| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 14:24:32
Subject: Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I was hoping to get something a little more clear about whether I should interrupt a unit's shooting to make soulburst actions too. When fighting a stormsurge unit, I played it as I could not take soulburst actions between his different weapon types and let him resolve all of his shots first.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 14:35:10
Subject: Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Omnipotent Necron Overlord
|
lessthanjeff wrote:I was hoping to get something a little more clear about whether I should interrupt a unit's shooting to make soulburst actions too. When fighting a stormsurge unit, I played it as I could not take soulburst actions between his different weapon types and let him resolve all of his shots first.
It could be more clear - the ruling on nova powers is to continue with the NOVA and then resolve your soulburst. I think that makes it clear that you at least finish resolving your weapon system before soulburst takes effect but it's not clear if more weapon systems are left to fire when the soulburst should take effect.
They also havn't made it clear (to me at least) if a unit has destroyed a unit in assault - can they assault again? They did indeed state that they CAN shoot and run with a soulburst.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/03/03 14:36:27
If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 14:59:57
Subject: Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Xenomancers wrote: They also havn't made it clear (to me at least) if a unit has destroyed a unit in assault - can they assault again? They did indeed state that they CAN shoot and run with a soulburst.
Did they not? The change from "locked in combat" to "in b2b with an enemy model" seems to clear that up. Add to that the example they used about a unit resolving from after their last Initiative, and I think it is pretty clear. After all, how can you have attacked already prior to a Soulburst if you weren't in an assault previously? -
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/03/03 15:00:53
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 15:00:30
Subject: Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
I'm incredibly peeved about the transport thing.
It's ridiculous.
I guess this answers the debate about WWP archon Wraithguard vs raider wraithguard
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 15:04:46
Subject: Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
gummyofallbears wrote:I'm incredibly peeved about the transport thing.
It's ridiculous.
I guess this answers the debate about WWP archon Wraithguard vs raider wraithguard
Indeed it does. It also stops the same tactic with Serpents, since the Archon cannot start embarked there either.
I am glad they cleared up the IC triggering Soulburst if they were destroyed while joined to a unit.
-
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 15:08:04
Subject: Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Shadowy Grot Kommittee Memba
|
Xenomancers wrote: Galef wrote:How is Eldrad a "weak" CC character? He has a better ++ save than Yvraine and his staff is Fleshbane Force weapon, also AP3. The only things Yvraine has over Eldrad in CC is that she has more attacks and can heal her wounds.
But IMO, Yvraine is indeed very similar to Eldard in that I would still rather take 2 regular Farseers over either single character. Especially on Jetbikes
Eldrad still only has 1 attack though.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
GW is just pulling answers out of hats at this point.
Eldar and DE units that share the Ynnari faction cant start in each others transports which is pretty silly considering they are friends now coming from the same detachment. YET - in an absolutely idiotic ruling - units embarked a transport can soul burst off the destruction of their transport - only if it is wrecked though - if it is exploded they cant! What the GAK.
We discussed this earlier in the thread. If you read the rules for vehicle destruction, the passengers get out of the vehicle THEN the vehicle becomes a wreck. In the Explodes rule, the vehicle explodes, THEN the passengers get out.
That of course got dismissed earlier in the thread, but that is indeed how the rule works as written.
Does it make sense? not really. Is it how the rule is written? Yeah.
|
"Got you, Yugi! Your Rubric Marines can't fall back because I have declared the tertiary kaptaris ka'tah stance two, after the secondary dacatarai ka'tah last turn!"
"So you think, Kaiba! I declared my Thousand Sons the cult of Duplicity, which means all my psykers have access to the Sorcerous Facade power! Furthermore I will spend 8 Cabal Points to invoke Cabbalistic Focus, causing the rubrics to appear behind your custodes! The Vengeance for the Wronged and Sorcerous Fullisade stratagems along with the Malefic Maelstrom infernal pact evoked earlier in the command phase allows me to double their firepower, letting me wound on 2s and 3s!"
