Switch Theme:

Dual Pistol, Dual Witchfire Shooting  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

If you want multiple PSAs, use Ahriman.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 grendel083 wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
It is a bit beardy.
Gunslinger allows a model to fire 2 Pistols (weapons)

The only thing the witchfire asks about is essentially (can the model fire 2 weapons?)

But if you're not using the two Pistol Weapons the model is armed with, you have no permission to use the Gunslinger rule.
WitchFire does ask that the model can fire two weapons. The model however cannot fire two weapons ( because you're not firing two pistols).


Regardless the permission is there.
That's all that was required.

Can a model with 2 pistols fire 2 weapons in the shooting phase?
Yes

So than Witchfire says sweet, you can do this now.
Which is Beardy, but hey.
I would never condone or allow it in a tournament setting, but for casual fun/fluffy stuff especially if he has this sweet model for it. ( Also he has to argue the rule/think it's right)

   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

thisisnotpancho wrote:
If you look at it from the Gunslinger Rule, then the weapons can only be pistols.
However, if you look at it from the witchfire rule, then it is entirely possible to switch the two pistols for two witchfires, because the only requirements to fire two witchfires are met.
Both views of the ruling can be completely correct.

No, both rules can not be correct. You can't break one rule in favor of another without a specific exception, because you have not met the requirements to fire the two witchfires with the Gunslinger rule which only allows you to fire two pistols and not two unspecified types of weapons.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





thisisnotpancho wrote:
Both views of the ruling can be completely correct.

Not true. If you try to apply the witchfire to Gunslinger, you break the Gunslinger rules. Therefore that view cannot be "completely correct".

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes




Virginia

It does not matter if the weapons are specified, the witchfire only asks if you are able to shoot two weapons. If you are armed with two pistols, then you can...

This arguing has and will continue to go in circles...
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





thisisnotpancho wrote:
It does not matter if the weapons are specified, the witchfire only asks if you are able to shoot two weapons. If you are armed with two pistols, then you can...

This arguing has and will continue to go in circles...

But if you're not shooting 2 pistols you have no permission to use two weapons, and therefore cannot use 2 witchfires.

One viewpoint is supported by rules and doesn't break any of them. The other breaks a rule. Which one is correct?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes




Virginia

rigeld2 wrote:
thisisnotpancho wrote:
It does not matter if the weapons are specified, the witchfire only asks if you are able to shoot two weapons. If you are armed with two pistols, then you can...

This arguing has and will continue to go in circles...

But if you're not shooting 2 pistols you have no permission to use two weapons, and therefore cannot use 2 witchfires.

One viewpoint is supported by rules and doesn't break any of them. The other breaks a rule. Which one is correct?


The witchfire breaks no rules. If you shoot with a witchfire instead of a pistol, it does not take away your ability to fire two weapons, which is the only requirement.

It could be argued either way that this does or does not break the gunslinger rule. IMO, the gunslinger rule is not broken, because it does not forbid the witchfire rule, which is using them in place of the pistols, which the witchfire rule specifically allows.


   
Made in us
Ship's Officer





Reading, UK

thisisnotpancho wrote:
The witchfire breaks no rules. If you shoot with a witchfire instead of a pistol, it does not take away your ability to fire two weapons, which is the only requirement.

It could be argued either way that this does or does not break the gunslinger rule. IMO, the gunslinger rule is not broken, because it does not forbid the witchfire rule, which is using them in place of the pistols, which the witchfire rule specifically allows.


I think this part is where most people who disagree with this reading, disagree.

Given the nature of the ruleset, the Gunslinger rule must expressly allow the witchfire rule to be an exception, not simply 'not forbid it'. As the rule stands, Gunslinger applies to pistols and pistols only. That means replacing your firing pistols with witchfire attacks is violating the language of the Gunslinger rule at the moment you attempt to use the second witchfire attack.

Sometimes it's good to "agree to disagree" as they say, but in this case rigeld is correct. The most prudent course of action is to follow the reading in which no rules are broken.

DoW

"War. War never changes." - Fallout

4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

 DogOfWar wrote:
thisisnotpancho wrote:
The witchfire breaks no rules. If you shoot with a witchfire instead of a pistol, it does not take away your ability to fire two weapons, which is the only requirement.

It could be argued either way that this does or does not break the gunslinger rule. IMO, the gunslinger rule is not broken, because it does not forbid the witchfire rule, which is using them in place of the pistols, which the witchfire rule specifically allows.


I think this part is where most people who disagree with this reading, disagree.

Given the nature of the ruleset, the Gunslinger rule must expressly allow the witchfire rule to be an exception, not simply 'not forbid it'. As the rule stands, Gunslinger applies to pistols and pistols only. That means replacing your firing pistols with witchfire attacks is violating the language of the Gunslinger rule at the moment you attempt to use the second witchfire attack.

Sometimes it's good to "agree to disagree" as they say, but in this case rigeld is correct. The most prudent course of action is to follow the reading in which no rules are broken.

DoW


This. You cannot say "the rules do not forbid it" because you've broken the core mechanic of a permissive ruleset at that point. The rules tell you what you can do, and Gunslinger says that if you have two pistols, you may fire both. That is the only permission you have.
   
Made in ca
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes




Virginia

I believe it is a case of general forbidding versus specific allowance. The Gunslinger generally forbids the witchfire rule, while the witchfire rule specifically allows it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/26 05:18:12


 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

thisisnotpancho wrote:
I believe it is a case of general forbidding versus specific allowance. The Gunslinger generally forbids the witchfire rule, while the witchfire rule specifically allows it.

You have that backwards, as the witchfire rules don't have a specific allowance to use them with a pistol but with weapons in general while the Gunslinger rule is specific in that it is limited to pistols and not all weapons in general.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader




 DogOfWar wrote:
Neronoxx wrote:
This part doesn't make sense. If the model NEVER has the gunslinger rule, how can it use it, let alone lose it? Pistol Weapons grant this rule, but they do not have this rule.
Plasma weapons have the Gets Hot! rule. A model does not.

If a Space Marine fires a Plasma Gun, he is subject to the Gets Hot! rule. If he fires a Bolt Pistol, he is not, even though he is still carrying a weapon that has the rule.

Pistol weapons clearly have the Gunslinger rule and a model firing a pistol is subject to that rule. If they are not firing a pistol, they are not subject to the rule at all. Hence, no firing 2 witchfire attacks.

DoW


Your analogy is flawed.
Gets hot is a USR, and the weapon tells us it has this rule because it is in the weapons profile.

Gunslinger is neither a USR nor in any weapon profiles, so its a bit of a stretch to argue who has the gunslinher rule - the model or the gun. We don't have a clear answer here.
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

Neronoxx wrote:
 DogOfWar wrote:
Neronoxx wrote:
This part doesn't make sense. If the model NEVER has the gunslinger rule, how can it use it, let alone lose it? Pistol Weapons grant this rule, but they do not have this rule.
Plasma weapons have the Gets Hot! rule. A model does not.

If a Space Marine fires a Plasma Gun, he is subject to the Gets Hot! rule. If he fires a Bolt Pistol, he is not, even though he is still carrying a weapon that has the rule.

Pistol weapons clearly have the Gunslinger rule and a model firing a pistol is subject to that rule. If they are not firing a pistol, they are not subject to the rule at all. Hence, no firing 2 witchfire attacks.

DoW


Your analogy is flawed.
Gets hot is a USR, and the weapon tells us it has this rule because it is in the weapons profile.

Gunslinger is neither a USR nor in any weapon profiles, so its a bit of a stretch to argue who has the gunslinher rule - the model or the gun. We don't have a clear answer here.


It is found in the wargear section next to pistols, if I am not mistaken...
   
Made in us
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader




 Unit1126PLL wrote:
Neronoxx wrote:
 DogOfWar wrote:
Neronoxx wrote:
This part doesn't make sense. If the model NEVER has the gunslinger rule, how can it use it, let alone lose it? Pistol Weapons grant this rule, but they do not have this rule.
Plasma weapons have the Gets Hot! rule. A model does not.

If a Space Marine fires a Plasma Gun, he is subject to the Gets Hot! rule. If he fires a Bolt Pistol, he is not, even though he is still carrying a weapon that has the rule.

Pistol weapons clearly have the Gunslinger rule and a model firing a pistol is subject to that rule. If they are not firing a pistol, they are not subject to the rule at all. Hence, no firing 2 witchfire attacks.

DoW


Your analogy is flawed.
Gets hot is a USR, and the weapon tells us it has this rule because it is in the weapons profile.

Gunslinger is neither a USR nor in any weapon profiles, so its a bit of a stretch to argue who has the gunslinher rule - the model or the gun. We don't have a clear answer here.


It is found in the wargear section next to pistols, if I am not mistaken...

that is indeed where it is found. But it is never stated as being a USR. i am wondering just exactly what it is?
   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch






Neronoxx wrote:
that is indeed where it is found. But it is never stated as being a USR. i am wondering just exactly what it is?


It is a rule that allows wielders of two pistols to fire two pistols, located in what is clearly a subsection for 'Pistol Weapons'.

Kind of like how the sentence "A model with a Rapid Fire weapon can fire two shots at a target up to half the weapons maximum range away." in the Rapid Fire Weapons section only applies to firing Rapid Fire Weapons, and not that a model with a rapid fire weapon can fire their pistol twice up to half the range of the rapid fire weapon.

   
Made in us
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader




 snooggums wrote:
Neronoxx wrote:
that is indeed where it is found. But it is never stated as being a USR. i am wondering just exactly what it is?


It is a rule that allows wielders of two pistols to fire two pistols, located in what is clearly a subsection for 'Pistol Weapons'.

Kind of like how the sentence "A model with a Rapid Fire weapon can fire two shots at a target up to half the weapons maximum range away." in the Rapid Fire Weapons section only applies to firing Rapid Fire Weapons, and not that a model with a rapid fire weapon can fire their pistol twice up to half the range of the rapid fire weapon.


Except for the fact that once again, Rapid Fire is a USR, and is included in the weapons profile. So why isn't Gunslinger?
Not that this makes much difference, but i do find it peculiar.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Rapid fire is not a USR. It's a weapon type.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

So at the end of the day, two Witchfires are used by a model that can legally only use one.
A Special Rule unique to Pistol Weapons, Gunslinger, was used despite the fact that no Pistol Weapons were fired.
A rule that allows two Witchfires to be used was used despite the fact the model can no longer use the effects of Gunslinger.

So the Gunslinger rule has been broken, and the Witchfire rule has been broken (and dare I say the spirit of the game is broken too).

This can't be claimed as a RAW tactic, because as soon as you use it you break two rules.

And yes Witchfire does require that the model can shoot two weapons, but as soon as those weapons aren't pistols, the model cannot fire two weapons. Permission revoked.
   
Made in ua
Regular Dakkanaut




I ask you to read the next thing because sincerly belive that gunslinger work same way.

EXARCH WARGEAR (shining spears)
Star Lance: The star lance is extremely powerful laser lance, bla bla. It follows the rules for the laser lance, but has a Strenght of 8 in all cases.

All cases.

Now rule for power spear (wich laser lance is)
Power lances have two profiles for both Strenght and AP. First is used only on the turn the model charges; the second is used at all other times.
And it states +1/User as strenght.

Now i believe, and playing like that, that shining spear exarch have 9str (8+1) on charge. But as this is the "case" seems like he have to be 8 in ALL CASES. Because English rules says ALL then it means ALL. Only because it written stupidly. Is it really not common sense to add +1?
   
Made in gb
Ichor-Dripping Talos Monstrosity






DarkPhoenix wrote:
I ask you to read the next thing because sincerly belive that gunslinger work same way.

EXARCH WARGEAR (shining spears)
Star Lance: The star lance is extremely powerful laser lance, bla bla. It follows the rules for the laser lance, but has a Strenght of 8 in all cases.

All cases.

Now rule for power spear (wich laser lance is)
Power lances have two profiles for both Strenght and AP. First is used only on the turn the model charges; the second is used at all other times.
And it states +1/User as strenght.

Now i believe, and playing like that, that shining spear exarch have 9str (8+1) on charge. But as this is the "case" seems like he have to be 8 in ALL CASES. Because English rules says ALL then it means ALL. Only because it written stupidly. Is it really not common sense to add +1?


This is wrong.

It will be Strength 8.
It is not a Power Weapon so is not subject to the rules for a Power Lance, it's a Special weapon with its own rules, so specific to the power weapon rules on the same page it doesn't get +1 Strength on the charge.

Honestly, you're grasping at straws and TFGing away - this is trying to bend the rules to your advantage in the most asinine way possible, ignoring other parts entirely at a whim.

   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran




Snake Mountain

 grendel083 wrote:
So at the end of the day, two Witchfires are used by a model that can legally only use one.
A Special Rule unique to Pistol Weapons, Gunslinger, was used despite the fact that no Pistol Weapons were fired.
A rule that allows two Witchfires to be used was used despite the fact the model can no longer use the effects of Gunslinger.

So the Gunslinger rule has been broken, and the Witchfire rule has been broken (and dare I say the spirit of the game is broken too).

This can't be claimed as a RAW tactic, because as soon as you use it you break two rules.

And yes Witchfire does require that the model can shoot two weapons, but as soon as those weapons aren't pistols, the model cannot fire two weapons. Permission revoked.


Grendel has nailed it here, I am amazed people are still arguing this, this is to be honest a pretty beardy tactic and I would not allow it in a tournament setting, I wouldn't even let this slide in a friendly setting, In fact I wouldn't let it slide in any setting.

'I'm like a man with a fork, in a world of soup.'

Check out my Blog: http://rysaerinc.wordpress.com/ - Updated 26/01/2015

3DS Friend Code: Rysaer - 5129-0913-0659 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





thisisnotpancho wrote:
I believe it is a case of general forbidding versus specific allowance. The Gunslinger generally forbids the witchfire rule, while the witchfire rule specifically allows it.

Show me the rule that allows a witchfire to be used in place of the second pistol shot when using Gunslinger.
Specific means just that - it has to be specific in what it allows. Neither rule is more specific, so neither overrides the other.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes




Virginia

rigeld2 wrote:
thisisnotpancho wrote:
I believe it is a case of general forbidding versus specific allowance. The Gunslinger generally forbids the witchfire rule, while the witchfire rule specifically allows it.

Show me the rule that allows a witchfire to be used in place of the second pistol shot when using Gunslinger.
Specific means just that - it has to be specific in what it allows. Neither rule is more specific, so neither overrides the other.


The only requirement is met for firing two witchfires.

That requirement is that the model has the ability to fire two weapons.
Can he trade them in place for pistols? yes, as that is exactly what the rule states.
Does this revoke his ability to fire two weapons? No, as the requirement for the ability to fire two weapons is met when the model is equipped with two pistols.
Understand that the gunslinger rule does not specifically revoke the models ability to fire two witchfire powers in place of each pistol, as even if the first shot is a witchfire, it still does not revoke his ability to fire two weapons.


Which is the only requirement to fire two witchfires.
   
Made in gb
Ichor-Dripping Talos Monstrosity






Question: Is the Witchfire a Pistol?

   
Made in ca
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes




Virginia

Answer: it is irrelevant. The permission to fire two pistols (weapons) is the only requirement. And that is met the second you arm your model with two.
The Witchfire rule specifically states that if you have the ability, then you can fire a witchfire in place of those weapons. Nothing unclear about it.

Once you shoot the first witchfire, the ability to shoot two weapons does not go away. Which is the only requirement to fire the second witchfire.
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

thisisnotpancho wrote:
Answer: it is irrelevant. The permission to fire two pistols (weapons) is the only requirement. And that is met the second you arm your model with two.
The Witchfire rule specifically states that if you have the ability, then you can fire a witchfire in place of those weapons. Nothing unclear about it.

Once you shoot the first witchfire, the ability to shoot two weapons does not go away. Which is the only requirement to fire the second witchfire.


actually, yes, it does. Gunslinger revokes its permission to fire two guns as soon as you fire something that isn't a pistol.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
thisisnotpancho wrote:
Answer: it is irrelevant. The permission to fire two pistols (weapons) is the only requirement. And that is met the second you arm your model with two.
The Witchfire rule specifically states that if you have the ability, then you can fire a witchfire in place of those weapons. Nothing unclear about it.

Once you shoot the first witchfire, the ability to shoot two weapons does not go away. Which is the only requirement to fire the second witchfire.


actually, yes, it does. Gunslinger revokes its permission to fire two guns as soon as you fire something that isn't a pistol.

Exactly.
This point has been made again and again.
Trying to fire two Witchfires, using Gunslinger without using pistols, breaking two rules in the process.
   
Made in ca
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes




Virginia

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
thisisnotpancho wrote:
Answer: it is irrelevant. The permission to fire two pistols (weapons) is the only requirement. And that is met the second you arm your model with two.
The Witchfire rule specifically states that if you have the ability, then you can fire a witchfire in place of those weapons. Nothing unclear about it.

Once you shoot the first witchfire, the ability to shoot two weapons does not go away. Which is the only requirement to fire the second witchfire.


actually, yes, it does. Gunslinger revokes its permission to fire two guns as soon as you fire something that isn't a pistol.


Actually no, no it does not. The Exact quote for gunslinger states that if the model is armed with pistols, he may fire both.

It does not say, if a model is attempting to fire two pistols in the shooting phase, he can.

The permission to fire two pistols (weapons) does not go away because the initial condition of only arming him with two is still met.
   
Made in fi
Regular Dakkanaut




Lets look at the process of shooting in the shooting phase.

First, you look at your option to shoot.
-This includes all your wargear and any special rules.

Second, you make a choice what weapons and special rules available you want to use

Third, you execute the chosen shooting.


Now, lets look at gunslinger and witchfire for a psycher.


First, you look at options:
You have two pistols and two warp charges. You, at this point, may choose to fire two pistols. Then, you have permission to replace two weapon shots for two witchfire.

Second, you make a choice what to use.
You make a choice to replace two weapon (pistol is a weapon) shots for two witchfire. This is your choice and final answer.

Third, you execute the chosen shooting.
You fire your chosen two witchfires.


You see, in that process there is no way that the gunslinger rule disappears, because the choosing what to fire is already done and it can not be changed anymore.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

So you've used a rule unique to Pistol Weapons without using a Pistol weapon? And this isn't breaking that rule? It definitely is.
You've fired two Witchfires without the ability to fire two weapons (as Gunslinger has been violated). Another rule broken.
In addition you should have broken your rulebook. As your opponent would have rightly hit you with it.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: