Switch Theme:

Summoned Lesser Deamons  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block






Can they capture objectives?

ObliviousBlueCaboose wrote:Flashlight. Check.
T shirt. Check.
Wheelbarrow to cart your massive brass balls in. Check.
 
   
Made in gb
Screaming Banshee






Cardiff, United Kingdom

No idea, I've not got the codex with me but if it makes no mention of it in there or refers to them as troops, I'd say no.

Daemons exist outside of the FOC so they can't be classed as troops unless the 'dex says so.

   
Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

Yes, as they ARE Troops.

"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
Made in us
Ultramarine Master with Gauntlets of Macragge





Boston, MA

They're treated as a troops choice for all intents and purposes aside from taking up FOC slots, so yes they can.

Check out my Youtube channel!
 
   
Made in se
Dakka Veteran




Lesser daemons are awesome and can capture objectives.
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

They are troops, they can hold (and of course contest) objectives.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM






Mira Mesa

However they cannot count towards your 2 minimum troop slots. You must have 2 other squads before you can begin taking Lesser Daemons.

Coordinator for San Diego At Ease Games' Crusade League. Full 9 week mission packets and league rules available: Lon'dan System Campaign.
Jihallah Sanctjud Loricatus Aurora Shep Gwar! labmouse42 DogOfWar Lycaeus Wrex GoDz BuZzSaW Ailaros LunaHound s1gns alarmingrick Black Blow Fly Dashofpepper Wrexasaur willydstyle 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block






Thank you everyone.

ObliviousBlueCaboose wrote:Flashlight. Check.
T shirt. Check.
Wheelbarrow to cart your massive brass balls in. Check.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/280663.page

Moving to YMDC.

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




DarkHound wrote:However they cannot count towards your 2 minimum troop slots. You must have 2 other squads before you can begin taking Lesser Daemons.


Was this ever clarified somewhere? I'm not sure the claim that they "don't take up any troop slots" means that they can't count as your compulsory two troops choices. (It's probably in a FAQ that I missed somewhere, but if so, please refresh my memory).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/08 21:44:36


 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

IcyCool wrote:
DarkHound wrote:However they cannot count towards your 2 minimum troop slots. You must have 2 other squads before you can begin taking Lesser Daemons.


Was this ever clarified somewhere? I'm not sure the claim that they "don't take up any troop slots" means that they can't count as your compulsory two troops choices. (It's probably in a FAQ that I missed somewhere, but if so, please refresh my memory).


It's actually spelled out in the CSM codex, page 89, that they "are chosen in addition to your normal minimum and maximums". So they cannot be your two compulsory Troops or your HQ (for a Greater Daemon).

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

If they don't take up any troop slots, then they cannot be used as 2 compulsory troop slots. I'm not sure why this would need to be clarified.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




IcyCool wrote:
DarkHound wrote:However they cannot count towards your 2 minimum troop slots.


Was this ever clarified somewhere? I'm not sure the claim that they "don't take up any troop slots" means that they can't count as your compulsory two troops choices. (It's probably in a FAQ that I missed somewhere, but if so, please refresh my memory).


The only "outside" FOC choice I know of that has been FAQd to count as the mandatory one is the BT Emperor's Champion. He can be your one HQ choice even if he takes up no FOC slot - but then again, every BT army MUST have him...

The summoned demons on the other hand are specifically mentioned as not counting, IIRC?

edit: but then again, the same argument as used in the BT FAQ can be made for any of those "outside" choices - if they're a certain type then they're a choice of that type even if they don't take slots.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/08 22:15:49


 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Happyjew wrote:If they don't take up any troop slots, then they cannot be used as 2 compulsory troop slots. I'm not sure why this would need to be clarified.


Because not using a force org slot is NOT a requirement to fulfill the compulsory slots. See the BT (Emps Chump) and IG (Techpriest, Priest) FAQs for examples of HQ units that do not use a slot and yet can be taken as a compulsory HQ.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/08 22:19:25


Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Edit: Deleted

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/08 22:32:58


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




don_mondo wrote:It's actually spelled out in the CSM codex, page 89, that they "are chosen in addition to your normal minimum and maximums". So they cannot be your two compulsory Troops or your HQ (for a Greater Daemon).


Is this a different printing issue? I'm reasonably certain that isn't in my codex, but I'm unable to check it at the moment.

I wouldn't be surprised if it's in there though, the "rules" for daemons are scattered across, what, 3 different areas of the codex?

Thanks for the page reference, I'll dig it out tonight and double check it.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Didnt they also FAQ it for IG priests and tech priests?
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

nosferatu1001 wrote:Didnt they also FAQ it for IG priests and tech priests?


Yep, mentioned that in my post above...............

IcyCool wrote:
don_mondo wrote:It's actually spelled out in the CSM codex, page 89, that they "are chosen in addition to your normal minimum and maximums". So they cannot be your two compulsory Troops or your HQ (for a Greater Daemon).


Is this a different printing issue? I'm reasonably certain that isn't in my codex, but I'm unable to check it at the moment.

I wouldn't be surprised if it's in there though, the "rules" for daemons are scattered across, what, 3 different areas of the codex?

Thanks for the page reference, I'll dig it out tonight and double check it.


No stealth reprints that I'm aware of, but yeah, the daemon rules are scattered thoughout the codex.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

don_mondo wrote:
No stealth reprints that I'm aware of, but yeah, the daemon rules are scattered thoughout the codex.


Page 89, under Summoned Daemons.

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

puma713 wrote:
don_mondo wrote:
No stealth reprints that I'm aware of, but yeah, the daemon rules are scattered thoughout the codex.


Page 89, under Summoned Daemons.


Yes, that's one location for the Summoned Daemons rules (and the one location I mentioned above in regards to this particular question). There are more of their rules on pages 102 and 62-63.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




So after checking my codex, I can clearly see the rules on page 89. I can clearly see them, because I had highlighted the text in question (presumably so I wouldn't forget it).

My terrible memory strikes again! Thanks don_mondo!
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

OK, now THAT is funny!!

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: