Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/12 21:59:25
Subject: Re:Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
What happen if I have mulitple castings of Cleansing Flame in the same combat? (From different units)
Do they all happen at the same time, or do you remove caualties between each one?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/13 16:04:19
Subject: Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Pyriel - for Summoning the BRB FAQ already answers that I believe - it states you cannot use "start of movement phase / turn" abilities after a unit arrives from reserves
SW FAQed this for Logan's "High King" SR to say "yes, Logan MAY use High King after entering from reserve." The outcome may be the same for GKs.
|
I have a love /hate relationship with anything green. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/13 18:42:54
Subject: Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Deuce11 wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:Pyriel - for Summoning the BRB FAQ already answers that I believe - it states you cannot use "start of movement phase / turn" abilities after a unit arrives from reserves
SW FAQed this for Logan's "High King" SR to say "yes, Logan MAY use High King after entering from reserve." The outcome may be the same for GKs.
Wow, that's freaking stupid. That's tacit approval to have any "at that the start of the turn" effect actually occur "whenever the hell you feel like it".
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/13 18:55:55
Subject: Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought
|
DarknessEternal wrote:Deuce11 wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:Pyriel - for Summoning the BRB FAQ already answers that I believe - it states you cannot use "start of movement phase / turn" abilities after a unit arrives from reserves
SW FAQed this for Logan's "High King" SR to say "yes, Logan MAY use High King after entering from reserve." The outcome may be the same for GKs.
Wow, that's freaking stupid. That's tacit approval to have any "at that the start of the turn" effect actually occur "whenever the hell you feel like it".
Not necessarily. It just means it is game for an FAQ to change the general rules set forth by the BGB FAQ. Unfortunately this also means this question must now be raised with every single codex release to get the right answer.
|
I have a love /hate relationship with anything green. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/16 15:42:58
Subject: Re:Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
Does the Vindicare's Turbo Penetrating round(when not shot at vehicles) cause 2 allocatable wounds to a unit or does it cause 1 wound to a single model or unit that is then doubled. Also does the opponent roll 1 save or 2 against this shot?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/16 23:13:08
Subject: Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
Resourceful Gutterscum
|
Q: How will Shadows in the warp affect strike squads?
The shadows says " Any Pysker within 12"" If the justicar is at 13" away but a strike marine is within 12" what happens?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/17 00:05:37
Subject: Re:Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say
|
NecronLord3 wrote:Does the Vindicare's Turbo Penetrating round(when not shot at vehicles) cause 2 allocatable wounds to a unit or does it cause 1 wound to a single model or unit that is then doubled. Also does the opponent roll 1 save or 2 against this shot?
It says in the turbo-pen rule that it inflicts the wounds on a model.
You make one saving throw per wound. PG20 in the rule book. You make a save when you take a wound. You are never given permission to make one roll vs multiple wounds.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/17 05:34:50
Subject: Re:Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
Dok wrote:NecronLord3 wrote:Does the Vindicare's Turbo Penetrating round(when not shot at vehicles) cause 2 allocatable wounds to a unit or does it cause 1 wound to a single model or unit that is then doubled. Also does the opponent roll 1 save or 2 against this shot?
It says in the turbo-pen rule that it inflicts the wounds on a model.
You make one saving throw per wound. PG20 in the rule book. You make a save when you take a wound. You are never given permission to make one roll vs multiple wounds.
That works more clearly. Now how about Shield Breaker, does it do any damage or just remove the Inv. save?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/17 10:46:04
Subject: Re:Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan
|
NecronLord3 wrote:Dok wrote:NecronLord3 wrote:Does the Vindicare's Turbo Penetrating round(when not shot at vehicles) cause 2 allocatable wounds to a unit or does it cause 1 wound to a single model or unit that is then doubled. Also does the opponent roll 1 save or 2 against this shot?
It says in the turbo-pen rule that it inflicts the wounds on a model.
You make one saving throw per wound. PG20 in the rule book. You make a save when you take a wound. You are never given permission to make one roll vs multiple wounds.
