Brothererekose wrote:good lulz
daedalus wrote:Q: How do dice rolls that can trigger an effect from a
special rule (such as rolling a 1 To Hit when shooting a
weapon with the Gets Hot! special rule) interact with
re-rolls? (p2)
A: You only check to see if the effect has been
triggered after the re-rolls have been made.
So then, for Summary Execution, you get a re-roll for failing a Morale check (dice roll that triggers an effect from a special rule), but only after you've failed it. You then kill a Sarge, and make your re-roll. If you pass the reroll, the effect from the special rule never took place, so your Sarge isn't dead after all, and you are your own grandfather, all because of space-time paradox?
I think you go with codex rules first, so when that sarge fails, he gets shot, then a reroll.
Bonde wrote:So basically IG got something no one asked for...
I was praying for it nightly. The words in my codex now make sense! Finally my company will have all its 20 heavy weapons opening up first turn. Walking
HWS's onto the field was redonculous.
yakface wrote:Overall I think this was a great round of FAQ updates. My only real concerns are:
1) Allowing combat squads and IG Platoons to deploy as a single choice, which presumably allows them to only count as a single unit being deployed in Dawn of War. This is utter game changing for IG armies in tournament play, and considering that IG are already a front runner in tournaments this seems like a poor decision. But even more than that, it seems to go against what the Dawn of War deployment rules say, which makes it all the more confusing!
To me the problem is the muddy wording in the codex. I was playing this way until I bowed to Dakka's
YMDC. The codex says: 'Each Infantry Platoon counts as a single Troops choice on the force organization chart
when deploying...'. If you go over to the rulebook, it says a unit of Troops gets deployed, so I could see the argument. It was still frustrating though: why would they even mention anything to do with platoons deploying if there was nothing special about them? Why would they say a 'platoon counts as a single Troops... when deploying' if that had no actual effect on the game? But I went with it, and was at a severe disadvantage in
DoW, walking many squads on the board, not getting to fire anything (maybe some
GL's) and woefully out of position turn 2. (I play for fun and fluff first and have an army of platoons with heavies and
HWS's, with vehicle support - I think of it as a Heavy Infantry Company). Now I can put all the infantry down and roll the tanks on to light up the other side for the heavies! Big.
yakface wrote:3) Not allowing special rules/wargear that require LOS to be used from a vehicle is fine with me, but again it seems really inconsistent to apply it ONLY to those things and not apply it to non-shooting attack psychic powers. Because it seems like the 'reason' behind that ruling would be the fact that the fire point rules only specify they can be used when shooting, so in that regard it makes sense that anything that requires LOS but isn't a shooting attack wouldn't be allowed to be used from a vehicle. But still allowing non-shooting psychic attacks to be used from a vehicle, but not special rules/wargear just feels so inconsistent and arbitrary (and again, just happens to really benefit IG with their psychic battle squads).
So this means a guard commander can't direct
BiD and
FomT from his command chimera? I agree: inconsistent.
LOS is
LOS, you would think that if a firepoint provides that then a firepoint provides that.