Switch Theme:

Dual Pistol, Dual Witchfire Shooting  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ua
Regular Dakkanaut




rigeld2 wrote:

Your analogy is wrong.
"Joe, bring me the green boxes."
"I found some yellow boxes, will those work?"
"Nope, only the green ones do. Keep looking."

In your analogy model wearing 2 flamethrowers (yellow boxes) and not subject to gunslinger.

rigeld2 wrote:

A) The Gunslinger rule proves that statement wrong by only giving you permission to fire both pistols.
B) All weapons have that rule, essentially. We know this because each model is permitted to make one ranged attack (barring MCs, Gunslinger, etc) and many models have multiple weapons. Without the option to use a gun in place of a ranged attack, having a ranged attack would be meaningless.

A) No, it only says that i can fire "both" whatever it is. Wich i do.
B) No. Model can shoot one of its ranged weapons in the shooting phase (if its not vehicle). Special rules can allow it to shoot more. Gun cant replace other gun, you just choose witch one to use.
Ghaz wrote:
DarkPhoenix wrote:
Because its codex with rules of the game, not the rules of making English sentence.

The rules are written in English, following the rules for the English language. If the rules are not written following the rules of the English language all we have is a book full of nonsensical dribble. Its those rules that tell us what those groupings of words mean. Again, please provide an argunment that doesn't require us to throw the rules for the English language in the trash.


I follow the rules of common sense. When rules says that "model takes a wound" common sense allow us to understand that its "virtual" wound, while English language say that model made of plastic and not bieng a living creature cant have a wound. Thats why i assume that common sense have priority and English is means to bring rules to our understanding.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Sir, I believe you are depriving a bridge somewhere of your company.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Common sense is not so common, as your arguments prove. The Gunslinger rule does not allow you to fire two Witchfires, nor do the Witchfire rules allow you to use the Gunslinger rules to do so. The RAW is perfectly clear on the matter and your idea of 'common sense' does not change that. You still have nothing to back up your position other than "... because I say so".

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/25 22:18:45


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in ua
Regular Dakkanaut




 liturgies of blood wrote:
Sir, I believe you are depriving a bridge somewhere of your company.

And i believe i will be mistaken for a troll cos i am too open minded.
 Ghaz wrote:
Common senses not so common, as your arguments prove. The Gunslinger rule does not allow you to fire two Witchfires, nor do the Witchfire rules allow you to use the Gunslinger rules to do so. The RAW is perfectly clear on the matter and your idea of 'common sense' does not change that. You still have nothing to back up your position other than "... because I say so".

You only keep "because i say so" thing, please return when you find actual argument. Nowhere in the codex Gunslinger forbids me to use Witchfire, nor Witchfire forbids me to use Gunslinger.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/25 22:20:34


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Be open minded as you like, you can house rule anything but in here and 'normal' games you have to follow the rules.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in ua
Regular Dakkanaut




MarkyMark wrote:
Be open minded as you like, you can house rule anything but in here and 'normal' games you have to follow the rules.

You right - rules, not some added words about pistols.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/25 22:22:26


 
   
Made in gb
Ichor-Dripping Talos Monstrosity






You don't need to add the word, because it reference the word prior in the sentence.

Both:
A reference to two of something.
Both Boys and Girls.
We are Both gamers.
Both pistols.

   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

DarkPhoenix wrote:
MarkyMark wrote:
Be open minded as you like, you can house rule anything but in here and 'normal' games you have to follow the rules.

You right - rules, not some added words about pistols.


Are you familiar with the grammar term of "antecedent?" The antecedent of "both" is clearly and unambiguously "pistols."
   
Made in ua
Regular Dakkanaut




 Unit1126PLL wrote:
DarkPhoenix wrote:
MarkyMark wrote:
Be open minded as you like, you can house rule anything but in here and 'normal' games you have to follow the rules.

You right - rules, not some added words about pistols.


Are you familiar with the grammar term of "antecedent?" The antecedent of "both" is clearly and unambiguously "pistols."

