Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 05:33:53
Subject: IG codex
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
focusedfire wrote:But it doesn't say that such merged squads can't deploy in their dedicated transports.
When squads are loaded in their dedicated transports they deploy as a single unit. Now if three such squads are merged it would create a squadron. Or can three merged squads be loaded in a squadron of three valks?
This could be an interesting debate unless the merging rules provide clarity. But I will refrain from the debate until there is definite word on the rules in this situation.
I'm just imagining 3 merged squads in a three valk squadron having just moved 12" to line up for the drop run and one of the valks gets immobilized. Is the unit inside destroyed? Do they get out? If they get out will the rest of the merged unit have to disembark? It's a no-brainer at 24" seeing as the unit inside the valk will be destroyed.
Debate? how is it unclear?
Merged unit contains 20-50 models. Chimera capacity is 12.
To say that "well perhaps they'll be able to split up in stay in coherency in their transports and still count as 1 KP and 1 unit" requires the assumption of completely new rules.
So unless they *introduce new rules*, we go by the current rules.
|
The Happy Guardsman
Red Templars
Radical Inquisitor
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 05:46:09
Subject: IG codex
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
All over the U.S.
|
@ BoxANT-The distance to the unit inside of the transport is measured to the hull for the purpose of psychic ranged attacks.
Building from this, as long as the hulls stay within 2" they would still be in coherency.
This isn't even taking into accout that "if" the models are already considered loaded at the time of the merging then it would create a defacto squadron. This is because a squad loaded in its transport count as a single unit when rolling for them to come in from reserves.
AAAUUGGGHHH- I said that I didn't want to debate this until the rules were out and you baited me into it. BoxANT, I salute you.
Later
|
Officially elevated by St. God of Yams to the rank of Scholar of the Church of the Children of the Eternal Turtle Pie at 11:42:36 PM 05/01/09
If they are too stupid to live, why make them?
In the immortal words of Socrates, I drank what??!
Tau-*****points(You really don't want to know) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 05:48:34
Subject: IG codex
|
 |
Owns Whole Set of Skullz Techpriests
Versteckt in den Schatten deines Geistes.
|
I think we need to apply Occam's Razor to this... oh I see BoxANT already did.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 06:06:27
Subject: IG codex
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
A bizarre array of focusing mirrors and lenses turning my phrases into even more accurate clones of
|
This is why people get angry at the concept of "rules lawyer". Rules lawyers are the guys making the INAT document. But people see what FF's doing and mistake....whatever it is...for rules lawyering.
@ BoxANT-The distance to the unit inside of the transport is measured to the hull for the purpose of psychic ranged attacks.
Building from this, as long as the hulls stay within 2" they would still be in coherency.
This isn't even taking into accout that "if" the models are already considered loaded at the time of the merging then it would create a defacto squadron. This is because a squad loaded in its transport count as a single unit when rolling for them to come in from reserves.
Really, wut?
|
WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS
2009, Year of the Dog
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 06:20:17
Subject: IG codex
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
All over the U.S.
|
Please do not confuse the questions I'm bringing up with anything I would,might, or want to do.
I've played across from so many who would make these arguments that I look for clarifications before I have to deal with it in-game.
I'm not proposing that such arguments should be made, only that they will be unless the rules are very clear.
This is why if you go back to the beginning of this particular subject I was asking for clarity on whether units with transports could be merged and whether their transportd were included.
Basically, if there are transports involved then how does merging affect or work in this instance.
|
Officially elevated by St. God of Yams to the rank of Scholar of the Church of the Children of the Eternal Turtle Pie at 11:42:36 PM 05/01/09
If they are too stupid to live, why make them?
In the immortal words of Socrates, I drank what??!
Tau-*****points(You really don't want to know) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 06:48:40
Subject: IG codex
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
All over the U.S.
|
H.B.M.C. wrote:I think we need to apply Occam's Razor to this... oh I see BoxANT already did.
His reply failed to address the Valk/Squadron portion. This is why I'm interested in reading the rules on merging personally. I'm amazed/annoyed that there isn't a bloody leaked PDF as of yet.
|
Officially elevated by St. God of Yams to the rank of Scholar of the Church of the Children of the Eternal Turtle Pie at 11:42:36 PM 05/01/09
If they are too stupid to live, why make them?
In the immortal words of Socrates, I drank what??!
