Switch Theme:

Grey Knight INAT FAQ question submission thread!  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Charleston,IL

Does the bonus str from psybolt ammo, make a storm bolted no longer qualify for a defensive weapon?

I only trade in US thanks. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, It is now S5

Easy, no rules argument there.
   
Made in us
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard






San Diego

1) Can a Librarian target his own unit, or a vehicle in which he is embarked, with The Summoning psychic power, thus allowing the unit/vehicle to be placed anywhere on the battlefield? The model/unit targeted must be placed within 6" of the Librarian, but if he targets his own unit or a vehicle in which he is embarked, the moment they are placed they are within 6" of the Librarian, allowing for unlimited range on a teleport.

2) If the above is true, and the Librarian in question has a Teleport Homer, can he and his unit use that Teleport Homer to avoid scatter? Again, the only requirements for use of the Teleport Homer are A - the unit restrictions listed in the Teleport Homer entry, B - that the Teleport Homer be present on the battlefield at the start of the turn, and C - that the unit be placed within 6" of the Teleport Homer. The moment the unit is placed they are within 6" of the Librarian, no matter where they are placed, and if they were deployed normally the Teleport Homer was on the board at the beginning of the turn.

References:
The Summoning - Grey Knights Codex Page 25
Teleport Homer - Grey Knights Codex Page 62


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Brazila wrote:Does the bonus str from psybolt ammo, make a storm bolted no longer qualify for a defensive weapon?


nosferatu1001 wrote:Yes, It is now S5

Easy, no rules argument there.

However, a pintle mounted storm bolter bought as a vehicle upgrade is listed specifically as a defensive weapon. Psybolt Ammo would change the weapons Strength to 5, however that does not override the specific wording of a Pintle Mounted Storm Bolter.

From Codex: Grey knights - Page 61
Storm Bolter:
Pintle-Mounted Storm Bolters are weapons fitted to vehicles to provide additional fire support.
Pintle-Mounted Storm Bolters are treated as an additional defensive weapon, with the profile of a normal Storm Bolter. See the Storm Bolter entry for details.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/04/10 16:32:16


"Duty is heavier than a mountain, death lighter than a feather."

Proud supporter of Scott the Paladin. Long Live Scott! 
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





LaPorte, IN

The Teleport Homer in the GK codex specifically states it can only be used for units teleporting onto the battlefield. Summoning is not teleporting it is a psychic power that uses the deep strike rules to place a unit on the battlefield.

Teleport Homer Pg62:
Note that the teleport homer only works for units that are teleporting, not other means.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/10 18:04:43


 
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





LaPorte, IN

Is Castellan Crowe an Independent Character? He does not have the rule listed but he is basically built like a brotherhood champion, so I'm inclined to believe it is a mistake and he is depicted in the gallery section of the codex as joined to a purifer squad.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, he is not an IC.

It is not a mistake.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






UK

NecronLord3 wrote:Is Castellan Crowe an Independent Character? He does not have the rule listed but he is basically built like a brotherhood champion, so I'm inclined to believe it is a mistake and he is depicted in the gallery section of the codex as joined to a purifer squad.


Does seem odd that he isn't marked as IC, could be deliberate or not, who knows?

   
Made in us
Flailing Flagellant




Lost in L.A. smog

1. The Librarian using the Psychic power The Summoning (pg.25), can he do use if while inside a vehicle, as it doesn't seem to require a line of sight to the object he is transporting or the location of it.
2. When using The Summoning (pg.25) and you place a chosen unit within 6 inches of the Librarian using the power. Do you just place and if not enough space roll for mishap on Deep strike chart?
3. Can Librarian use the Summoning on a Vehicle with Warp Stabilisation (pg.61) (yes, GW spells it British way) and as a bonus transport the unit that the Vehicle is carrying as well?
4. Limit on special ammo on Vindicare Assassin, one shot each or just declare before each shot with unlimited bullets of each type? Vehicle Pen. on Turbo Penetrator, is it just 4d6 or 4d6 with Rending or 3+4d6 with Rending or something else entirely?
5. No limit on how many Inquisitorial Henchmen (pg.48-51) type you can get, i.e. 12 Death Cult Assassins, before seemed to be limited to 3 max of each type?

That's all I can think of right now. :3



 
   
Made in us
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say





Los Angeles, CA

Grey Templar wrote:
Dok wrote:
Formosa wrote:Ravenwing Land speeders are scoring, so there is precedent for others to be scoring.


The DA codex says specifically that they are a scoring unit.
There is far more recent precedent of vehicles as troops not scoring. DC dreads and Deff dreds off the top of my head.