"you think it is you who has gotten me, yugi, but it is I who have gotten you! I declare the ever-vigilant stratagem to attack your rubrics with my custodes' ranged weapons, which with the new codex are now DAMAGE 2!!"
"...which leads you straight into my trap, Kaiba, you see I now declare the stratagem Implacable Automata, reducing all damage from your attacks by 1 and triggering my All is Dust special rule!" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 15:27:52
Subject: Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Bah, so much for adding in a Farseer or Shadowseer to a unit of Incubi in a vehicle. Not sure if I want to have them footslogging, even with Soulburst. Maybe I'll try Yvraine out with them, though I don't relish that cost of hers.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 15:43:03
Subject: Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Would have liked a bit more clarity on the "can units do the normal action after having soulbursted" question. It mentions shooting as an example but disregards the example in the answer. The Yes sounds like it should be able to shoot again normally, but the followup once again denies it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 15:52:21
Subject: Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Goobi2 wrote:Would have liked a bit more clarity on the "can units do the normal action after having soulbursted" question. It mentions shooting as an example but disregards the example in the answer. The Yes sounds like it should be able to shoot again normally, but the followup once again denies it.
What? No does not deny that in the example. It says they can unless they would not normally be able to when the normal phase comes around. Like a unit that has Soulburst charged cannot then charge in the Assault phase because it is now in base with an enemy. Only unengaged units can declare charges normally I cannot think of a single situation in which a unit would Soulburst shoot, then not be able to shoot in its shooting phase....unless fighting other Ynnari that charge them. If you were able to shoot in the previous movement or psychic phase, there should be nothing stopping that unit from shooting normally in their shooting phase. -
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/03/03 15:53:32
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 16:11:33
Subject: Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Well normally if you had already shot that turn you couldn't shoot again. I believe you are correct with your interpretation, but I swear that is what the local RAWriors will say.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 16:46:19
Subject: Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Except the FAQ blatantly says you may shoot again. Soulburst itself is an exception to the "if you can normally" bit and allows you to shoot, move or charge out of phase as long as no OTHER thing prevents you from doing so normally. Like charging after firing rapid-fire weapon, or something like that.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 18:55:08
Subject: Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
Armageddon
|
Oh boy is this FAQ stupid in ways I can't begin to describe. They REALLY don't want eldar having good assault vehicles do they? Whats this 'you must consider both factions' nonsense that no other army has to deal with. I thought the point on them being ynnari was so that they could team up with other ynnari of different factions.
I can use soulburst if the vehicle is wrecked, but not explodes? Am I seriously expected to treat that rule seriously? That's not even in the book its just pulled from the asscrack of space.
Well I guess since you can't start Yvraine or the Visarch in a transport you might as well not bring them in case the enemy goes first. But webway portal shenanigans are fine? Where's the consistency? My playgroup is ignoring most of this.
|
"People say on their first meeting a Man and an Ork exchanged a long, hard look, didn't care much for what they saw, and shot each other dead." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 18:58:05
Subject: Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Damsel of the Lady
|
Read the FAQ again. Yvraine and Visarch can start in any Ynnari transport because they are only Ynnari faction themselves I believe.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 19:00:39
Subject: Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Battle-tested Knight Castellan Pilot
|
Don Savik wrote:Oh boy is this FAQ stupid in ways I can't begin to describe. They REALLY don't want eldar having good assault vehicles do they? Whats this 'you must consider both factions' nonsense that no other army has to deal with. I thought the point on them being ynnari was so that they could team up with other ynnari of different factions.
I can use soulburst if the vehicle is wrecked, but not explodes? Am I seriously expected to treat that rule seriously? That's not even in the book its just pulled from the asscrack of space.
Well I guess since you can't start Yvraine or the Visarch in a transport you might as well not bring them in case the enemy goes first. But webway portal shenanigans are fine? Where's the consistency? My playgroup is ignoring most of this.
Yea dude, just reread the part about transports myself
'Note that Yvraine and the Visarch can begin the game embarked on Ynnari vehicles (regardless of those vehicles’ other Factions).'
|
12,000
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 19:09:21
Subject: Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Audustum wrote:Read the FAQ again. Yvraine and Visarch can start in any Ynnari transport because they are only Ynnari faction themselves I believe.
But you have to realize that this is a specific note and exception to the way they FAQ'd everything else. How can Yvraine start in a Ynnari/Dark Eldar transport when she is only BBs with DE?
As much as it blows to not be able to start in cross-faction transports, at least they made an acknowledgement for Yvraine and VIsarch
I actually think this is a blessing in disguise. If Ynnari was a magical army that allowed all Aeldari units to basically start wherever they wanted regardless of the internal balance of their respective Codex and gave the ability to do actions twice a turn, or once in your opponents turn, the combos would be ridiculous.
This ruling restrains TFG lists at least a little.
-
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 19:16:06
Subject: Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Because they are ynnari not eldar ynnari. All the other factions become something-ynnari and can only begin in transports with that same something-ynnari faction
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 19:19:52
Subject: Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Swift Swooping Hawk
|
Don Savik wrote:I can use soulburst if the vehicle is wrecked, but not explodes? Am I seriously expected to treat that rule seriously? That's not even in the book its just pulled from the asscrack of space. .
This part makes sense from a rules perspective. On a wreck, you emergency disembark, then wreck the vehicle... therefor triggering SfD... but on an explode result, the vehicle is removed, then the unit takes damage, then you place the models on the table. I admit it doesn't make much sense in a "real world" type perspective, from a rules perspective it makes sense.
I am disappointed by the transport decision as well. I'm glad I didn't go ahead and order those Raiders yesterday.
|
"What we do in life, echoes in eternity" - Maximus Meridius
Check out Veterans of the Long War Podcast -
https://www.facebook.com/VeteransOfTheLongWar |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 20:01:42
Subject: Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Damsel of the Lady
|
Galef wrote:Audustum wrote:Read the FAQ again. Yvraine and Visarch can start in any Ynnari transport because they are only Ynnari faction themselves I believe.
But you have to realize that this is a specific note and exception to the way they FAQ'd everything else. How can Yvraine start in a Ynnari/Dark Eldar transport when she is only BBs with DE?
As much as it blows to not be able to start in cross-faction transports, at least they made an acknowledgement for Yvraine and VIsarch
I actually think this is a blessing in disguise. If Ynnari was a magical army that allowed all Aeldari units to basically start wherever they wanted regardless of the internal balance of their respective Codex and gave the ability to do actions twice a turn, or once in your opponents turn, the combos would be ridiculous.
This ruling restrains TFG lists at least a little.
-
Chadbrochill17 got it right. The rule isn't 'look to see if any models have all factions in common' it's 'look to see if any models have factions NOT in common'. A Wave Serpent is Eldar-Ynnari and the Yvraine is Ynnari, thus she can start embarked because they have no factions not in common.
Edit: in hindsight I phrased that wrong but I think my point got across.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/03/03 20:05:07
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 20:29:59
Subject: Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
I can't think of too many TFG options that would be abused.
It just puts my harlies back on the shelf TBH
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 20:32:15
Subject: Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Rampaging Carnifex
|
Being able to make use of Soulburst following a combat is nice for the Harlies, though. Oh well.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 20:32:15
Subject: Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Well, the rules for Robot Girlyman are out. He's virtually unkillable and has S: D attacks on a roll of 6, while having every single command trait in the core rule book.....
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/03/03 20:32:33
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 20:35:03
Subject: Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
nintura wrote:Well, the rules for Robot Girlyman are out. He's virtually unkillable and has S: D attacks on a roll of 6, while having every single command trait in the core rule book.....