But they dont have to be for rule to work.
Let me explain my stupid logic:
1. "Any models with two pistols"
2. "can fire both in the Shooting phase"
3. "can use a different witchfire power in place of each"
4. "can fire both in the Shooting phase"
5. "Any models with two pistols" - it still have pistols just dont use them.



5a. "cant fire if dont use its pistols?" - nowhere in the rules says this - rejected
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

3. Is wrong

So at then end if the day you've used 2 Witchfires. Two pistols haven't been used, so the Gunslinger rule never came into play. And the WitchFire rule has also been broken, as two Witchfires have been used without the ability to fire two weapons.
RAW in no way supports this rule abuse (politest word I can think of).
HIWPI: I wouldn't argue, but pack my models up without a word.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/25 22:49:25


 
   
Made in ua
Regular Dakkanaut




 grendel083 wrote:
3. Is wrong

How it can be wrong if its quote from witchfire rule?
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

DarkPhoenix wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:
3. Is wrong

How it can be wrong if its quote from witchfire rule?

In place of each?
You're not using both pistols (yes the sentence means both PISTOLS), thus voiding the use of Gunslinger.

Basically you're using a Pistol Weapon special rule, without using a Pistol Weapon. Totally out of order.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/25 23:06:34


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





DarkPhoenix wrote:
 Unit1126PLL wrote:
DarkPhoenix wrote:
MarkyMark wrote:
Be open minded as you like, you can house rule anything but in here and 'normal' games you have to follow the rules.

You right - rules, not some added words about pistols.


Are you familiar with the grammar term of "antecedent?" The antecedent of "both" is clearly and unambiguously "pistols."

But they dont have to be for rule to work.

I forgive because it seems like English is not your native language, but you're literally arguing that the English Language is wrong.
It doesn't matter that it *could* be something else, the English language defines the subject as "pistols" so applying the word "both" to literally anything else but that word is flat out wrong. There's no other way to say it.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
DarkPhoenix wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:

Your analogy is wrong.
"Joe, bring me the green boxes."
"I found some yellow boxes, will those work?"
"Nope, only the green ones do. Keep looking."

In your analogy model wearing 2 flamethrowers (yellow boxes) and not subject to gunslinger.

Yes, a model wielding 2 flamers does not benefit from Gunslinger.

A) No, it only says that i can fire "both" whatever it is. Wich i do.

No, it says you can fire both Pistols. Do you have any English teacher friends?
B) No. Model can shoot one of its ranged weapons in the shooting phase (if its not vehicle). Special rules can allow it to shoot more. Gun cant replace other gun, you just choose witch one to use.

So a gun can't replace another gun - so which one is "default"? Can you show me the rules about choosing which weapon to shoot with?

I follow the rules of common sense. When rules says that "model takes a wound" common sense allow us to understand that its "virtual" wound, while English language say that model made of plastic and not bieng a living creature cant have a wound. Thats why i assume that common sense have priority and English is means to bring rules to our understanding.

And that's where you're wrong. "Common sense" is anything but common. You can't insert something as subjective as that when interpreting rules - indeed you must read the rules according to the English language first, then you can apply "common sense" to get Rules as Interpreted.
You can make whatever argument for RAI you want, but please say so. What you're saying is demonstrably not RAW.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/25 23:10:41


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Johnson City, NewYork

I hate to inject too much sanity here but.... exactly how many Psychers can be equipped with two pistols? If the answer is zero then whether or not they can fire off two witchpowers is more than a little moot.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/25 23:23:14


ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.

You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran




Snake Mountain

I actually can't believe this has gone on for 5 pages.

This seems pretty beardy/cheap to me, Gunslinger states you can fire two pistols, not that you can fire any two weapons/powers. It states you can fire 2 Pistols.

This is common sense, also in terms of Psychic powers, it mentions you can only fire one witchfire power per turn unless the model is able to fire more than one ranged weapon in a turn (this is for the likes of Monstrous Creatures etc).

Now the Psyker can only fire two ranged weapons because they are pistols, the second you swap one of the pistols for a psychic power you would automatically lose Gunslinger, therefore the model cannot fire more than one ranged weapon in a turn, making it not eligble to fire two witchfire powers, whereas something like a Monstrous Creature can fire any two weapons in a turn all of the time and cannot lose this ability as far as I am aware, also this ability is not taken away by changing any weapon to a witchfire power unlike with the pistols mentioned already.