DC dreds nd Deffdreds can't score.


they are simply moved/already in the troops section of the FoC.


GS simply says the units are scoring as if they were troops. the 'as if they were troops' is simply a clarification.


Death company dreads are troops and would score just like troops. Except where it says in the rule book that vehicles can never score.
I don't see how defining something as a troop is different than something being actually a troop.


http://www.3forint.com/ Back in Action! 
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





LaPorte, IN

Does the Librarian Psyhcic power Quicksilver override the initiative 1 of units wielding Daemonhammers?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




1) No, as you have to place it within 6" of the librarian, and cannot do so as the libby is not on the table. AS such the vehicle is immediately destroyed, along with the unit inside, as it cannot make it onto the table when it MUST do so.

2) Looks like it - only reason to use the DS rules.

3) Yes, GW a BRITISH company spell it the correct way. Yes, you transport the vehicle and the troops inside it.

4) No limit on ammo, as it doesnt say there is. He's worked out how to bring more than3 bullets...

5) No limit on each type.

Quicksilver is a modifier and cannot override the TH, as the rules for TH state they ignore modifiers to init. Think of it like FC
   
Made in gb
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver





Birmingham, UK

Sister Stern wrote:
3. Can Librarian use the Summoning on a Vehicle with Warp Stabilisation (pg.61) (yes, GW spells it British way) ?


nosferatu1001 wrote:
3) Yes, GW a BRITISH company spell it the correct way. Yes, you transport the vehicle and the troops inside it.


Sorry to be annoying but people who say that spellings like 'stabilisation' are correct have clearly never looked them up in a dictionary. The same people often say it is the British way. It is not; it is the wrong way. Stabilization is not just the American way of spelling the word, it is also the correct British spelling too. /rant

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






Kapitan Montag wrote:Sorry to be annoying but people who say that spellings like 'stabilisation' are correct have clearly never looked them up in a dictionary. The same people often say it is the British way. It is not; it is the wrong way. Stabilization is not just the American way of spelling the word, it is also the correct British spelling too. /rant


I'm just going to point this out, because clearly you don't know how dumb you sound: http://www.thefreedictionary.com/stabilisation and here too http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/stabilisation. Don't you hate it when you're the one that "clearly never looked them up in a dictionary"

http://TheDiceAbide.com - Same game, better attitude .
 
   
Made in ca
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout






Do independant characters still benefit from the BrotherHood Banner's ability when locked in combat, since in combat they become seperate units. Do they still benefit from the +1 attack and passed psyker power? Page 62.

My purpose in life is to ruin yours. 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

they benifit because they are only a seperate unit for purposes of attack allocation.

an IC that isn't in BtB with an enemy still can't leave the combat.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in ca
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout






Can the pyskers use the same power twice?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/04/13 14:51:05


My purpose in life is to ruin yours. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, unless it is a PSA. There is no inherent limit on the number of times you can use an individual power
   
Made in us
Guardsman with Flashlight





Reading, PA

The Fortitude rule for vehicles allows the Grey Knight player to ignore stunned and shaken results on a successful psychic test during the GK player's shooting phase.

What leadership value is used? I read somewhere that vehicles have a leadership of 10, but I cannot find where (if someone has a page number, please post it). However, the Fortitude rules on page 33 refers to the Grey Knight pilot. So who is performing the psychic test: the Grey Knight pilot or the Vehicle? If it is the Vehicle, then the test is at a Ldr 10. If it is the Grey Knight, then the test is at a Ldr 8. And what about the Deadnoughts?

If it is the Grey Knight, what happens if they roll a Perils of the Warp? Does the driver die?


[small]When Chuck Norris does a push-up, he isn't lifting himself up, he's pushing the Earth down.[/small]

 
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





LaPorte, IN

nosferatu1001 wrote:Yes, unless it is a PSA. There is no inherent limit on the number of times you can use an individual power


So Psychic communion can be cast multiple times and it specifically states that it is cumulative?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Inquisitor - see page 21, special rules, oddly enough.

Yes, you can cast communion multiple times.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

InquisitorLordAki wrote:The Fortitude rule for vehicles allows the Grey Knight player to ignore stunned and shaken results on a successful psychic test during the GK player's shooting phase.

What leadership value is used? I read somewhere that vehicles have a leadership of 10, but I cannot find where (if someone has a page number, please post it). However, the Fortitude rules on page 33 refers to the Grey Knight pilot. So who is performing the psychic test: the Grey Knight pilot or the Vehicle? If it is the Vehicle, then the test is at a Ldr 10. If it is the Grey Knight, then the test is at a Ldr 8. And what about the Deadnoughts?

If it is the Grey Knight, what happens if they roll a Perils of the Warp? Does the driver die?


Fortitude is done at the beginning of the GKs movement phase.

and the Psychic Pilot rule answers your other question.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Actually it is just "in" the movement phase, WHEN in the movement phase s up to you.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Yeah, well, you want it at the beginning so the Vehicle can move

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Its more that you dont have to cast it first - you can see how other castings / movement go *first*, before risking the psychic power.
   
Made in ca
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout






Just for the sake of it possibly being in the GW faq, What classifys as a Daemon model, Models with the Daemon special rule and the Avatar of Khaine, or Does this also include Daemon Princes from codex Chaos Space Marine, and the other units in there that are Daemonic, in name and back story like Possesed and the greater Daemons.

My purpose in life is to ruin yours. 
   
Made in us
Daemonic Dreadnought






2 ongoing debates seem to have no end on dakka dakka.

DK and personal teleporter.

Do servo skulls reduce an OSR to 1D6 scatter.

I'm going to throw in a loophole here that people have not caught on to yet. The Celexus assassin's shooting attack is S5 AP1 BS8 assault 2 and gains an additional shot per psyker within 12". It is not specific that psykers have to be enemy psykers, so friendly psykers would work. The question I have is how do units of psykers such as grey knights or henchmen psykers work? Does the entire unit count as 1 psyker, or is it 1 additional attack per model. The reason I ask is it would be rather easy to get a celexus up to Assault 20, assault 30, or even assault 40 on it's shooting attack if it's near embarked transports of grey knights or henchmen. I don't think that's RAI, but seems clearly legal using RAW as long as each model in the unit is counted as a psyker.

Chaos isn’t a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail, and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some are given a chance to climb, but refuse. They cling to the realm, or love, or the gods…illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is, but they’ll never know this. Not until it’s too late.


 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Grey elder wrote:Just for the sake of it possibly being in the GW faq, What classifys as a Daemon model, Models with the Daemon special rule and the Avatar of Khaine, or Does this also include Daemon Princes from codex Chaos Space Marine, and the other units in there that are Daemonic, in name and back story like Possesed and the greater Daemons.


for now, just things with the Deamon special rule and the Avatar of Khaine(as it explicitly states its a deamon in great detail)


so CSM Deamon Princes, summoned deamons, and Posessed arn't deamons for now.


they REALLY should have just copy pasted the Deamon Definition from the previous DH codex. it was so helpful.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Schaden - this has already been asked. If you read "Brotherhood of Psykers" you will see that each unit is one psyker

If you look at the Henchmen you will notice that NONE of them have the Psyker rule.
   
Made in us
Daemonic Dreadnought






nosferatu1001 wrote:Schaden - this has already been asked. If you read "Brotherhood of Psykers" you will see that each unit is one psyker

If you look at the Henchmen you will notice that NONE of them have the Psyker rule.


Hmmm you're right about the RAW.

RAI=Psykers in a henchman squad should be treated the same as "Brotherhood of Psykers"

I'm saying that not because I want an assassin to gain shots from henchmen, I'm saying that because by strict RAW psykers in a henchman squad are completely immune to any and every anti psyker ability and piece of wargear. It's going to cause a huge stink if people start saying they are immune to stuff like the crucible of malediction.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/23 20:37:14


Chaos isn’t a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail, and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some are given a chance to climb, but refuse. They cling to the realm, or love, or the gods…illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is, but they’ll never know this. Not until it’s too late.


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I don't feel like wading through four pages of stuff to see if thesehave been asked i just want to make sure they get in.

1) Coteaz. A) does he allow INQ warbands to fulfill the mandatory troops slots. B) do you still get to take infinite of them.

2) Falchions 1A or 2A? Comes down to meaning in the entry of an absolute rule or clairification.

3) OSR and Servo Skulls Same as the above.

2&3 I side with 1A and reduction in scatter I can see how it would go both ways but I side with this interpretation as i have seen in other codecies things faqed along the lines of clairification. I'll have page numbers when I get home.

011000100111010101110100001000000110100 100100000011101000110010101101100011011 000010000001111001011011110111010100100 000011101110110010100100000011101110110 010101110010011001010010000001100111011 011110110010001110011001000000110111101 101110011000110110010100100000011000010 110111001100100001000000111011101100101 001000000111001101101000011000010110110 001101100001000000110001001100101001000 000110011101101111011001000111001100100 000011000010110011101100001011010010110 1110  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: