Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 17:15:11
Subject: Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
does rolling 3 ones force a perils of the warp on a model taking a psychic test when its forced to roll 3 dice due to "runes of Warding " ?
the runes rule is as follows : Runes of warding: ...suffering a Perils of the Warp attack on any roll of 12 or above.
so does the test fail only above 12 ?
However the BRB does mention a PotW on double ones. However i see nothing about rolling 3 dice.
My opinion is it doesnt cause a perils on 3 ones.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/17 17:16:44
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 17:18:48
Subject: Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
zedsdead wrote:does rolling 3 ones force a perils of the warp on a model taking a psychic test when its forced to roll 3 dice due to "runes of Warding " ? the runes rule is as follows : Runes of warding: ...suffering a Perils of the Warp attack on any roll of 12 or above. so does the test fail only above 12 ? However the BRB does mention a PotW on double ones. However i see nothing about rolling 3 dice. My opinion is it doesnt cause a perils on 3 ones.
It does. You have rolled a Double one and a One. So it triggers PotW. The note about Rolling above 12 is to remind you because 12 is normally only able to happen on a Double 6, so RoW say if you roll 12 or more it also triggers a potw, which rolling a 6,6,x would trigger anyway, as you rolled a double 6, the same way as rolling 1,1,x is rolling a double 1 and x
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2009/11/17 17:20:21
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 17:28:52
Subject: Re:Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Lurking Gaunt
USA
|
the rules do not conflict as Gwar pointed out. So you must apply both.
PotW occur when you roll  or
RoWa cause a PotW if you roll a 12 or higher (note that it could be due to  but there are plenty of combinations on the dice to cause a 12+)
|
It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.
-Aristotle |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 17:42:12
Subject: Re:Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Altimera wrote:RoWa cause a PotW if you roll a 12 or higher (note that it could be due to  but there are plenty of combinations on the dice to cause a 12+)
Yes, very true. Had a bit of a brainfart there
A Roll of 6,6,x will cause a PotW as per the BRB, however, any roll of 12 or more (for example, a 1,5,6 / a 4,4,4 or a 5,5,4) will trigger a PotW because of the RoW.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 17:47:05
Subject: Re:Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
|
Oh yes  Its very nice to see all the psykers kill themselves on the other side of the table
Imo one of the best upgrades for the Farseer
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 17:57:15
Subject: Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
yeah,
It says double 1...
If you roll three dice you can never roll a double.
If I rolled three dice and got 3, 5, 3.
I wouldn't say I got double 3 and a 5... you'd just add them up and call it 11.
RAW = Peril of the Warp does not activate...
Panic...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 17:58:54
Subject: Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Panic wrote:yeah, It says double 1... If you roll three dice you can never roll a double. If I rolled three dice and got 3, 5, 3. I wouldn't say I got double 3 and a 5... you'd just add them up and call it 11. RAW = Peril of the Warp does not activate... Panic...
Just because you wouldn't say it, doesn't mean it didn't happen. I wouldn't say a Unicorn is made of iridium, but they might be for all I know. A 3,3,5 is a double 3 and a 5. A 1,1,1 is a Double 1 and a 1. RaW it does. Please refrain from posting incorrect information and proclaiming it " RaW". All you do is cause arguments and confuse newbies.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/17 17:59:59
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 18:05:09
Subject: Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
yeah,
How's about you getting off your high horse and stop telling me what I can and can not post on dakka.
IMO - 1, 1, 1, is 3 .... not a double 1 and a 1
IMO RAW perils of the Warp doesn't activate.
Panic...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 18:09:48
Subject: Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
If you have 3 "1"s you have both a triple 1 and a double 1 / single 1
same as when you rolla double 1 you have two single 1s as well.
You "IMO" is not correct, and is not RAW - you are however welcome to believe it correct.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 18:09:51
Subject: Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Panic wrote:yeah,
How's about you getting off your high horse and stop telling me what I can and can not post on dakka
Post whatever you like. I don't care what you do. I am just trying to be helpful and not confuse newbies. Automatically Appended Next Post: nosferatu1001 wrote:If you have 3 "1"s you have both a triple 1 and a double 1 / single 1
same as when you rolla double 1 you have two single 1s as well.
You "IMO" is not correct, and is not RAW - you are however welcome to believe it correct.
nosferatu1001 is 100% Correct
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/17 18:10:13
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 18:29:34
Subject: Re:Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
yeah,
The RAI is for the epic fail when spell casting. the 1/36 chance of rolling double 1.
And I'd agree that Via RAI when third dice is added the epic fail is now 1, 1, 1 and has 1/216 chance of activating Perils of the Warp.
It also looks for the Epic overpower from the warp... 1/36 of getting double 6.
But your saying that via RAW... that 1,1,6 triggers Perils of the Warp?
I'd call that a 8 !? that's hardly a epic fail?
And I don't think anyone would try to say that the 8 is made up of a double 1 and a 6 and triggers a perils of the warp test?
RAW clearly says you need to roll a double 1 or double 6 to suffer a perils of the warp attack.
regardless of how you get your third die>
You can't roll a double if you roll three dice. some combinations will have matching dice but they are not doubles.
You can however roll a triple. 3,3,3... or 1, 1, 1
RAW doesn't say anything happens when a tripple is rolled, so no perils of the warp for a 1, 1, 1.
Panic...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/17 20:11:14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 18:35:33
Subject: Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It works the same way as miscasts in WHFB: any double 1 counts as a double, regarldess of how many dice you roll.
Unless you are trying to claim that a double 1 is not also 2 single 1s? Because that would be quite funny....
A triple 1 is, by definition, also a double 1 (well, 3 different double 1s) and so would trigger Perils.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 18:41:47
Subject: Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
yeah,
Whoa... what game system are we discussing here...
Because double 6's means go to jail in monopoly.
Panic...
edit:
Here's how I would play it, and I play RAI.
1, 1, 6 = no perils of the warp test.
1, 1, 1 = perils of the warp test
Here's how I see RAW.
1, 1, 6 = no perils of the warp test.
1, 1, 1 = no perils of the warp test
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2009/11/17 18:48:58
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 18:57:41
Subject: Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Panic wrote:yeah,
Whoa... what game system are we discussing here...
Because double 6's means go to jail in monopoly.
Panic...
edit:
Here's how I would play it, and I play RAI.
1, 1, 6 = no perils of the warp test.
1, 1, 1 = perils of the warp test
Here's how I see RAW.
1, 1, 6 = no perils of the warp test.
1, 1, 1 = no perils of the warp test
So, you feel that Runes of Warding, a wargear upgrade that is supposed to make psychic attacks harder to use, should make it HARDER to suffer a PoTW?
. . .OK.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/17 18:58:24
Gwar: I'm going to quit while I can.
Meh, close enough |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 19:01:27
Subject: Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
I just never knew he wrote the Eldar codex, as he knows what the intent is.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 19:03:09
Subject: Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
No, that makes one minor instance harder. It's a lot harder, all things considered. What about he rest of the RoW text? Does it not say to add them up? How exactly is that phrased?
|
Worship me. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 19:24:52
Subject: Re:Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
apwill4765 wrote:So, you feel that Runes of Warding, a wargear upgrade that is supposed to make psychic attacks harder to use, should make it HARDER to suffer a PoTW?
Panic wrote:regardless of how you get your third die
yeah,
Runes of Warding makes psychic powers harder to cast by forceing the psychic to use a extra dice to increases the chance of rolling over the psychers Ld and failing his psychic test ..
It isn't tring to make the psycher roll a double 1 or a double 6 by giving him more dice!
Because Doubles can't be rolled on three dice.... so it also adds the kicker, results of 12 or more suffer a perils of the warp attack.
Or it would say something like 'if any two of the three dice are 1's or any two of the three dice are '6s the psycher suffers a perils of the warp attack...'
Also the probability of rolling 12 or more on three dice is 91/216 (37.5%)
while rolling a double 1 or a double 6 on two dice is 2/36 (5.556%)
So No, I don't believe that Runes of warding make it more difficult to suffer a attack from perils of the warp...
The OP is requesting a clarification on Runes of Wardings interaction with perils of the warp.
So we are discussing the perils of the warp conditions for activating.
Perils of the Warp requires a double... doubles are rolled on two dice... not three...
If using Runes of warding.
6, 6, 1
Will suffer a perils of the warp attack
Not because there is two 6's in the roll. it's not a double there is another dice there...
But Because the result of 13 > 11.
Panic...
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Gwar! wrote:I just never knew he wrote the Eldar codex, as he knows what the intent is.
edit: I got my numbers wrong in the dice percentages... I think it's right now.
|
This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2009/11/17 20:02:46
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 19:56:54
Subject: Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
I know how it works, it always screws my WT Princes. I'm asking how's it worded? It's weird that nobody has quoted it yet.
|
Worship me. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 20:13:51
Subject: Re:Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
at first i thought Panic was nuts. But ive looked up the meaning of "double" and the meaning of "pair" and i have to say im in his corner now.
its impossible to refer to something as "double" when your refering to 3. 3 is a triple. Double means 2x 1 thing or multiples of things. If you roll 3 dice you actually would be rolling a triple 1 or a pair of 1's and a single one. You cant claim a double 1 and a single one because the meaning is wrong.
If you have 2 of anything within a larger amount you have pairs . Ive seen no reference to doubles being included within larger amounts.
Since the rules dont state "pairs" i would say that Panic assesment is actually more Raw than Gwars
a triple was rolled.. hence no PotW
even if 2 1's were rolled and a 6 it would be impossible to roll a double since 3 dice were rolled.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/17 20:20:24
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 20:42:31
Subject: Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
According to Jervis, it causes one on a 4+ and doesn't on a 3 or less.
|
Worship me. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 20:50:19
Subject: Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Cannerus_The_Unbearable wrote:According to Jervis, it causes one on a 4+ and doesn't on a 3 or less.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 20:53:52
Subject: Re:Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
|
zedsdead wrote:at first i thought Panic was nuts. But ive looked up the meaning of "double" and the meaning of "pair" and i have to say im in his corner now.
its impossible to refer to something as "double" when your refering to 3. 3 is a triple. Double means 2x 1 thing or multiples of things. If you roll 3 dice you actually would be rolling a triple 1 or a pair of 1's and a single one. You cant claim a double 1 and a single one because the meaning is wrong.
If you have 2 of anything within a larger amount you have pairs . Ive seen no reference to doubles being included within larger amounts.
Since the rules dont state "pairs" i would say that Panic assesment is actually more Raw than Gwars
a triple was rolled.. hence no PotW
even if 2 1's were rolled and a 6 it would be impossible to roll a double since 3 dice were rolled.
"Double" and "pair" are synonyms.
(double - adjective)
1. Twice as much or as large: twofold. See big.
2. Consisting of two identical or similar related things, parts, or elements: dual, paired, twin. See same.
3. Composed of two parts or things: biform, binary, dual, duple, duplex, duplicate, geminate, twofold. See part.
Referring to a "double" is synonymous to referring to a "pair". The two terms can be used interchangeably, and that is how they are being used here. That being so, the argument of Panic and zedsdead is manifest nonsense.
EDIT: I just realized what the disconnect here is. Panic and zedsdead are using "double" in the sense of the third meaning; something with two parts. Obviously, taking the roll as a whole, it has more than two parts, and thus does not fit that definition. However, there is another definition which they are NOT accounting for; something composed of two identical things is also a double. Rolling two ones out of three dice does fall under this definition, and thus is a double.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/17 20:56:13
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 20:56:04
Subject: Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Gwar! wrote:Cannerus_The_Unbearable wrote:According to Jervis, it causes one on a 4+ and doesn't on a 3 or less.

Ha. I'm a sly one.
|
Worship me. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 23:19:17
Subject: Re:Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Emboldened Warlock
|
Instead of rolling it off on a 4+, you could roll 2D6 + 1D6. If the "original" 2 dice produce a double 1, it's a PotW?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 23:24:29
Subject: Re:Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Nivoglibina wrote:Instead of rolling it off on a 4+, you could roll 2D6 + 1D6. If the "original" 2 dice produce a double 1, it's a PotW?
Or you could follow the rules and roll 3D6 and if a Double 1, Double 6 or result greater than or equal to 12 occurs, you suffer a PotW as per page 50 of the Main Warhammer 40,000 rulebook
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/17 23:47:05
Subject: Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Da Head Honcho Boss Grot
|
If you have two 1s, you have a pair of 1s, which is double 1s. It doesn't matter if you have a third die, it doesn't matter if you have a zillion more dice. A pair of 1s activates it. It is only the 1s that need be double, not both the 1s and the total number of dice rolled.
(Of course, as rolling three 1s actually makes 3 different pairs, the model suffers 3 Perils of the Warps.)
|
Anuvver fing - when they do sumfing, they try to make it look like somfink else to confuse everybody. When one of them wants to lord it over the uvvers, 'e says "I'm very speshul so'z you gotta worship me", or "I know summink wot you lot don't know, so yer better lissen good". Da funny fing is, arf of 'em believe it and da over arf don't, so 'e 'as to hit 'em all anyway or run fer it. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/18 08:02:17
Subject: Re:Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
@Everyone claiming you can't roll a double on three dice
Would you maintain this view with Dark Eldar combat drugs? If so I would love a game against you
Roll 1d6 per option chose. If a double is rolled on the dice then the model suffers 1 wound. If a triple is rolled then the model is killed outright
But that's not a problem for me, since I pick all 6 bonuses, instead of just picking 2 or 3, I am now immune to the danger of Combat Drugs correct? Automatically Appended Next Post: Orkeosaurus wrote:If you have two 1s, you have a pair of 1s, which is double 1s. It doesn't matter if you have a third die, it doesn't matter if you have a zillion more dice. A pair of 1s activates it. It is only the 1s that need be double, not both the 1s and the total number of dice rolled.
(Of course, as rolling three 1s actually makes 3 different pairs, the model suffers 3 Perils of the Warps.)
I disagree with this, the Perils rules say "If a result of a Psychic test is either a double 1 or a double 6 this indicates that something horrible has happened to the psyker" it can only trigger once because it's either "result is a double" or "result isn't a double" not "for every double 1 or 6 you roll".
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/18 08:04:43
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/18 14:51:57
Subject: Re:Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
well the offical gw faq address how to deal with witnessing vs warding...
roll 3 dice taking lowest 2 for passing the test, then the total for pow. AND do not do this if the farseer has already suffered such an attack because the lowest two results being a double 1 or double 6.
so 3x1 on the dice would be a POW, but 112 isnt.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/18 15:08:44
Subject: Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Except it isnt addressed by the FAQ, as this is a different situation.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/18 15:54:33
Subject: Re:Runes of warding + 3x1"s = perils ?!
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
|
For what its worth, I think two 1's or 6's is enough to take a PoW hit. I don't think you need to take more than one ever though.
@ Drunkspleen, yes apparently you are free. The more drugs you use, the better! Remember that kids! ;P
*waits for ban*
|
|
|
 |
 |
|