...") you have to at least move to maintain coherency.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/29 16:14:28
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/29 16:52:16
Subject: cover assault
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
|
Add on question.
Lets say Unit A is part in cover. Unit B is 3 inches away from the closest model (not in cover)in Unit A and with in 6 inches of the futherest model (in Cover). Would Unit B have to roll Difficult terrain, and if a 2 was rolled would it mean it is not allowed to assault?
|
On Dakka he was Eldanar. In our area, he was Lee. R.I.P., Lee Guthrie. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/29 16:55:12
Subject: cover assault
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Yes, and yes.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/29 18:19:43
Subject: cover assault
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
|
Ok when do you have to roll? If the closest unit was 6", and was not in dif, but some of the unit was in cover would you still have to roll? How much of the unit needs to be in cover for this benefit?
|
On Dakka he was Eldanar. In our area, he was Lee. R.I.P., Lee Guthrie. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/29 18:22:49
Subject: cover assault
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
If any model must enter the terrain, the unit must roll. You roll when you measure 6" (or whatever the assault range is) and find the potential to engage models that are in the terrain.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/29 18:25:38
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/29 18:24:41
Subject: cover assault
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
|
Works for me., so you base on potential range. Thanks
|
On Dakka he was Eldanar. In our area, he was Lee. R.I.P., Lee Guthrie. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/29 18:25:15
Subject: cover assault
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
I have been party to discussion about whether the roll is optional, but most of the time people insist that it is not.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/29 23:50:27
Subject: Re:cover assault
|
 |
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm
|
This is basically what happened: My units were moving up 6"to assault the squad who were in cover. The closest enemy to every member of my squad happened to be the marine outside cover. Only 2 of my models could actually make it into base contact with any of my opponent's models, and they could only be in base contact with that one model following their 6" assault move.
In order to move through some obstacles that were so far in my way, I'd had to form a conga-line with my squad during my movement phase, so when it came to the 6" charge, only one of his units were in base contact with me. It ended up where Defender's React kicked in, pulling the rest of his squad towards mine, and we still worked out initiative with mine at 1 - even though I never had to roll a difficult terrain test at all during the entire encounter.
My question was, if you are ever in the scenario where you charge a unit in cover, but somehow end up not making a difficult terrain test, do you strike at normal initiative? I must also add, that I did attempt to make it into contact with models that were in cover where I would have to make a terrain check, but my opponent was adamant that I was not within 6" to do so.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 06:35:54
Subject: cover assault
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The ONLY reason you strike at I1 is because you made a Dificult or Dangerous Terrain test. that is it.
If you CAN make btb with someone in terrain you must make the DT test, however if you cannot reach someone in terrain you dont make the test.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 06:45:28
Subject: cover assault
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
nosferatu is right. If you can ONLY engage the model outside cover, even if you rolled a 6, you strike at initiative. The enemy will have to pile into you anyway, so you'll effectively pull him out of cover, into your units.
|
After the orbital strikes, Thunderhawk bombardments, Whirlwinds, Vindicators, fusion and starfire and finally Battle Brothers with flamers had finished cleansing the world of all the enemies of Man, we built a monastery in the center of the largest, most radioactive impact crater. We named the planet "Tranquility", for it was very quiet now.
|
|
 |
 |
|