That works more clearly. Now how about Shield Breaker, does it do any damage or just remove the Inv. save?
Since it clearly states that the victim may take any remaining saves once the invuln is gone, it does damage as normal.
|
For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/18 09:31:19
Subject: Re:Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
About falchions:
Codex Grey Knights
Nemesis falchions - Page 54
The wielder of a pair of Nemesis falchions has +1 Attack.
5th ed. Rulebook
Fighting with two single-handed weapons - Page 42
Two normal close combat weapon
These models gain one bonus attack...
Two of the same special weapon
These models gain one additional attack
When you read the rules you do realise that the author used two words with different meaning. "has" and "gain" .
A model that wields "a pair of Nemesis falchions" automatically has +1 Attack, because I repeat it wields "a pair of Nemesis falchions". Not because it is a pair of weapons.
When the rules refer to weapons in combat the authors use the word "gain", "bonus attack", "additional attack". They are extra attacks. Attacks that you gain for using X number of the same weapon type. A "pair" means "two". Since nemesis weapons are special and not normal weapons, a "wielder of a pair of Nemesis falchions" means "a wielder of two of the same special weapon". And for this reason you "gain one additional attack".
To conclude, you don't have +2 attacks and you don't get +2 attacks. You have +1 Attack because of the use of the falchions and you gain +1 attack in close combat because of the two same weapons in each hand.
I emphasize the "a" in attack because that's the way they are written in the rules. For falchions is "Attack" and for close combat weapons it's "attack".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/18 18:26:53
Subject: Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
If an army contains two units with Grand Strategy how do those effects work together?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/18 20:35:40
Subject: Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
NecronLord3 wrote:If an army contains two units with Grand Strategy how do those effects work together?
Exactly as it says in the book? There is no conflict, none.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/19 01:37:02
Subject: Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
SLC, UT
|
TL Shaggy wrote:Q: How will Shadows in the warp affect strike squads? The shadows says " Any Pysker within 12"" If the justicar is at 13" away but a strike marine is within 12" what happens? The entire unit is the psyker, not just the Justicar. The only thing different with the justicar is that PotW affect him first. So if one model is within 12" then it is affect by shadows in the warp.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/19 01:38:10
"Huddle close to your Emperor if he makes you feel safe. He cannot save you, for only Chaos is eternal."
Cross: Noun. A thing you nail people to.
Iron Warriors 3k Yme-Loc 6k
Grey Knights 2k <3 Harlequin WIP
Vampire Counts 3K Dwarfs 2k
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/19 01:52:18
Subject: Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
Resourceful Gutterscum
|
Balls
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/19 05:15:53
Subject: Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:NecronLord3 wrote:If an army contains two units with Grand Strategy how do those effects work together?
Exactly as it says in the book? There is no conflict, none.
Okay so I can nominate D3 units to scout and be scoring.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/19 08:03:53
Subject: Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, why couldn't you? You can even have 2d3 units, they don't have to be the same d3 each time.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/19 08:07:17
Subject: Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
NecronLord3 wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:NecronLord3 wrote:If an army contains two units with Grand Strategy how do those effects work together?
Exactly as it says in the book? There is no conflict, none.
Okay so I can nominate D3 units to scout and be scoring.
You could get less scoring units that scout units and vice versa.
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/19 08:41:45
Subject: Re:Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
Long-Range Ultramarine Land Speeder Pilot
|
yperihitikos wrote:About falchions:
Codex Grey Knights
Nemesis falchions - Page 54
The wielder of a pair of Nemesis falchions has +1 Attack.
5th ed. Rulebook
Fighting with two single-handed weapons - Page 42
Two normal close combat weapon
These models gain one bonus attack...
Two of the same special weapon
These models gain one additional attack
When you read the rules you do realise that the author used two words with different meaning. "has" and "gain" .
A model that wields "a pair of Nemesis falchions" automatically has +1 Attack, because I repeat it wields "a pair of Nemesis falchions". Not because it is a pair of weapons.
When the rules refer to weapons in combat the authors use the word "gain", "bonus attack", "additional attack". They are extra attacks. Attacks that you gain for using X number of the same weapon type. A "pair" means "two". Since nemesis weapons are special and not normal weapons, a "wielder of a pair of Nemesis falchions" means "a wielder of two of the same special weapon". And for this reason you "gain one additional attack".
To conclude, you don't have +2 attacks and you don't get +2 attacks. You have +1 Attack because of the use of the falchions and you gain +1 attack in close combat because of the two same weapons in each hand.
I emphasize the "a" in attack because that's the way they are written in the rules. For falchions is "Attack" and for close combat weapons it's "attack".
Tottaly Agreed!
|
"Each path must be chosen with care,
Lest disaster swallow us whole."
Varo Tigurius
Ultramarines Chief Librarian
Wh40k: Ultramarines, Blood Angels, Dark Angels, Space Wolves, Black Templars, Grey Knights, Imperial Guard, Inquisition, Eldar, Dark Eldar, Harlequins, Tyranids, Orks, Chaos Space Marines, Daemons of Chaos.
Wh: Dark Elves, Vampire Counts, Empire, Dwarfs, High Elves, Warriors of Chaos, Bretonnia. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/19 15:19:55
Subject: Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
Resourceful Gutterscum
|
I think it's slightly silly to think falchion will be allowed to give purifiers 5 attacks charging
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/19 15:25:07
Subject: Re:Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
not really, look up the YMDC thread to see the arguments as to why it is neither overpowered nor against the rules.
the basic gist was that Falchions are super expensive realtive to the GKs base cost and inherent abilities that only +2As actually justifies their cost.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/19 15:48:39
Subject: Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
Resourceful Gutterscum
|
Disagree , I don't think for a second that GW will allow Purifers have to have 5 attacks with force weapons ( paired up with hammerhand or MoT) .
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/08 23:53:51
Subject: Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
TL Shaggy wrote:Disagree , I don't think for a second that GW will allow Purifers have to have 5 attacks with force weapons ( paired up with hammerhand or MoT) .
Yet you offer absolutely no rational basis for this.
As was said: reread the thread, notice you are now making ~30ppm PAGK that die as easily as 16ppm Marines. Or making expensive GKTs that dont perform as well as LC armed terminators.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/19 18:53:06
Subject: Re:Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
Alluring Mounted Daemonette
|
When you have to take a leadership test on 3d6 in order to target a C. assassin during the shooting phase, how does this affect template weapons? In other words, if a large blast template is aimed at a nearby unit and it scatters, does the shooter still have to take the leadership test?
|
The Daemonic Alliance Infinite Points
Nightbringer's Darkness 3000 Points
Titan's Knights of the Round: 4000 points
"Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought." JFK |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/19 22:28:36
Subject: Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No; you did not target the assassin.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 0039/05/03 01:17:13
Subject: Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader
|
Is cleansing flame always a CC attack for all purposes, or is it a psychic attack that is worded as such to only count towards combat resolution? If so, would cleansing flame deny a squad their invul save that can only be used in CC?
Such as 4+ Witches dodge, or 2+ Nemisis Warding Staves.
ex.
"Unsaved wounds caused by Cleansing Flame are counted as having been caused in close combat for all purposes." pg 31 GK Codex
With the wording above, it states that only when a wound is unsaved (thus having taken an armor save already) then does it become a close combat attack.
Until that point it's a psychic attack that happens before CC happens, only until all saves have been made does it count as a CC attack for purposes of combat resolution. The wording would make the wounds from cleansing flame psychic attacks that happen right before CC but still count for combat resolution.
Thus, denying all CC only invul saves.
Discussion Thread
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/369342.page
|
This message was edited 8 times. Last update was at 2011/05/20 01:28:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/22 10:18:56
Subject: Re:Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
The Falchions defiantly is going to need an FAQ/Errata. Before reading through this thread, I had read it as there are two of them in the 'fluff', but you only gain 1 attack, so Purifiers would have 3 attacks. Then reading through this, and looking at point costs, having 4 attacks would make more sense. For terminators, a Daemon hammer is free, where normally a thunder hammer is 30 pts (for other codex's)... and the Falchions is 5 points... So is 1 extra attack (3) worth more than a thunder hammer? Not normally. Then again, why are the Strike Squad Units so cheap. Regular marine, 16 pts, Strike Squad marine, 20 pts. Upgrades:
Storm Bolter - Normally 3 pts
Power Weapon - Normally 15 pts
Force Weapon/Possible instant death - Unknown, but librarians are expensive
Hammerhand - Unknown, but frost blades are normally 25 pts(10 for the +1 strength)..
Warp Quake - Better than Land Speeder Jammer Beacon...
Not overly complaining because at the moment I'm playing the GK, but wow, cheapness. Same with Terms, same price for their upgrades..
Question on Heroic Sacrifice ( pg 26) and Gargantuan Creatures in Apocalypse ( pg 91).
All gargantuan creates are immune to death, and are not affected by any attack that would normally kill a model automatically (like force weapon, attack that kills on failed characteristic test, etc), but instead cause D3 wounds.
If Heroic Sacrifice hits, both models are removed as casualties.
So it's not an instant death, nor auto kill, it's a 'remove', like remove from play but as a casualty. Also wondering, Super-Heavy vehicles? Automatically Appended Next Post: Kreedos wrote:Is cleansing flame always a CC attack for all purposes, or is it a psychic attack that is worded as such to only count towards combat resolution? If so, would cleansing flame deny a squad their invul save that can only be used in CC?
Such as 4+ Witches dodge, or 2+ Nemisis Warding Staves.
ex.
"Unsaved wounds caused by Cleansing Flame are counted as having been caused in close combat for all purposes." pg 31 GK Codex
With the wording above, it states that only when a wound is unsaved (thus having taken an armor save already) then does it become a close combat attack.
Until that point it's a psychic attack that happens before CC happens, only until all saves have been made does it count as a CC attack for purposes of combat resolution. The wording would make the wounds from cleansing flame psychic attacks that happen right before CC but still count for combat resolution.
Thus, denying all CC only invul saves.
Discussion Thread
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/369342.page
It does say 'Unsaved wounds'.. so before they're unsaved, they aren't caused in close combat. At the same time, the fluff may or may not match. Having the dodge ability won't matter if surrounded by flames of death, but a Stave projects a zone of force around its wielder. Then again, an Assassin has a 4+ invul always due to dodging..
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/22 10:26:46
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/22 13:20:39
Subject: Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
Apprehensive Inquisitorial Apprentice
|
I'm not sure if this has been asked, but what takes precedence? Quiksilver boost to I10, or Daemon Hammer drop to I1
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/22 13:24:51
Subject: Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan
|
Tylerkabana wrote:I'm not sure if this has been asked, but what takes precedence? Quiksilver boost to I10, or Daemon Hammer drop to I1
Daemon Hammer. It always strikes at I1, regardless of modifiers.
|
For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 0007/05/11 21:15:19
Subject: Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
We know that Might of Titan and Hammerhand stack. Does Might of Titan stack with itself? Same with Hammerhand. Page 25.
Watching what happens when a unit of 10 Death Cult accompanied by a GK Librarian that recasts Might of Titan 3 times was silly.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/23 02:25:20
Subject: Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!
|
 |
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader
|
TL Shaggy wrote:Disagree , I don't think for a second that GW will allow Purifers have to have 5 attacks with force weapons ( paired up with hammerhand or MoT) .
For the price at 5 points a model (same as daemonhammer) but only gives 1+ attack? That would never be worth it. Also the fact that the army is an elite army, it's not that unthinkable when you're paying 29 points a model for a Space Marine with a psychic power, power weapons and storm bolter, that they can gain 2+ attacks.
This was answered by a GW rep in a mailed in semi faq already on dakka.
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/369078.page
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/05/23 02:27:38
|
|
 |
 |
|