Tau-*****points(You really don't want to know) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 06:50:53
Subject: IG codex
|
 |
Owns Whole Set of Skullz Techpriests
Versteckt in den Schatten deines Geistes.
|
It didn't need to address it. It's the same deal.
Round peg. Square hole. And the peg is HUGE!!
50-man unit not go in 12-man transport.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 07:04:21
Subject: IG codex
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Western Washington State, U.S.A.
|
lol. peg
|
"All of the whining pisses me off... Somewhere some whiny girlyman reinterpreted sportsmanship to reflect the build and not the player. The build has nothing to do with sportsmanship and getting docked as such is ludicrous." -Inigo Montoya
That being said, I'll still give you a 0 if you bring more than 5 eldar skimmers. Don't be that guy.
Also, strippers. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 07:24:42
Subject: IG codex
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
SM get the ability to break apart a unit during deployment (combat squads). One KP becomes two KP.
IG gets the ability to combine squads during. 2-5 KP become one KP (one unit).
What you are saying is that we could deploy our platoon as one unit, and then during the game, redeploy them in transports as separate units and still have them be worth only one KP.
Just like you can put both parts of a Combat Squaded Tactical squad in the same rhino, you can't put a combined platoon in their separate transports.
It breaks the core rule of the game which is: One unit per transport.
|
The Happy Guardsman
Red Templars
Radical Inquisitor
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 08:20:48
Subject: IG codex
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Apart from all the reasons given here, the rule form combining squad stated that the merged units can´t be transported in a vehicle with less capacity than his members.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 09:04:02
Subject: Re:IG codex
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
drinking ale on the ground like russ intended
|
I think his point is you make your list before gaming I usually wright mine up at home before I go gaming.
Before the game you roll up the mission and low and behold kill points. Well ok then I will mush my squads together to lower the kill points and not put them in the vehicles.
He wants to know if you bought the vehicles for the squads. Why don't the vehicles just turn into a squad with the guys in them using the squad rules for vehicles?
Or do they sit there not transporting or providing protection for the squads they were purchased for?
Trying to help a brother pie man out.
|
Logan's Great Company Oh yeah kickin' and not even bothering to take names. 2nd company 3rd company ravenguard House Navaros Forge world Lucious & Titan legion void runners 314th pie guard warboss 'ed krunchas waaaaaargh This thred needs more cow bell. Raised to acolyte of the children of the church of turtle pie by chaplain shrike 3/06/09 Help stop thread necro do not post in a thread more than a month old. "Dakkanaut" not "Dakkaite"
Join the Church of the Children of Turtle Pie To become a member pm me or another member of the Church |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 09:53:56
Subject: IG codex
|
 |
Owns Whole Set of Skullz Techpriests
Versteckt in den Schatten deines Geistes.
|
We know what he means - he's been quite clear there.
What we doubt is that the rules even cover that beyond "units may not embark on a transport with insufficient capacity". And I doubt all the transports become a squadron when you join the squads together.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 10:22:20
Subject: IG codex
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
Essen, Ruhr
|
The answer is clear I think. You make your list with a mobilized platoon of say, 3 line squads. When you decide to merge, you deploy the platoon and the transports seperately. They can now zip around on their own or transport someone else.
Even if they were a squadron (very doubtful), they would still be individual transports. They don't become one single giant transport. You cannot spread any one unit amongst more than one vehicle.
H.B.M.C. wrote:Ozymandias wrote:You can get nearly two Griffons for one Colossus. So do 2 Griffons = 1 Colossus? It's probably pretty close.
Assuming 7 under the blast marker, the Griffons will kill 4 Marines (3.89). The single Colossus, also hitting 7 models, will kill 6 Marines (5.83). I say bring both...
The Griffon is rumoured to be more accurate though (re-roll scatter?).