'I'm like a man with a fork, in a world of soup.'

Check out my Blog: http://rysaerinc.wordpress.com/ - Updated 26/01/2015

3DS Friend Code: Rysaer - 5129-0913-0659 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 Rysaer wrote:
I actually can't believe this has gone on for 5 pages.

This seems pretty beardy/cheap to me, Gunslinger states you can fire two pistols, not that you can fire any two weapons/powers. It states you can fire 2 Pistols.

This is common sense, also in terms of Psychic powers, it mentions you can only fire one witchfire power per turn unless the model is able to fire more than one ranged weapon in a turn (this is for the likes of Monstrous Creatures etc).

Now the Psyker can only fire two ranged weapons because they are pistols, the second you swap one of the pistols for a psychic power you would automatically lose Gunslinger, therefore the model cannot fire more than one ranged weapon in a turn, making it not eligble to fire two witchfire powers, whereas something like a Monstrous Creature can fire any two weapons in a turn all of the time and cannot lose this ability as far as I am aware, also this ability is not taken away by changing any weapon to a witchfire power unlike with the pistols mentioned already.


It is a bit beardy.
Gunslinger allows a model to fire 2 Pistols (weapons)

The only thing the witchfire asks about is essentially (can the model fire 2 weapons?)


   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Gravmyr wrote:
I hate to inject too much sanity here but.... exactly how many Psychers can be equipped with two pistols? If the answer is zero then whether or not they can fire off two witchpowers is more than a little moot.

Chaos Sorcs can, for example.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Johnson City, NewYork

How many Warp Charges do Chaos Sorcs have?

Edit: Appears to be one but possibly two depending on options in the army.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/25 23:31:49


ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.

You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
It is a bit beardy.
Gunslinger allows a model to fire 2 Pistols (weapons)

The only thing the witchfire asks about is essentially (can the model fire 2 weapons?)

But if you're not using the two Pistol Weapons the model is armed with, you have no permission to use the Gunslinger rule.
WitchFire does ask that the model can fire two weapons. The model however cannot fire two weapons ( because you're not firing two pistols).
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Gravmyr wrote:
How many Warp Charges do Chaos Sorcs have?

Up to 3.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran




Snake Mountain

 grendel083 wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
It is a bit beardy.
Gunslinger allows a model to fire 2 Pistols (weapons)

The only thing the witchfire asks about is essentially (can the model fire 2 weapons?)

But if you're not using the two Pistol Weapons the model is armed with, you have no permission to use the Gunslinger rule.
WitchFire does ask that the model can fire two weapons. The model however cannot fire two weapons ( because you're not firing two pistols).


This.

'I'm like a man with a fork, in a world of soup.'

Check out my Blog: http://rysaerinc.wordpress.com/ - Updated 26/01/2015

3DS Friend Code: Rysaer - 5129-0913-0659 
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Johnson City, NewYork

And how many points are you investing to do this?

ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.

You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Gravmyr wrote:
And how many points are you investing to do this?

A) Irrelevant.
B) 125 minimum.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader




To gain the gunslinger rule, a model needs only be armed with two pistols. Thats the only requirement to GAIN the rule.
Having the rule allows you 2 shots with pistols.
Witchfire allows me to substitue any ranged attack i make with a witchfire.

Now, that being said, i do agree with you, that once you use a witchfire power you lose the ability to use another witchfire that turn, because you fired an assualt weapon, not a pistol.
But RAW, you have permission to use two witchfires, but ACTUALLY using one of them revokes the priviledge. Sound about right to you Ovion?
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Neronoxx wrote:
To gain the gunslinger rule, a model needs only be armed with two pistols. Thats the only requirement to GAIN the rule.

Not right. The model NEVER has the gunslinger rule. It's a special rule for Pistol Weapons, not models. Pistol Weapons always have this rule, and a model must be armed with two pistols to make use of it.
Having the rule allows you 2 shots with pistols.