Link?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 20:35:26
Subject: Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Galef wrote:Goobi2 wrote:Would have liked a bit more clarity on the "can units do the normal action after having soulbursted" question. It mentions shooting as an example but disregards the example in the answer. The Yes sounds like it should be able to shoot again normally, but the followup once again denies it.
What? No does not deny that in the example. It says they can unless they would not normally be able to when the normal phase comes around. Like a unit that has Soulburst charged cannot then charge in the Assault phase because it is now in base with an enemy. Only unengaged units can declare charges normally
I cannot think of a single situation in which a unit would Soulburst shoot, then not be able to shoot in its shooting phase....unless fighting other Ynnari that charge them.
If you were able to shoot in the previous movement or psychic phase, there should be nothing stopping that unit from shooting normally in their shooting phase.
-
Does this mean I can get ynarri vechiles to double tap via Word of the Phoniex, ie shoot once in psychic phase and once in shooting ?
|
"AND YET YOU ACT AS IF THERE IS SOME IDEAL ORDER IN THE WORLD, AS IF THERE IS SOME...SOME RIGHTNESS IN THE UNIVERSE BY WHICH IT MAY BE JUDGED." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 20:47:42
Subject: Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
gummyofallbears wrote: nintura wrote:Well, the rules for Robot Girlyman are out. He's virtually unkillable and has S: D attacks on a roll of 6, while having every single command trait in the core rule book.....
Link?
http://www.belloflostsouls.net/2017/03/40k-guillimans-big-reveal.html
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 21:11:46
Subject: Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
Jesus that's ridiculous.
I already disliked playing against Cawl, I hate that they basically combined Cawl + Cesletine into some unholy and unkillable combination. At least he can be tarpitted... yeah?
OT-
I might be playing a game today, depending on what people want to fight.
Since the FAQ, I am cutting a lot from my list, hopefully I can try out the 12 Kymeara + triumvirate idea
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 21:20:06
Subject: Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
gummyofallbears wrote:
I already disliked playing against Cawl, I hate that they basically combined Cawl + Cesletine into some unholy and unkillable combination. At least he can be tarpitted... yeah?
No not really lol. Between 6 attacks, or trading them all to hit every model in b2b with him, he has a good chance of wiping units. Add in that ALL of his attacks, including shooting are AP 2 and nothing survives long.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 21:30:58
Subject: Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
The most important thing in there is that SFD measures from where the unit was when it was selected as a target. That means after you use all your weapons on your target the second you select all the models in range at that time have a chance of being activated, and you dont have to worry about needing to be close than 7" if you dont want to be. Very important.
Good and bad news for assault. Good in that you can always soul burst after you wipe a unit out, but in that you might burst into an unresolved combat and end up not doing anything. Mixed I'lvl armies/units will be very strong in using this in the assault phase. Which is pretty good for all the aspect shrines as they tend to have leaders who can kill a thing at one I level then allow you to soul burst and kill another thing (I.E. Shining spear exarch kills a tanks port and the squad kills what spills out.)
Venoms and raiders are nicely back to being DE exclusive more or less. Which is very very good. I'd hate to see them basicly robbed of thier transports. Would put a massive force in those guys for nothing.
@turnip No vehicles can't soulburst.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 21:37:33
Subject: Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
The Avatar of Khaine can tar pit girlyman as he is immune to soul blaze. Getting the Avatar in base to base combat is another issue though.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 21:59:37
Subject: Re:Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy
|
Clearly the gathering Storm serries is just a long multi book buff for the Avatar of Khaine by sneaking us all these soul blaze characters. Soon we won't be able to take HQs without fireswords and Khaine will take command of the galaxy.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/03/03 22:01:29
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/03 22:04:01
Subject: Gathering storm II Ynari Aeldari Tactica
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Kaughnor wrote:The Avatar of Khaine can tar pit girlyman as he is immune to soul blaze. Getting the Avatar in base to base combat is another issue though.
If I could get the Avatar of Khaine to assault Roberto Guillermo I'd be sooo happy.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/03/03 22:25:01
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|