Assuming only a direct hit is a good hit (which will sometimes be too strict), the Griffons have a 55 % (33 % + 33 % x 66 %) chance to hit and the Colossus a 33 % chance only.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/07 10:27:59
"Whenever the literary German dives into a sentence, that is the last you are going to see of him till he emerges on the other side of the Atlantic with his verb in his mouth." S. L. Clemens
All hail Ollanius Pius! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 10:36:15
Subject: Re:IG codex
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
drinking ale on the ground like russ intended
|
I know what to do buy 6 gorgans that will fix the problem * looks at the gorgan price at fw  *
|
Logan's Great Company Oh yeah kickin' and not even bothering to take names. 2nd company 3rd company ravenguard House Navaros Forge world Lucious & Titan legion void runners 314th pie guard warboss 'ed krunchas waaaaaargh This thred needs more cow bell. Raised to acolyte of the children of the church of turtle pie by chaplain shrike 3/06/09 Help stop thread necro do not post in a thread more than a month old. "Dakkanaut" not "Dakkaite"
Join the Church of the Children of Turtle Pie To become a member pm me or another member of the Church |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 13:44:42
Subject: IG codex
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
Have there ever been any pictures/reference material for a Colossus? I think models exist for every other tank (even if they are FW) besides the Colossus. I wonder what it is supposed to look like?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 13:55:34
Subject: IG codex
|
 |
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman
Studying abroad in Jerusalem. Soon to return to Utah.
|
The FW bombard could be a nice stand-in if you've got the cash for it.
|
10k points steel legion
My lasgun-toting dogfaces can dig some foxholes on their homeworld and make a defiant stand against an entire galaxy bent on their destruction and damnation.
IG forever |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 14:02:44
Subject: IG codex
|
 |
The Last Chancer Who Survived
|
I would imagine that if you want to merge mech squads, you will just have 1 megasquad and the chimeras will just drive around and do their own thing. I doubt you'll be allowed to merge and unmerge your squads whenever you want to.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 15:47:44
Subject: IG codex
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
I think for a colossus (if you didn't want to use PVC piping) you could do well to get a 1/35 or so WW1 or 2 mobile artillery model to hack up for parts, then stick them on a chimera.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 16:21:11
Subject: IG codex
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
They'll probably have a drawing of some sort.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 16:54:29
Subject: IG codex
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
All over the U.S.
|
@BoxANT, H.B.M.C., Harridan, Lord Solar Plexus, and Middle Thanks for the input guys. Unless something changes drastically, I'll be able to shut that cheese down very quickly, if it comes up. Also thanks to Sonofruss for having my back. Later
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/07 16:55:12
Officially elevated by St. God of Yams to the rank of Scholar of the Church of the Children of the Eternal Turtle Pie at 11:42:36 PM 05/01/09
If they are too stupid to live, why make them?
In the immortal words of Socrates, I drank what??!
Tau-*****points(You really don't want to know) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 18:27:19
Subject: Re:IG codex
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
vonjankmon: There are pictures of the new tanks in the codex. Some are lucky to have their own artwork. Russ variants and Ordnance battery vehicles all have side on line drawings. Gives you enough detail to have a go at making your own.
Colossus looks somewhere between the forgeworld Bombard and and Griffon. On a Chimera chassis of course.
Thinking of the Colossus and its no cover saves rule that is not printed in the french pdf made me remember another little tidbit that's not on there. The Deathstrike missile does not half it's strength when its blasts hole is not over the target vehicle. S10 Ap1. Ouch.
focusedfire: Chimeras do not merge into squadrons when their squads merge they stay separate. You can't mount one unit across multiple vehicles.
The 50 man squad can get whittled down to twelve or less by casualties etc, then get in a chimera / Valk.
Lord Solar Plexus: Griffon does indeed re-roll scatter ( no restriction to it too, such as staying still. )
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 18:47:18
Subject: Re:IG codex
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
middle wrote:Thinking of the Colossus and its no cover saves rule that is not printed in the french pdf made me remember another little tidbit that's not on there. The Deathstrike missile does not half it's strength when its blasts hole is not over the target vehicle. S10 Ap1. Ouch.
That may make these more popular. I anticipate cries of outrage the first few games that these are used.
Edit: The one use only still makes these less than desirable IMO.
middle wrote:Lord Solar Plexus: Griffon does indeed re-roll scatter ( no restriction to it too, such as staying still. )
Don't ordnance barrage weapons have to remain stationary to fire their barrage? (p. 58, BRB)
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/04/07 20:04:42
The secret to painting a really big army is to keep at it. You can't reach your destination if you never take any steps.
I build IG...lots and lots of IG. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 18:52:40
Subject: Re:IG codex
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
JB wrote:
middle wrote:Lord Solar Plexus: Griffon does indeed re-roll scatter ( no restriction to it too, such as staying still. )
Don't ordnance barrage weapons have to remain stationary to fire their barrage? (p. 58, BRB)
To fire their *barrrage*? Yes.
But they can fire directly on the move, but they need LOS and it counts as normal ordnance. But the Colossus can not do this, but it sounds like the Griffion still can (am I reading your right Middle?).
|
The Happy Guardsman
Red Templars
Radical Inquisitor
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 19:00:18
Subject: Re:IG codex
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Yerp.
Colossus has to barrage.
Griffon is just normal vehicle mounted ordnance,
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 19:08:04
Subject: Re:IG codex
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
BoxANT wrote:JB wrote:
middle wrote:Lord Solar Plexus: Griffon does indeed re-roll scatter ( no restriction to it too, such as staying still. )
Don't ordnance barrage weapons have to remain stationary to fire their barrage? (p. 58, BRB)
To fire their *barrrage*? Yes.
But they can fire directly on the move, but they need LOS and it counts as normal ordnance. But the Colossus can not do this, but it sounds like the Griffion still can (am I reading your right Middle?).
GW should have released Griffons in Wave 1. Forge World will probably sell quite a few in the meantime. I will have to drag my Griffon bits out of mothballs and stick them on a new Chimera chassis.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/08 00:21:14
The secret to painting a really big army is to keep at it. You can't reach your destination if you never take any steps.
I build IG...lots and lots of IG. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 19:13:21
Subject: IG codex
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I'm buying 3 FW ones right off the bat. It sucks, but they're just too good NOT to have.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 19:19:51
Subject: IG codex
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
The vast open plains of North America
|
If, in fact, Griffons can fire normally instead of barrage style, then they get even more love compared to the Colossus.
I'm going to need to buy my old 3rd ed Griffon a new little brother.
On a side note, is anyone else mildly excited about the prospect of putting hull heavy flamers on their artillery tanks? For some reason I really like the idea of the vehicles mounting their own close-quarters defense.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 19:53:03
Subject: IG codex
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Biophysic wrote:If, in fact, Griffons can fire normally instead of barrage style, then they get even more love compared to the Colossus.
I'm going to need to buy my old 3rd ed Griffon a new little brother.
On a side note, is anyone else mildly excited about the prospect of putting hull heavy flamers on their artillery tanks? For some reason I really like the idea of the vehicles mounting their own close-quarters defense.
A heavy flamer makes sense to me since you will almost never fire a HB anyway. Your Griffon will probably be in or behind cover. If you fire ordnance with it then you can't fire the HB. Even if you fire direct you don't get the Lumbering Behemoth rule AFAIK so you still can't fire a HB. So the only real use for a hull weapon is when the enemy is close but even then, with a Griffon, I'd probably fire my ordnance at a far off target and let the enemy assaulter take his swings. It's only 75 points!
|
The secret to painting a really big army is to keep at it. You can't reach your destination if you never take any steps.
I build IG...lots and lots of IG. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 19:57:45
Subject: IG codex
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Odessa, TX
|
JB wrote:
A heavy flamer makes sense to me since you will almost never fire a HB anyway. Your Griffon will probably be in or behind cover. If you fire ordnance with it then you can't fire the HB. Even if you fire direct you don't get the Lumbering Behemoth rule AFAIK so you still can't fire a HB. So the only real use for a hull weapon is when the enemy is close but even then, with a Griffon, I'd probably fire my ordnance at a far off target and let the enemy assaulter take his swings. It's only 75 points!
Or just direct fire the main gun since whatever gets that close should be within pretty easy line of sight.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/04/07 20:38:22
Subject: Re:IG codex
|
 |
Implacable Skitarii
|
Gestalt wrote:middle wrote:As for Chenkov. He removes units of consripts so long as they are still alive at the start of his turn ( Note that there are no liminations to being tied up in cc )
They walk on the board from reserves in your next turn. ( Not the turn you make them disappear )
When I asked this earlier someone said you couldn't do it if they were engaged. Are we sure about this?
The stubborn rule is nice, but conscripts are still LD5, and no one said they came with a sergeant. And since people have said you can't attach a commissar( wtf) you have to use a commissar lord, an IC that is an extra KP and won't come back. Please tell me I am wrong about some of that too.
Sorry to quote myself but it might affect my potential purchases soon.  People have still claimed both ways on this and then got lost under direct firing colossus'. (colossi?) Also the griffon/colossus combo mentioned earlier seems pretty sweet.
|
|
 |
 |
|