Sort of, see above.
Witchfire allows me to substitue any ranged attack i make with a witchfire.

True.
Now, that being said, i do agree with you, that once you use a witchfire power you lose the ability to use another witchfire that turn, because you fired an assualt weapon, not a pistol.
But RAW, you have permission to use two witchfires, but ACTUALLY using one of them revokes the priviledge. Sound about right to you Ovion?

Sounds close enough to me.
Remember, Gunslinger is a Special Rule of Pistol Weapons. Using a Witchfire, you're no longer using the Pistol, but trying to use its rule.

BTW: Happy Christmas all, hope you're all having a good time.
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

Neronoxx wrote:
To gain the gunslinger rule, a model needs only be armed with two pistols. Thats the only requirement to GAIN the rule.
Having the rule allows you 2 shots with pistols.
Witchfire allows me to substitue any ranged attack i make with a witchfire.

Now, that being said, i do agree with you, that once you use a witchfire power you lose the ability to use another witchfire that turn, because you fired an assualt weapon, not a pistol.
But RAW, you have permission to use two witchfires, but ACTUALLY using one of them revokes the priviledge. Sound about right to you Ovion?


This is about right. You can choose to replace each pistol with a witchfire (so you can "ready-up", as it were, two witchfire powers) but as soon as you use one that is not the Pistol type then you cannot use the second, as you have violated one of the requirements of the Gunslingers rule: "...you can fire both [pistols]."
   
Made in us
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader




 grendel083 wrote:
Neronoxx wrote:
To gain the gunslinger rule, a model needs only be armed with two pistols. Thats the only requirement to GAIN the rule.

Not right. The model NEVER has the gunslinger rule. It's a special rule for Pistol Weapons, not models. Pistol Weapons always have this rule, and a model must be armed with two pistols to make use of it.


This part doesn't make sense. If the model NEVER has the gunslinger rule, how can it use it, let alone lose it? Pistol Weapons grant this rule, but they do not have this rule.
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer





Reading, UK

Neronoxx wrote:
This part doesn't make sense. If the model NEVER has the gunslinger rule, how can it use it, let alone lose it? Pistol Weapons grant this rule, but they do not have this rule.
Plasma weapons have the Gets Hot! rule. A model does not.

If a Space Marine fires a Plasma Gun, he is subject to the Gets Hot! rule. If he fires a Bolt Pistol, he is not, even though he is still carrying a weapon that has the rule.

Pistol weapons clearly have the Gunslinger rule and a model firing a pistol is subject to that rule. If they are not firing a pistol, they are not subject to the rule at all. Hence, no firing 2 witchfire attacks.

DoW

"War. War never changes." - Fallout

4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts 
   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch






The gunslinger rule follows basic English rules.

"All models with two pistols can fire both in the shooting phase."

The word 'both' logically applies to something in the sentence, since there isn't a proceeding sentence. It can't apply to the noun 'models', since that refers to all and not two.

There is a noun in the sentence that is defined as two, that being pistols. Therefore, the word 'both' is clearly referring to pistols.

If you change the noun that the word 'both' applies to, then it is no longer the same sentence. Gunslinger only applies to both pistols that the model carries, and since it is specifically referring to pistols, a rule that applies to weapons is not compatible.

There's a fluff reason too, since it is called 'Gunslinger' which refers to wild west two pistol shooting which wouldn't apply to two rifles or two knives. If you think that you have some clever way to make gunslinging apply to magic powers then isn't it clear that you are trying to rules lawyer something more out of the rule than it states?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/26 01:21:41


   
Made in ca
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes




Virginia

Clearly we have reached an impasse, as both views are correct.
If you look at it from the Gunslinger Rule, then the weapons can only be pistols.
However, if you look at it from the witchfire rule, then it is entirely possible to switch the two pistols for two witchfires, because the only requirements to fire two witchfires are met.
Both views of the ruling can be completely correct.

It will come down to what person is okay with what or what your TO/opponent says about it.



I for one would just like to imagine that my sorcerer is a badass psyker who is so powerful that he can shoot two witchfires in the same turn. Plus he is so badass that he has two pistols.

Just my two cents.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: